Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 16 August 2015
I really don't understand why there is a lot of negativity to this film? When me and my mother saw this is the cinema when it first came out, it was a packed out room with people cackling away (including us) at how funny it was.
The idea was clever as it wasn't a simple reboot of the TV show it was something a little bit different and you know what...different isn't so bad now & again!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2017
Okay for possibly answering some questions I had but not a patch on the original. A bit like a boozy night out at best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
Liked tv series better
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2016
A much better than expected homage. Don't over think it just watch and enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2017
brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2015
Lovely box set('the perfect man', very poor hence only 4 star's)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2015
Brought for a present
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 July 2006
You can't compare this movie to the television series because in a way it's nothing like it. I thought when I went to see the film that it was going to be just like the television series, Samantha and Darren are a happy couple but the problem is she's a witch, Darren knows it, her mother keeps getting involved in the relationship and mad chaos begins in each episode.

But the film is actually about Will Ferrel wanting to remake Bewitched and when he finds Nicole Kidman in a book shop he thinks this is the girl to play Samantha in the remake of Bewitched. What he doesn't know is that Samantha really is a witch and when she overhears how the horrid Will Ferrel is just using her to make his way back into the limelight, she decides to put her magical powers to good use and seeks revenge on Ferrel with very funny results.

The beggining is slow, I have to admit, and at times the storyline does drag a little but if you stick with it I think you'll be pleased and amused towards the end.

But if you are expecting a movie remake of the Bewitched television series, this, sadly, isn't.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2006
With a cast that included Nicole Kidman, Michael Caine and Shirley MacLaine I expected good things from Bewitched. Boy was I wrong!! I seriously don’t think they could have done a worse job of making this film if they tried.
Will Ferrell plays Jack Wyatt, the washed-up actor who is trying to resurrect his film career by playing the lead as Darrin in the remake of the 1960’s sit-com Bewitched. All he needs is the perfect actress to play Samantha. Then he stumbles upon Isabel who has the nose-twitch that he wants and is just perfect for the part of Samantha. Endeared by Jack, Samantha signs up but it doesn’t take long until it becomes obvious who the real star of the show will be and although Isabel is a real witch she is on a quest to stop using her powers. But when Jack behaves like a ‘jerk’ she just can’t help herself.
Will Ferrell gives the most nauseating performance I’ve ever seen. His switch from bad-guy to good-guy is wooden to say the least. Nicole Kidman forgot everything she’s ever been taught about acting and gave the most mediocre performance of her career as Isabel. Only Michael Caine and Shirley MacLaine give performances worthy of mention. But all in all this film was just abysmal. There was no continuity of thought and nothing seemed to ‘mesh’. Awful is the best word to describe it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2008
Oh it was always going to be 'touch and go' when playing about with the idea of bringing back the much loved and deeply cherished 'Bewitched' - I am sure there was plenty of goodwill by the viewers, wishing and hoping for a rendition that could recapture the real MAGIC of the tv series.

Nicole Kidman as Samantha was inspired casting - she plays the part very well and one can almost forgive the fact that she is NOT Elizabeth Montgomery because one can tell that she has put in a lot of work replicating characteristics, mannerisms and the downright 'niceness' of Samantha - the respect for the original is all there.

The apperances of Michael Caine (father), Shirley MacLaine (screen mother) and Steve Carell (uncle) are very amusing - one feels that they really should have had bigger parts to play as they lifted the whole feel of the movie when they were in the scene.

What lets this film down is the fact it is trying to be too clever for it's own good - a film about the making of a re-make of 'Bewitched' ?? The entire point of the 60's series was that it was simple. The new film tries to bulldoze us with the comic 'genius' of the day - Will Ferrell and wants us to see how unfair it is having to play Darrin, and thus play second fiddle to Samantha.

The audience always tolerated Darrin because he set up the best scenes for Samantha. Surely it said something when the original actor in the tv series was replaced and the audience wasn't bothered or even noticed !?! This film is almost a film about 'Darrin' (or the actor playing Darrin in the film !?), taking the focus away from Samantha for too long. We then have to believe that Samantha falls in love with this jerk, most detestable man on the planet.

It could have been so good - we all wanted it to be - but it was spoilt by Hollywood Producers who needed another vehicle to show us how 'wonderful' Will Ferrell is (maybe to Americans he is- who knows??)and a chance for Nicole Kidman to flex her Oscar Winning Acting muscles and be a 'Big Name' on the titles.

It had all the right ingredients to cast an enchanting spell over the viewers - but it ended up vexing them, and hexing itself.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)