Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
34
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 March 2016
I have a new faverite from the New 52. I have never been a huge Wonder Woman fan, but thanks to the fan fare and appearances on Batman and Superman, I got glimpses into more of her new characters. I really like the more warrior themes version of the characters. I love the Greek mythology theme/plot of the story. The only slight criticism I have about the story is the art work is nit my faverite style, but it does seem to fit the story so even that is a moot critic.

Wonder Woman comes to the aid of a woman needing protection from the Queen of the Greek Gods. If you know anything about Greek Mythology Zeus was known for his infidelities. Guess what he is at it again, this time the mother of his child to be has a warrior Amazon on her side. However saving Zola Diana learns about her own secret family history. It comes with all the cover galleries in colour inbetween issues. I love this series I can't wait for the next volume.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2012
This is what they call a turn up for the books. A mature and sophisticated story without any spandex.

Although it features Wonder Woman, and she is our primary guide through the narrative, a single lassoing and bracer parry doesn't make it feel like she is indispensible. It is more about the machinations of the Greek gods - whom it turns out Diana has more of a relationship with than you thought - and notably Zeus' rampant promiscuity. Poseidon, Hades, and all your favourites from Clash of the Titans are here but you don't need a major in the classics to eventually work out who is who.

The whole thing feels, and also looks, very Sandman; from its immortal characters and literary references to its particular art style. The Greeks certainly knew how to spin a good yarn and using established myths to craft a tale with modern resonance all about family is sheer genius. There aren't many laughs but they appear where appropriate. Drama is king here.

There isn't too much characterisation or lengthy exposition. You begin in medias res and the whirlwind of people you meet usually appear cryptic or reserved. This gives a great feeling of `trust no one' as there is both a child's life and the throne of heaven at stake. There is a human character for us to latch on to who, despite being the maguffin that drives the plot along, is a genuinely likeable, witty person that we can easily take a shine to.

This being an origin story and part of a reboot we do have bases to cover so there is skipping between heaven, earth and the secret Amazon homeland along with dramatic revelations and re-revelations about back-story. The Wonder Woman here feels nothing like the Diana of JLA and there is certainly no mention of Captain Trevor.

The art is great and much looser and more abstract than most clean lined superhero books. The colouring is out of this world and the lighting of each scene, and the mood that creates, is epically cinematic. Each location and time of day feels distinct and great use is made of twilight and rain. There is an incredible transition between pure blue and pure red panels that you could frame and hang on your wall. Most of the earthbound locations are in London and if you can forgive the stereotypical accents it's nice to see Tower Bridge and the Thames make an appearance.

This is really good storytelling. It has universal and poignant themes, an emotional heart, and isn't dumbed down. It benefits a second read and it really seduces your eyes. It's not a traditional superhero story and is unexpectedly broader than just a Wonder Woman story but doesn't disappoint.

The hardcover edition has a sturdy matt black cover under the dust jacket with plain embossing on the front and spine. There is the original concept art for many of the characters. Each of the issue covers also features the original black and white proof too.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
great art, great writing, great read, good character development and all at a decent price, ALOT cheaper than buying the individual comic books
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2014
There is a huge amount fantastically right with this novel. Azzarello, of 100 Bullets fame, has conceived and delivered a compelling and relevant re-imaging of WW. In this collection of issues #1-6 he manages to rewrite her origin, convincingly introduce a cast of Greek gods, reveal a bunch of exciting locals and all alongside slick and witty dialogue. With wild revelations about her past, that set up huge potential for her future, he gives us a Wonder Woman full of anger and uncompromising violence. Seemingly fully formed before having her core rocked it will be interesting to see how she comes back from this. Throw into the mix Cliff Chiang's unique and eye-catching artwork and you have something that feels entirely fresh, and possibly one of the most successful of DC's New 52 reboots.
Definitely worth a look, especially f it is still at a knock down price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2012
This is what they call a turn up for the books. A mature and sophisticated story without any spandex.

Although it features Wonder Woman, and she is our primary guide through the narrative, a single lassoing and bracer parry doesn't make it feel like she is indispensible. It is more about the machinations of the Greek gods - whom it turns out Diana has more of a relationship with than you thought - and notably Zeus' rampant promiscuity. Poseidon, Hades, and all your favourites from Clash of the Titans are here but you don't need a major in the classics to eventually work out who is who.

The whole thing feels, and also looks, very Sandman; from its immortal characters and literary references to its particular art style. The Greeks certainly knew how to spin a good yarn and using established myths to craft a tale with modern resonance all about family is sheer genius. There aren't many laughs but they appear where appropriate. Drama is king here.

There isn't too much characterisation or lengthy exposition. You begin in medias res and the whirlwind of people you meet usually appear cryptic or reserved. This gives a great feeling of `trust no one' as there is both a child's life and the throne of heaven at stake. There is a human character for us to latch on to who, despite being the maguffin that drives the plot along, is a genuinely likeable, witty person that we can easily take a shine to.

This being an origin story and part of a reboot we do have bases to cover so there is skipping between heaven, earth and the secret Amazon homeland along with dramatic revelations and re-revelations about back-story. The Wonder Woman here feels nothing like the Diana of JLA and there is certainly no mention of Captain Trevor.

The art is great and much looser and more abstract than most clean lined superhero books. The colouring is out of this world and the lighting of each scene, and the mood that creates, is epically cinematic. Each location and time of day feels distinct and great use is made of twilight and rain. There is an incredible transition between pure blue and pure red panels that you could frame and hang on your wall. Most of the earthbound locations are in London and if you can forgive the stereotypical accents it's nice to see Tower Bridge and the Thames make an appearance.

This is really good storytelling. It has universal and poignant themes, an emotional heart, and isn't dumbed down. It benefits a second read and it really seduces your eyes. It's not a traditional superhero story and is unexpectedly broader than just a Wonder Woman story but doesn't disappoint.

The hardcover edition has a sturdy matt black cover under the dust jacket with plain embossing on the front and spine. There is the original concept art for many of the characters. Each of the issue covers also features the original black and white proof too.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
Being new to Wonder Woman, I was interested in how the New 52 would reboot would treat one third of DC's Trinity. I have to say I'm very impressed. Chiang's art work is wonderful and reflects the tone of the story. Which is excellent from Brian Azzarello (100 Bullets, Joker) and has a number of surprises in store. I won't explain what the story entails, but it's one that thrusts Diana right back into the forefront of comic book goers and newbies alike. The story goes along at an excellent pace and doesn't let up, and the final frames wanted me to pick up Volume 2 straight away.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
I wasn't sure if I was going to read this series; I haven't been a fan of WW since the 70s version, but when Kindle had a $5 sale on Volume 1s I couldn't resist picking up the volumes of the characters in the JL and Batman Family I didn't already own. I like Greek mythology a lot so was interested to see where the new 52 would take Diana's story. This first volume is heavily mired in Greek mythology and other than Wonder Woman all the other characters are Greek Gods. I really enjoyed it. I'm not really familiar with her background story except for the Amazon/Paradise Island connection,so don't know if this whole Gods history is new or not but I looove it! Diana's family is both broken apart and expanded here while we (and she) learn the truth of her background and why she leaves Paradise Island for good. She has already taken the persona of Wonder Woman when we meet her and she goes off to be WW, no longer Princess Diana, with a current responsibility to protect a certain young human girl and in cahoots with a few of the Olympians to get back at Hera. I absolutely adore the representation of Hades, totally awesome depiction! This ends with Hades ticking WW off and the next volume promises to have WW going to Hell to face off with him, so I am definitely off to the next volume.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
I'm not the biggest fan of Wonder Woman but this volume which includes issues 1-6 of the New 52 series is written by Brian Azzarello and for that reason alone seemed like it was worth a look. Well, the book has sat in my reading pile for quite a while but I'm very glad that it finally swam to the top. The Wonder Woman that we see in this volume is bereft of her normal supporting cast of Steve Trevor and Etta Candy and actually, Diana Prince is not much in evidence either.
The superheroes and super-villains of the DC universe are also pretty much absent. Instead, there is a focus on the Greek gods and Wonder Woman's fight to save a young girl who is threatened by the Olympians. We do see Wonder Woman in costume but this is a long way from being a traditional spandex comic and in some ways WW is a bit different to the incarnation that we see in recent issues of Justice League. The story keeps us interested and ends on a bit of a cliffhanger which left me running to pick up volume 2. The artwork in this book is unspectacular by modern comic standards but is actually very appropriate to the story and the page layouts are nicely designed. As a nice bonus we get some character designs and sketches.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2016
This bind up contains the first six issues of Wonder Woman (the new 52). This is a really good place to start for someone just getting into comic books, like me. DC Comics discontinued all of there comics in 2011 to create the new 52, a new range of comics starring all of the big superheroes starting from the start of there stories.
Wonder Woman helps to protect a mortal who is being chased by the queen of the gods Hera because she carries the unborn child of Zeus, Hera's husband and the king of the gods. Along the way Wonder Woman learns about where she came from.
I liked the art work and Wonder Woman and the Amazonians' are really kick ass. I am glad that comics are showing strong female leads, however the outfits of female characters still seem to be rather skimpy and they seem to be nude more often than male characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse