Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 July 2013
My first impressions of this book were that a) It was a lot smaller than I'd expected (have hardbacks really got that tiny these days?!), and b) That it looks more like something that should be called Mermaid Diaries or Dolphin Days and made for ten year-olds. Taking the dust jacket off helped with this, as the book itself is a beautiful, solid navy cover with silver writing on the spine, but unfortunately the impression given by the design on the sleeve actually reflects the content inside.

It seems this book is confused. On the one hand it claims to be a reference book, or 'introductory class' teaching about the history and mythology of mermaids; but on the other it's a happy-clappy-hippy book about the author's indulgence in 'mermaiding'. Seriously, there are awful pictures of her dressed as a mermaid, including one where she's playing a guitar in a swimming pool, digitally edited to look cool. (This particular page is captioned "Combining my two hobbies of playing guitar and mermaiding.", I'm not just exaggerating the matter!).
The pages are glossy, and a confusing mix of beautiful hand-drawn illustrations and paintings vs. tacky print on coloured pages (the sort expected to be seen in a joke book or 100 best tips for) and painfully photoshopped underwater scenery/women in mermaid costumes/animated mermaids made to look real but failing to do so. Which is a pity, because if the book stuck to just one form of style, it could be a real gem. And that's without eliminating the awful adverts at the back for various mind-body-spirit-healing media.

In conclusion, the book is far more aimed at "tapping into your inner mermaid" spiritual hobbies, than an enthusiast looking to educate themselves on the folk-lore and history of mermaids. Don't get me wrong, it's got some interesting facts in it (mostly at the beginning of the book, and nestled between horrible digital images repeating chapter-heading subjects) and does reference a lot of different mermaid origins from throughout time. It just isn't as educative on the subject as the title implies. So if you're actually interested in learning about the mythology and origins of mermaid existence, I'd highly recommend 'Mermaids, The Myths, Legends, & Lore' by Skye Alexander instead. But if you want a more slapdash, contemporary, colourful and casual book about mermaiding as a spiritual hobby with a bit of background information mixed in, then this is the book for you.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
i love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2015
I find this book to be really confusing and the information presented to you does not seem very solid... The first part of this book is a collection of information that appears to be linked with the existence of merpeople. However, the explanations are not that clear and all the pieces of information are barely "stitched" together. There is a lot of things in this book that could be explained better and expanded upon. While reading this book I often found myself wondering "What does that have to do with anything ?", "How is this relevant ?", "Where did the author get this kind of information ?" etc... Everytime the author tries to explain something it just feels rushed. There is no bibliography so you just have to take everything the author says for granted and that is a huge problem for a former university student such as myself.
Here is a quote from the book that embodies every problem I have with it (keep in mind that this book was published in 2012, so it is fairly recent) :
"After all, scientists can't explain how three-quarters of the earth came to be covered in water - a much greater percentage than on other planets. Scientists are also at a loss to explain how it has remained in liquid form for so many years, when other planets' considerably smaller water sources freeze or evaporate." p.18
There is absolutely no justification nor context for this claim. You can't make a claim like that without citing your sources and explaining how this is related to your previous pieces of information. The only conclusion I could draw from this passage is that the author selects and distorts information to suit the message she is trying to convey. I cannot take this part of the book seriously as it is not thorough enough (I would even say that it is not thorough at all).

As for the part about "Mermaiding" I thought it was a decent introduction but nothing groundbreaking. It could have been more detailed. The good thing about it is that it introduced me to a few mermaids I did not know before.

Another big problem in this book is the presentation, a lot of the pictures in this book have a line or two of text on them and are cutting a few sentences in half which is annoying :
Page 101 ends with the beginning of a sentence :"This is". Then pages 102 ans 103 feature a full picture of the author mermaiding with her friend, this picture is accompanied by some text that reads : "Dana Richardson (in gold) and me (in pink) enjoying underwater mermaid fun." On page 104 we have another picture with some text that reads : "Dana loves to give "mermaid rides" to children, as well as teach them about the ocean". And finally, under this last picture is the continuation of the unfinished sentence that started back at page 101: "the mermaid's duty - to show our vital connection to the ocean and all sea life. [...]". This, to me, is just bad presentation/editing.

I wouldn't recommend this book to anyone.
If you are a mermaid fan like I am then you could always try "Mermaids: An Enchanting Exploration of Their Myths, Legend, and Lore" by Skye Alexander or do your own research.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
a really nice book. found the info about mermaids fascinating. the only thing i didnt like was seeing lots of photos of the author dressed as a mermaid it just made the book seem a bit silly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
i love Doreen Virtue's work and this book is really good, it is interesting and a nice read definitely worth buying it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2015
superior quality excellent product very happy with my purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
I adore Doreen Virtue. Definitely would buy more of her staff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2014
LOVELY GOODY
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2016
Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
Readable. Very much a Doreen Virtue book. Would have liked a bit more information about the reality of mermaids, do they exist today?
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)