Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 April 2017
Nice comic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2016
A total bro-fest, wasting the huge potential to explore Jason's psyche. We have here the two biggest losers in the DC universe teaming up, and so this could have been a very interesting character study of what it's like to be rejected from a conventional hero clique, and how to make your own rules and team codes. Despite having three potentially interesting characters, this had dull and half-baked set pieces linked by filler. There is no character development, no discernible overarching plot, no exploration of their relationships, nothing but: "here is a tedious summary of my backstory, here is Starfire showing off her birth canal, here is some shooting/blowing stuff up..."ad nauseum. Maybe it gets better in the next part of the run?

There is way too much Starfire in creepy pornographic photoshoot poses (Rocafort is a cheesecake artist so I expected that, but not this much!) But they have retconned Starfire to be braindead, or she has lost her memory which somehow results in her having sex with everyone, or something, which is the single most offensive retcon I've ever encountered). Red Hood and Arsenal always have all their clothes on while she is mostly naked, she has virtually no serious dialogue, she doesn't drive any aspects of the plot apart from when they have to save her, and she doesn't do anything on the team apart from be available for sex. She could have really easily been removed from this series, and Roy and Jason could have simply had sex with other people, or each other, and it would have been loads less cringeworthy (although perhaps DC would avoid the latter scenario). Here are some sexy violent alternatives for you:

If you like ultra-violence and anti-heroes/villains being awesome, check out:

-Gail Simone's brilliant "Secret Six"
-The first few issues of the New 52 Suicide Squad, collected in a paperback called "Kicked in the Teeth", which is OK
-Marvel's "Darth Vader" by Kieron Gillen, which is amazing!

If you like sexy people in comics, check out:

-DC's "Grayson" (Bit too much gratuitous beefcake for me, not really canon Dick Grayson here either; reminds me strongly of FX's "Archer")
-Marvel's 2006 "Marvel Boy" mini-series by Grant Morrison
-Image Comics' "Wicked + Divine" by Kieron Gillen
-the brilliantly-written "Swords of Sorrow" from Dynamite Comics (featuring three iconic almost-naked female protagonists)
-any New 52 Catwoman issues after Judd Winnick stopped writing and the amazing Ann Nocenti and Genevieve Valentine took over, especially "Keeper of the Castle"
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2014
Red Hood is intriguing to me, as I had never heard of the character before I started the new 52. I've read the whole "Death of a Family" arc and the Red Hood volume was good enough that I had to backtrack and find out more about him. Of course throughout all my DC reading he's popped up here and there but only very briefly. Roy Harper has made a few brief pre-Arsenal appearances as well. This volume has great dialogue and is very comedic. If you love banter among JL team members, there is a great deal of that going on here and it really made me like both Roy and Jason. Princess K we don't get to know very well but she's very powerful and everything mentioned about her past is very intriguing. Lots of action in this volume as we have a couple of side stories going on but the main theme centres on the new "team" tracking down the "Untitled" and finishing off the remaining members. A lot of Jason's background with the "All" is explored and I feel much more familiar with the character now. Interesting tidbit shows Nightwing's old blue costume having been left aboard Starfire's hideaway when Jason first finds her.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2014
The story is very mediocre but reading this is insulting and unbearable. This comic has caused controversy among reviewers for being sexist and reading it, I can only agree with them. A much loved character "starfire" has been rewritten in an offensive way that has turned her into an object for men. She cannot distinguish between humans and therefore neither can she distinguish between her lovers. She now suffers from some form of amnesia and has no memories of her former husband and so sleeps with one character and then immediately sleeps with another. There are a handful of unnecessarily sexualized images that span entire pages of this character and it only gets worse! From the female air hostess to the female police officer, nearly all female characters are drawn for the pleasure of male readers sometimes presented in sexual poses such as when Jason is being arrested.

This is a step back for comics and feels like something from the 80's, fortunately Scott Lobdel is removed from the position of writer after volume 3.
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
I should like this comic but I just don't. I read a review where someone said it was juvenile and I have to agree. The premise is Jason Todd is found by Starfire who rescues him after he is wounded, he then proceeds to sex him up and then they decide to fight crime and get Arsenal from a maximum security prison. After that Todd decides they should all sort of fight crime while half not to maintain appearing cool on their deserted island with an alien space ship and then Starfire sexes up Arsenal. The plot then proceeds to discuss aliens and finally mystic old as time cults with supernatural assassins.

It just lacks the depth of other properly written DC comics. It wants to be Batman with a super intelligence protagonist but constantly points out Todd isn't Batman. It wants to be all sexy with Starfire being half dressed at all times, and undressed off scene the rest of the time but then never goes into that with any proper gusto so it feels more like titillation than any actual attempt at story telling and well Arsenal is the least compelling hero I've come across in years. There is down on your luck and great fighter anti hero etc etc and then there is just down on your luck z list hero.

It is a shame, I like the Red Hood I think he is a great hero and Arsenal and Starfire in Death of the Family actually come across as very mature and wise but in their own series they don't.

Get this if you want to see but if there was a fire I wouldn't be running to save this one (of course after my family and pets are safe).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2014
I really wanted to like this and give it more than three stars. The artwork is really nice, and it has a good, solid story. I enjoyed reading it for the most part...

BUT I was really, really disappointed that Starfire (pictured as one of a three-person team on the front cover) seemed to mostly play the role of sexy eye candy. Seriously? It's 2014! When we have some pretty damn decent, well-written female characters (e.g. Batgirl) it is kind of embarrassing for DC comics that Starfire is so reduced to a sex object here.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
I came into this book because I like Batman and I wanted another read within the batfamily and although I wasn't too stoked on the nightwing book, I really enjoyed this, they made redhood a fresh feeling character and I understood and emphasised with his plight, the comedy in it is well balanced and doesn't feel forced or too stupid, it has some mint action and character development and I would highly recommend this to anyone who likes a witty, laid back and fun character. I have to admit I really do like this character
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
This book is awesome. I was familiar with Jason Todd/Red Hood from the books Death in the family and under the hood. I was not so sure about Roy Harper. So this book was the perfect starting point. I am hooked and pre-ordered the second volume, and brought the individual issues. Well recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
Having gotten back into comic books over the past year or so I have been thoroughly impressed by The New 52 relaunch and having amassed a fairly large number of 'Volume 1's' Redemption was the last one of 2012 I acquired. I knew very little of Arsenal and Starfire and only a little of Jason Todd's history as Red Hood (as a teenager many moons ago I remember reading A Death In The Family and feeling loss at what seemingly happened to him at the hands of the Joker). I more or less 'grew out' of comic books after that so whilst been aware of the Red Hood's existence over the years was ignorant to his identity.

Anyhow, enough of my backstory. This graphic novel worked on so many levels for me - I thoroughly enjoyed it and cannot wait for the next installment. I have read reviews where the title has been criticised as sexualising some of its main characters (anyone reading it will know what I mean!) however I say 'don't read it then! and pick up something more child friendly!'

The characters evolve nicely over the course of the book and there are several great action sequences with an interesting storyline running through it. I won't give any spoilers away. My receommendation - buy it!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
This book is definetly worth a try, the storyline is great, very enjoyable, the characters are likable and funny when needed, the art is fantastic, it’s good to look at. I recommend this book to anyone who loves comics or just interested in getting to know the genre.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse