Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
76
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 December 2010
First off, let me say I'm an adult, having never read the Pooh stories when I was a child. Now for the review:

The House At Pooh Corner is just as good, if not better, than the original Winnie the Pooh. It's a shame Milne only wrote two (prosaic) Pooh books - but then I think that's also what makes them so special. I made sure I savoured this slowly, reading a chapter every now and then. It is actually a superb read for adults - Milne is an author of great skill (both in technique and in story telling), and there are so many nuances in the text; it's not too difficult to see Milne's world view and philosophies behind the surface of each chapter, and his stories so wonderfully reflect his wonder at the imagination of children. Each of the character personalities is so distinct, too - Milne often makes fun of society, particularly by cheekily capitalising certain words. And Shepard's illustrations are ingenious, capturing the essence of Milne's descriptions humorously and, I'm sure, accurately. Finally, the grammar and punctuation is fantastically old school and top drawer - a much better reference than a dry text on the subject. If you want a refreshing break from your day-to-day life, are an adult that wants to awaken their inner child, or if you want to transport yourself to a world where life is simple and delightful, read The House At Pooh Corner! In fact, there is a lot to be said for reading early years fiction as an adult.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2001
One of my favourite books of all time (and im 22 now) and still i read it once in a while. The strength of the book lies in the simplicity of the stories themselves. Eeyore is as gloomy and tragic as ever while Pooh as ever continues along his way appreciating the simple things in life, like using your imagination and hunting woozles and heffalumps. Milne's interpretation of a childhood through toy friends is an excellent parllel with my experiences when younger and his tales are likely to strike a chord with readers of all ages. Rediscovering "pooh sticks" earlier on this year led me to read the book again and i remembered the stunningly unexpected undertones in the last chapter of the book. Piglet, Owl, Pooh, Eeyore, Kanga and Roo all feature, not forgetting the fabulously fun filled feline that is Tigger. A must for a desert island book list.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2001
Alan Bennett's voice is superb for this reading of the Winne-the-pooh stories. My favourite is his version of Eeyore. A treat for listeners young and old!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2001
Alan Bennett brings your imagination alive with his telling of A.A. Miilne classic tales. There is really no need for television as your mind paints the pictures as Alan gives each character a beautifuly crafted voice which just seems so right. I'm considering the purchase of another copy. As my current one is wearing rather thin now.... O for a Compact Disc version...
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 November 2012
Who doesn't enjoy these stories? This is a classic book, and this edition is strong and well printed. The illustrations and text go beautifully together

I'm reading these stories now with an adult eye, and realising just how well written they are. They are children's stories but have that characterisitc of the best children's stories- namely that adults will enjoy them at a different level. The observations about the characters in this book are superb. I am loving reading them to my daughter Charlotte.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2016
Really enjoyed this hard back edition of The House at Pooh Corner with classic illustrations. I love reading the adventures Pooh and his friends have and Pooh's oh so inspiring poetry.

A must for those who love Pooh bear.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2010
Apparantly JRR Tolkien stipulated before his death that on no account was the Disney company to be allowed to get hold of his work, it's a pity A A Milne didn't do the same. The original Disney film - Winnie The Pooh - The Many Adventures Of Winnie The Pooh [DVD] [1977] - isn't too bad; a little cute perhaps, but it does use the original stories and mostly keeps to the spirit of the books. Since then, however, Pooh Bear and his friends have become just another group of cute Disney animals who love each other and learn trite lessons about caring and sharing. Eeyore has perhaps suffered the most - from a wonderful bitter, sarcastic, patronising character he has become a mild depressive who only wants to be loved.

So don't be put off by the cartoons, these stories are wise, funny and poetic. They deal with all the faults and foibles of adult society; Pooh's laziness, greed and thoughtlessness, Piglet's cowardice and insecurity, Rabbit's bossiness and impatience, Tigger's boastfulness - I could compare it to Middlemarch for it's insight into human character and power of observation, but it is much funnier and is simple enough to be enjoyed by very young kids. A A Milne's unusual way of writing adds greatly to the stories; he writes in his own particular, rather mock-heroic style with lots of Unnecessary Capitals for Emphasis - I'd love to type out the whole book, but here is a little sample from the title story - "Thank you, Piglet," said Pooh. "What you have just said will be a Great Help to us, and because of it I could call this place Poohanpiglet Corner if Pooh Corner didn't sound better, which it does, being smaller and more like a corner."

