Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
41
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 October 2003
well what can i say this book will leave you of the edge of your seat. This book reveals a few things including who survives the terrible fire and what V.F.D stands for and believe me it's quite shocking(well so I think) but terrible Count Oalf is still up to his very nasty tricks and klaus,violet and sunny are in danger . This is a must see book and when it comes out near you READ IT.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 May 2004
If you are addicted to Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events, then the tenth addition to this thirteen part series is a must have! If you enjoyed the early books but found the last few somewhat formulaic, then I still recommend Book the Tenth!
After countless tantalizing hints and suggestions, we finally get some real clues. Without giving anything important away, I can reveal that information is uncovered concerning whether or not both Baudelaire Parents really died in book one's fatal fire (hinted at in the last book); we draw much closer to finding out what the initials V.F.D. mean; we are reacquainted with at least two characters from the early books; and a hitherto missing person makes an astonishing appearance subsequently shedding considerable light on the tragic events blighting the Baudelaire sibling's lives. Furthermore, although you won't be able to read about it (for reasons of privacy), Violet has an unexpected romantic entanglement in a very cold place!
The last book left readers with a cliff-hanger: Sunny had been abducted by Count Olaf and his entourage and was being driven uphill, whilst Violet and Klaus were rolling downhill in an out-of-control carnival caravan. If that sounds bad ... then be warned ... things get much worse! If you enjoy cheerful books about mischievous elves, talking mice, magical spells and soft, fluffy teddy bears, then don't order this book - however, if you like alphabetical pledges, snow gnats, trained eagles, mysterious hidden letters, and find vicarious pleasure in the misfortunes of others (an expression which here means you like laughing at luckless orphans), then this is the book for you.
Finally, the obligatory dedication to Beatrice is the funniest yet!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2003
The tenth book in The Series of Unfortunate Events shows no sign of the titles slowing downor becoming boring. Snicket, as usual, has his audience captured from the first page. As a school librarian, it is heartily encouraging to see so many students of all ages reading these books, reserving them to read in order, and generally promoting reading and childrens' literature. Snicket has done for family, humour and mystery stories what Rowling has done for the fantasy genre. All the usual characters appear here - the three Baudelaire siblings are back along with the two orphaned triplets. Count Olaf is as cruel as always, but don't you just find yourself sympathising with him at times? OK, maybe not. Can I also encourage everyone to read the biography title (which at our school library, I have classed as Number 7A, as it doesn't make sense if you read it before book 7) as there are many clues as to the real identity of Count Olaf, and the somewhat mysterious Lemony Snicket. Why has he and his brother started appearing in the stories? Just read it! Great fun.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2004
Daniel Handler's done it again - this is the tenth book in the wonderful Lemony Snicket series and they just keep getting better (and bigger). As always, the reader is given just enough clues and pieces of the puzzle to think everything's coming together, and then is left at the end with even more questions than they started off with. This one is my favourite so far, and the plot has really started to thicken. If you have the Lemony Snicket Unauthorized Autobiography now's the time to give it a second read, as many of the threads started there are pulled together in The Slippery Slope. The characters really come into their own here, too - Sunny is growing up and gets whole chapters to herself. Her advances in speech are often hilarious - there's a hidden meaning in everything she says. There's also some romance for Violet with someone presumed dead, and the appearance of two new villains who even Olaf and Esme are afraid of. If you haven't yet delved into the wonders of the Snicket world, now's the time to begin, because this series could possibly be one of the most entertaining ever written.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2003
There is a survivor of a fire! (Amazon this isn't a spoiler as it says this on the back cover of the book)I won't tell you who it is or what fire they survived but let me tell you it gives hope to the three unlucky Baudelaire children.
I am lucky enough to have read the ASOUE books right from the start and I ordered The Slippery Slope from amazon.com, so that is how I am writing this review. I urge all Lemony Snicket readers to not think 'I'll get The Slippery Slope later' because you need to read this now! It also reveals what VFD stands for.
A great book. Once you have read it, try the quiz on lemonysnicket.com (click on books)
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2004
This book is one of the best in the series and will not dissapoint you at all! You find out who survives the great fire, more about count oalf (who is still up to his old tricks) what v.f.d stands for, which is ever so suprising! Buy and read now!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2003
Writing this as a 10 year old fan of Lemony Snicket books, I was excited to get this book 10 after finishing book 9.
Anyone who likes an adventure, and extreemly exciting storyline and a tense atmosphere, they will enjoy this book tremdously.
The book tells the story of 3 orphans named the Bauldelaire's, who lost their parents in a terible fire that occured in their mansion. They go on an adventure on trying to find their parents (who they discover are still alive). At the end of the book 9 their sister is kidnapped and they set about a quest to discover where she is.
In book 10 they find her, and continue on their adventures.
Once I had read book 1, I was addicted and I have read all the books up to book 11, which I am waiting desperately for in pain and agony!!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2005
This book is possibly (in my opinion) one of the best Series of Unfortunate Events books I've read. My heart was racing at the start of the book, I didn't think Violet and Klaus would make it out alive. But they proved me wrong and this installment turned out to be a very compelling adventure. I was quite disappointed though that Count Olaf didn't put on a disguise like he normally does. But apart from that eveything else was brilliant. It even gave a few hints as to what book 12 is about. And as always Lemony Snicket gave us a few depressing anecdotes. I also liked the Cliffhanger ending and I can't wait to read the Grim Grotto. All in all, a good read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Slippery Slope is the tenth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events by American author, Lemony Snicket (aka Daniel Handler). As we once again join the unlucky Baudelaire orphans, they find themselves separated: Sunny held captive in Count Olaf’s car while Violet and Klaus seem destined to perish in a runaway caravan down a steep hill.

Having narrowly escaped a burning hospital and already suffered the loss of their parents, the threat of marriage, slave labour, hypnosis, a terrible boarding school, being thrown down a lift shaft, being thrown in jail, acting in a freak show and the murder of their Uncle Monty and Aunt Josephine at the hands of the evil Count Olaf and his nefarious assistants, the siblings are ever-vigilant of his reappearance, although this instalment sees them travelling with him, in disguise, to the Mortmain Mountains . Luckily these well-mannered and uncomplaining children are also very resourceful: Violet invents, Klaus researches and Sunny bites.

Snicket’s tone throughout is apologetic, sincere and matter-of-fact as he relates the unfortunate events in the children’s lives; his imaginative and even surreptitiously educational style will hold much appeal for younger readers, as will the persistent silliness of adults. Snicket’s word and phrase definitions are often hilarious. As always, the alliterative titles are delightful and Brett Helquist provides some wonderfully evocative illustrations.

After seemingly marking time for the last few books, finally, there are some developments that begin to unravel the mystery of the fate of the Baudelaire parents, and an unexpected ally assists Violet and Klaus as they try to rescue Sunny. But their concern for their baby sister is apparently unwarranted, as Sunny not only takes care of herself, but also manages to overhear some vital information, and, luckily, her communication skills have improved exponentially.

Our ever resourceful orphans use a sticky mess to get themselves out of a sticky mess, as well as utilising hammocks, a ukulele, forks, a hand mirror, a breadknife and couple of coats for various purposes. They find coded messages in unusual places and are surprised by facts revealed about their parents. Will the Baudelaires reach the alternate VFD headquarters before Count Olaf does, and will they find a surviving parent there? Readers will have to read the next instalment, The Grim Grotto, to find out.
3.5 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 June 2004
This is the 10th book of unfortunate events, and is one of the most entertaining books of the series. After being dicconected from the car, the older Bauldilares are screeching down the mountain, in a caravan that is going at a high speed, will they survive, will they save their younger sibling, who survived the fire and what does VFD stand for? Read it and all your questions will be answered. Read the other 9 before you read it though!!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse