Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
19
4.4 out of 5 stars


on 11 January 2013
I like this book very much. It's quite odd, but I suspect it was a labour of love for author Todd Gustavson (who is curator for a museum for photography & film). I suspect many readers, like me will try to find their own cameras within these pages, and will likely be disappointed. But the point of the book is not a critical comparative review of cameras. It's more a celebration of the diversity of camera design & style.

The models featured are all the personal choice of one man (he likes Leica). The photographs are large and of high quality. The descriptions are informative without being in the least dry. The enthusiasm shows through. Note: This is listed as a paperback. The (US published) version I received had very much better paper quality than any UK paperback. The cover seems plasticised, is decoratively embossed and appears to be hard wearing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
What a fantastic camera guide. I bought it as a gift for my husband who collects old cameras. Receiving the book
I was impressed myself by the good quality and images of the cameras. Each camera has its own page.
The book fells just good and is well done. One of the best Christmas Presents said my husband
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2012
Brilliant book. Superb images and details of hundreds of cameras including those you own, those you wish you owned, and those you should have bought years ago and didn't. Not to be missed.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
I have and regularly use about 11 film cameras. I was surprised that this book doesn't feature any of them. Instead it concentrates on Kodak models (the author has had clear links with Kodak in the past and has a good knowledge of their cameras) and a few other, essentially non mainstream models, many of which are pre-war.

It is a thick book and is well illustrated. The amount of information about each camera is fairly limited and lacks detail. You can find out a lot more about specific cameras online quite easily.

If you were interested in pre-war cameras, you would find it useful. I remain disappointed that none of my cameras were featured.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
A fascinating book of excellent photographs. Unfortunately, because of its connections with Kodak, it is rather biased towards American cameras. It is also a rather random collection - cameras described have not really been chosen to illustrate advances in photography. Nevertheless, it is great and should be in the possession of everyone interested in the history of photographic equipment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2013
I should have known better, but the book equally distributes information across time and camera types such that the cameras of my period (35mm slrs) are barely represented. I found all but a few pages dull.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2012
Very nice book with nice pictures and review, structured in categories. Very nice to learn about the history of cameras and for those that are willing to buy some camera antiques.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
Great book bought for my camera fanatical Dad for Christmas. A fantastic range of older and newer cameras with excellent photography and descriptions, also a very sizeable book for the price point.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
A little limited viewpoint but useful book anyway - and very well illustrated. Good read if you are interested in the history of photography, even from the earliest days.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
I must own more books on cameras than most people, having amassed them over many years, but this is a gem. It is packed with details that are usually not considered and with genuinely interesting facts, figures and cross references. With very high quality images and concise and informed text, this is the one book that any serious enthusiast really needs to have alongside their collection .
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)