My favourite stories are those about Rabbit; 'Rabbit's Busy Day' and 'Tigger is Unbounced' (maybe because I see a little of myself in Rabbit!). In the second of these, he tries, with Pooh and Piglet's help, to lose the boisterous Tigger in the forest so they can find him again "a Humble Tigger ... a Sad Tigger, a Melancholy Tigger, a Small and Sorry Tigger, an Oh-Rabbit-I-am-glad-to-see-you Tigger" - it all goes wrong, Rabbit gets lost, and instead HE is rescued by "a Friendly Tigger, a Grand Tigger, a Large and Helpful Tigger ..."

There's an essay, a sermon or a book on human psychology in every chapter but most of all it's an absolute pleasure to read - in my house we know bits of it off by heart. I prefer 'The House at Pooh Corner' to the first Winnie the Pooh book, which I think is a little sweeter and less clever, but it may just be because I read this one first.

I can't resist another quote - Tigger is stuck up a tree and the animals are debating how to get him down:

"I thought," said Piglet earnestly, "that if Eeyore stood at the bottom of the tree, and if Pooh stood on Eeyore's back, and if I stood on Pooh's shoulders -"
"And if Eeyore's back snapped suddenly, then we could all laugh. Ha Ha! Amusing in a quiet way," said Eeyore, "but not really helpful."
"Well," said Piglet meekly, "I thought -"
"Would it break your back, Eeyore?" asked Pooh, very much surprised.
"That's what would be so interesting, Pooh. Not being quite sure till afterwards."
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
I love Winnie-the-Pooh, and have the great big, hard-back, Complete Collection, but I wanted a portable version. These are really lovely, containing as they do all the colour versions of the E H Shepard drawings; and the quality of the book is excellent - the covers are sturdy yet bendable, and the pages are nice and thick. And, considering all the wisdom contained within from the Bear of Very Little Brain (who is a genius, nonetheless!), very cheap.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2014
Winnie the Pooh is, I reckon, the greatest children's writing in English, closely followed by Kenneth Graeme and Roald Dahl. The two things that link these three writers together is 1) they never 'write down' to their audience, and 2) they understand that children's perception of language, although less sophisticated than adults (which is only the result of education), is just as great. The write language that fizzes, flows and leaps off the page at the reader, just as brilliantly as any of the 'great writers' in english.
Like all the best literature (for that's what these writers wrote), it is best read out loud and savoured.
Finally, all of the above means that their work is as much aimed at adults as it is children, maybe even more so. I used a passage from 'In Which Piglet Does A Very Grand Thing' ( Throughly bastardised by Disney who turned it into the boring and mellifulously flat, Winnie the Pooh and the Windy Day), to illustrate the idea of Mutally Assured Destruction regarding nuclear weapons in a university essay. Pooh and Piglet are off to visit Owl on a windy day. The wind is blowing noisily through the tree tops scaring Piglet. He asked Pooh, 'Suppose a tree fell down when we were underneath it?' Pooh thought for a moment and replied, 'Suppose it didn't.' Piglet was comforted by this. Analogy, what happens if the Russians/Americans launch a nuclear strike against us? Suppose they don't? The passage which I'll let people discover for themselves, describing the collapse of Owl's house, and the 'movement' of the portarit of Great Uncle Robert, is simply sublime!
Utterly brilliant stuff!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2012
The House at Pooh Corner is certainly a children's classic and also a classic in the sense that it transcends age.

I'm 41 and have just finished this joy of a book!

Lovable, brainless Pooh. Cute, timid Piglet. Philosophical, depressed Eeyore. Bossy, organised Rabbit. Talkative, intelligent Owl. Motherly, caring Kanga. Carefree, fun Roo. Confident and overly-ambitious Tigger. All under the wing of Christopher Robin with the classic illustrations by E.H. Shepard.

To be informative, the ten chapters tell the tale of how a house is built for Eeyore, the arrival of Tigger, the search for Small, when Tigger and Roo climb a tree, the mystery of what Christopher Robin does in the mornings, the invention of Pooh sticks, the unbouncing of Tigger, the destruction of Owl's house and the search for a new one, and finally when Christopher Robin and Pooh leave.

Just delightful and incredibly witty at times!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse