Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 2 January 2009
This is a fantastic value book - great if you are particularly interested in visual illusion in art or it also makes a lovely coffee table book that you can just pick up and flick through whenever it takes your fancy!

The book covers 20 different types of visual illusion (e.g. visual suprise, paradoxical worlds, change of perspective, optical llusion, impossible figures etc) by focusing on the work of 20 different artists including Salvador Dali, Sandro Del-Prete and Escher. The layout is clean and simple and there are plenty of pictures to peruse! You also get information/background on each artist and their work so the book is a good all-rounder if you are a student.

In summary, a must-buy for any art enthusiast but you don't have to love art to love this book as it's such a joy to look through! I notice new things every time I pick this one off the shelf - highly recommended!
22 Comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 13 September 2017
"Mastes of Deception" is a substantial art book which collects the work of artists who specialise in tricking the eye so that you look at one thing and see something else, often something impossible.

Artists featured include Salvador Dali, Maurice Escher, Rob Gonsalves, Guiseppe Archimboldo and others from the out-and-out surrealists to those whose tampering with reality is extremely subtle.

Much of the art in the book brilliant, and much is very beautiful, though not all is both.

Perhaps most extraordinary are the photographs of models where artists like Shigeo Fukuda have managed to create something which looks - frton one precise direction - like a real three-dimensional version of impossible buildings or objects like those in the M.C. Escher pictures "Belvedere" and "Waterfall." In some cases they show you the model from other angles too so you can see how the artist did it. The original Escher pictures "Belvedere" and "Waterfall" are also in this book so it is easy to compare them!

A must if your are fascinated by optical puzzles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 November 2010
This is a marvelously entertaining book that will please both the general reader and those interested in art history. It is, amongst other things,one of those rare books that are better when thumbed through with someone else. The editor has put together some genuinely amazing artists whose cleverness jumps off the page. I imagine teachers could enliven any classroom with the contents of this book. I hope there is a second volume on the way, perhaps including the work of the World War I camouflage artists.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 December 2017
I ordered this for my father, but found the pictures to be very depressing and grotesque. There didn't seem to be any light relief in it nor the interest that I have found in other optical illusion books. I returned it, that was straightforward no problem.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2017
love it, draghtsmanship....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERon 13 February 2009
his book is a delightful treat to anyone who loves optical illusion.

Here's a quote from the author, Al Seckel, in the introduction:

<quote start>

In researching and presenting optical illusions to wide audiences, I have found that their effect on people is very primal. It does not matter how old they are, how artistic they are, how intelligent they are, what their background or culture is; people just love optical illusions and enjoy being deceived in a delightful and surprising way.

<quote end>

He has done a terrific job at research on the subject, collecting over hundreds of paintings all the way back from the 16th century. Many of the optical illusions found on the Internet are just extensions or interpretation of these masterpieces.

There are 20 artists featured in the book. Every one comes with a well written introduction and a gallery of their best work. While the book can't print all the art work for each artist, it has packed enough to entertain for hours. Each is also captioned to explain the idea and inspiration behind.

There's an incredible array of artistic style used in creating optical illusions. There's Escher who plays with perspective, Shigeo Fukuda who works with light and shadow and many more.

This is a very entertaining book.

There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.
0Comment| 80 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2011
this book is excellant a differant view on pictures a good stocking filler for artists and non artists delivered very quickly and in excellant condition
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2010
Also for my grandaughter's 21st - she's doing an Art degree - and much appreciated
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 October 2011
Package well protected, Arrived as new. Fabulous book with amazing works of deception set to thrill you. Extremely clever. Highly recommend. Swift and efficient delivery. Excellent.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 May 2012
I bought this for my daughter who was interested in illusion in art but I didn't want to overdo one artist or another just help her understand that there are lots of artists creating illusions in different ways. She loves it and often dips into it taking it to school to show friends or trys to make drawings like some of the drawings in the book. A great introduction for all ages, could do with more pics and less text but having said that for the price it is a very good start.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)