Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
26
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 November 2010
It is 1930, and a team of scientists sets out from Miskatonic University, Arkham, intent on venturing further into the Antarctic than any previous expedition. What they find at first promises to revolutionise the scientific view of human history: fourteen perfectly preserved specimens of a completely alien lifeform buried in a thirty million year old strata of Antarctic ice. One of the expedition nicknames them "Elder Things", taking his cue from an ancient, worm-ridden volume of forbidden lore back in the Miskatonic stacks, The Necronomicon of Mad Abdul Alhazred. And then the terror begins...

Culbard's pacy adaptation of H P Lovecraft's most extended, and successful, foray into the realms of science fictional cosmic horror captures the awe (those towering mountains, that ancient cyclopean city) and vertiginous, creeping terror of Lovecraft's original in a bold, direct style that nevertheless leaves room for some nice subtleties of build-up. The brief glimpse of movement in the ancient city, for instance, is particularly nicely done -- to single out but one moment in this excellent retelling of a weird fiction classic.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2010
I received this as a Christmas gift as i'm quite a fan of the stories of H.P. Lovecraft. I was quickly taken by the obvious love that Ian Culbard has for the source material, and was immediately reminded by the art style of Hergés' Tintin books and the Zombieworld: Champion Of The Worms graphic paperback by Mike Mignola and Pat McEown. I enjoyed it so much that I was saddened that it was over.
I can only hope that Ian Culbard decides to do more of Lovecrafts stories (The Call of Cthulhu or The Shadow Over Innsmouth) or perhaps dabble with the stories of M.R. James (Oh Whistle and I'll Come To You, A Warning To The Curious).
Anyway this comes highly recommended!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2014
My teenage son loved the book. He had read the original story by Lovecraft a couple of times and it is one of his favorites. He is convinced that John Carpenter took the original story line from George Campbell's "Who Goes There" and Lovercraft's "Mountains of Madness" to come up with his screenplay for "The Thing". I will take his word for it. We have enjoyed the graphic novel renditions of his works in Lovecraft Anthology's 1 & 2: but my son says this book has them beat on artwork and storyline. I am waiting my turn as it makes the rounds through the family, but all thumbs up so far.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2011
After reading the original story by HP Lovecraft, which I loved by the way, I found out about the graphic novel and had to buy it. After reading it, I liked this version as well. Adapted and illustrated by Ian Culbard, it gives a different, and obviously, more visual take on the classic tale. Yes, it glosses over some passages, but overall the artwork (which is a delight) and plot pacing go hand in hand and carries you along for the ride. Would definitely recommend getting this.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2012
This graphic novel expressed the feeling of At the Mountains of Madness in a way that few other tributes have. The cosmic horror of this ancient city was brought to the page with skill worthy of the Elder Things themselves. I really enjoyed the art style as well, which called to mind comic work of that same time period. The real star of the book is Antarctica, depicted in all its terrible glory.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2012
This work does not seem like a comic. It attempts a much grander claim to fame. If there was a category called graphic literature then this might be its first occupant.

The story is taken almost verbatim from the H.P. Lovecraft novella of the same name published in 1936. Lovecraft was and still is heralded as one of the godfathers of modern horror/ science fiction. His tale and the way he tells it evokes as much power today in this new format as the original short story did. Like many of his works it deals with normal, rational people uncovering otherworldly secrets that man was not meant to know. It concerns an Antarctic expedition that discovers something unexpected.

The original story is told by a narrator remembering the tragic fate of the expedition he was on. Much of it is told through reports, journal entries and frightening radio broadcasts. Whilst these don't necessarily lend themselves to a visual retelling they have been captured with consummate ease. You do get the claustrophobic feeling that you are peering into another's memory of the past. Like a grandfather's tales of mysterious sea voyages this work manages to evoke an `edge of your seat' wonder that Lovecraft used so well.

The art is exceptional. It really reminds me of Tintin in so many ways. There is less detail than many modern comics but more use is made of lighting. This story does not feel drawn but animated. Many of the panels are composed cinematically and you almost get the feel that the frames are illuminated, giving them an atmospheric flicker as the oil lamps sputter and cast sinister shadows over the characters. This is the first time I have seen such a technique used and it really elevates this work beyond any of its contemporaries. The colours are superb whilst maintaining the bleached landscape of the Antarctic and the grubby browns of a fir-clad expedition with oilcloth tents and wooden sledges.

Part of Lovecraft's technique is that he describes alien vistas and creatures that can barely be imagined let alone drawn. When you actually see the monsters he describes realised on paper they look odd rather than terrifying. This is true of any work but this one rises to the occasion admirably and uses their depiction sparingly. I was not convinced by the interpretation of an alien city unfortunately. It did look as if someone has just cut and pasted Manhattan skyscrapers into the snow. This was a letdown but their interiors with strange carvings and murky lighting did help to persuade me.

Moving Lovecraft's work to a visual medium virtually always fails as seen by the number of shockingly bad films out there. This work is not only the best of the bunch but an incredible success by any standard. Wholeheartedly I give this work a Double Thumbs Up!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It's a great lovecraft story, this. Set in the antarctic and told, retrospectively, by a member of the team, a geological expedition discover evidence of an ancient unknown lifeform. When part of the expedition is killed, two members of the remaining team, one the book's narrator, fly over the "mountains of madness" in search of answers, to discover a vast, ruined, ancient city, millions of years old. They then begin to investigate......
It was written in the 1930s (i think) and Hollywood still haven't got around to making a film from it, despite it being a terrific story. To make a film of it and stay anywhere near to the spirit and scale of the original book, may be regarded as virtually (no pun intended) unfilmable, by the studios (or perhaps, they just want to keep making sequels forever.....)
To some, it may be a little over-written and wordy in parts (even for a short story), but I think it makes compelling reading. I mean, name me another book with six feet high, blind albino penguins in it!
I finished it in one session, so I guess it got me! Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2012
I was trawling for a 'different' graphic novel and really fell for the front cover design. It's an eerie story with morphic forms as monsters rather than big hairy ones! Colours are used to great effect when you turn pages into a night scene or interior and are very evocative and effective. Reminds me of Herge's rendering of people.

I had to read through 2-3 times to get the details of the story but I'm still a little confused. A book I'd be happy to loan from a library rather than buy really
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
Great version of a classic horror tale, really gets into the spirit of Lovecraft. Good art work would have been 5 stars but a few pages were really difficult to read because of the layout. Well worth the money can't wait to read the others in the collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2014
Pretty good, love the comic strip vibe. Hopefully more books can be adapted into comic books in the near future. At the mountains of madness is my favourite book and this adaption was good, slight changes due to it being a comic strip, so necessary really. All round good read and good artwork.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here