Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
23
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 July 2014
Amazing stories so full of fun.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2007
When the Red King left Africa, he too a rare snake with him, a boa. No person would dare to make eye contact with it, never mind pass him. The King, who could speak snake, regarded the boa as a friend until one day on a camping trip, the Red King's eldest son Borlath caught the boa in a net and within a week he had changed the friendly into a deadly killing machine. One day, Borlaths sister Guanhamara tried to help to rescue the snake. However it made things worse. Now, anybody the boa constricted turned invisible. The snake was locked up in the attic of Bloors Academy. And now, a boy has gone missing in the same attic.....

The head of Bloors Academy, Manfred has descended from brutal tyrant Borlath and has a few hypnotising tricks up his sleeve. The main character Charlie Bone has already got problems. His uncle has gone missing and his three great aunts, the Yewbeams, all have magical endowments. Plus, unbelievably, Charlie can travel into paintings and photographs.

The characters are believable as well as genuine just like Harry Potter.

The whole book is exciting and almost impossible to put down. It is a very fast moving book as each scene is so exciting. The book is very engaging and its genre is fantasy by name, fantastic by nature!

The author Jenny Nimmo has succeeded in this novel and the sequel of it is just as good. Nothing could make this better as it is already 100% perfect.

Overall, the book is a great read for younger readers who enjoy stories like Harry Potter or fantasies. I rate this book at 5 stars and recommend it for YOU!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
Title: Charlie Bone and the blue boa
Author: Jenny Nimmo
Genre: Mystery
Main Characters: Charlie Bone, Mr Onimous, Manfred, Grandma Bone, The Flames, The Yewbeams, Fidelio Gunn and Friends.
Main storyline: At Bloors Academy there is a new girl called Belle but there is something mysterious about her. She is endowed, but how? There is also another mystery about a boy called Ollie Sparks but he is in the attic! How will they get up there and save him ? And when they manage to get up there, where is he? They hear a voice instead of seeing a person !
I like that at the start Belle feels like a friend but later on it feels that she is on the dark side !
It could be improved by when Charlie went into Eustacia's garden he could be invisible by the boa!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2008
If you like children's books, whatever your age, you will enjoy the Charlie Bone series. I have read the first four books and I can say that even though I am already 43 I enjoyed them all. It is not Harry Potter, the plot is much simpler, but it is a relaxing enough entertainment for a rainy day.And if you are a Harry Potter fan and you wish your hero's adventures had not finished, this will do nicely as a substitute.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
i LOVE the charlie bone books, and this one was no exception. i wish people would stop comparing them to harry potter, in my opinion CB is more interesting and believable. great for readers of any age!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
My 11 year old Grand-daughter really loves all the Jenny Nimmo books. She is an avid reader & we were pleased with efficiency with this transaction.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2011
These books are definately no Harry Potter. Whilst probably great fun for the age range they are intended for, they are only vaguely interesting to an older reader. There is none of the depth and intricacy that characterises Rowling's work. The narrative style is jerky and the characters under-developed. Annoyingly, seemingly momentous events are all but forgotten in a number of hours by the main characters and the plot progresses in extremely odd ways sometimes.

That said, they do pass the time even if you cannot get fully lost in them.

My advice would be to try the first one, and if the narrative style grates then don't bother with the rest but your kid will probably love them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
it's a very good book because it has a mixture of mystery and
suspense and I rated it five stars because it is worth it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
Yay! I love it. Thousand stars, it's so good! And I'll FRY anyone who rates it less! Star, Star Star, and so many more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
My 10 yr old son asked for this book and loves it. He had already read one of the series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse