Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 26 August 2011
I got this book when I was writing my MA dissertation and simultaneously writing research proposals for PhD applications. It's really a great idea for a book as it aims to fill in the blanks about what's involved in PhD writing that universities seem to think students know automatically. A lot of it will be things research students probably already know, but it's worth going through for the things you haven't thought of and to remind yourself what you're supposed to be doing when you're confused in the midst of all your writing. It's mostly focussed on organising chapters, paragraphs, etc. and presenting data - don't expect it to give you ideas for the content of your theory or research.
It seems suited to social science/humanities subjects, and I found a lot of it could be applied to my MA dissertation, obviously adapting for the shorter length.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 December 2016
Recommended by my University supervisors - and they are excellent so any recommendation from them has to be truly very good.
Consolidates what you may already know, but good to be reminded and to have key points reinforced.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 October 2017
It gives a balanced general view of a phd. It must be hard to write a generic book which is equally applicable to a phd in astrophysics, childhood development, archaeology, or music. This book inevitably struggles to do this at times but given the impossibility if the task, it fares quite well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2017
Read it, Followed it, Got my Dr.

Nuff said?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 December 2015
Useful and accessible. Good buy if your in panic mode or thinking of doing a PhD.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 September 2016
Very helpful. It has a very organized lay-out and gives you a step by step guidance on how to proceed with your research from gathering the data to writing it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 April 2016
Loved it. Insightful. Straightforward. A lot of great advice and tips.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 March 2013
This is a wonderful book that contains sage advice on all stages of planning and writing a PhD and beyond. I bought this in the final stages of my PhD and found it extremely helpful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 September 2015
The book served my need for the purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 May 2015
Haven't read it all but so far helpful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)