Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
9
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
4
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 May 2014
Someone in Gotham is blowing up the bridges of the city and enacting some strange vengeance against the descendants of the families who built Gotham - the Elliotts, the Kanes, the Cobblepots, and the Waynes. But who, and why?

The adventure collects the three Robins - Dick Grayson as Batman, Tim Drake as Red Robin, and Damian Wayne as Robin - along with the Cassandra Cain, the Batgirl currently stationed by Bruce Wayne in Hong Kong, to stop this terrorist before more of Gotham's historic buildings are destroyed.

The story jumps from the 19th century when Gotham was being built to the present day to explain the actions and it was great to see a young Gotham and see how the city came into its gothic look. The new villain in this book, "the Architect", has a steampunk look, something a lot of comics are doing these days, and looks very cool. I'm enjoying these stories of the young heroes of Gotham more and more and think that Bruce Wayne can safely retire with these guys taking care of things. That said, the book shows the difference between Wayne's Batman and Grayson's in the lack of knowledge Grayson currently has about the city he's supposed to be protecting. Its touches like that that makes for a more engrossing read.

Also included is a story about the Night Runner of Paris and how he comes across Bruce Wayne/Batman and is recruited into Batman Inc., to become the Batman of Paris. The story contained political elements that I thought DC could've avoided as they showed a contemporary France with its racial and cultural issues in full view, but they included it and I thought that was a very ballsy move. The Batman of Paris is very cool too and Batman Inc is shaping up to be a tremendous concept.

One side-note though - the book lists Scott Snyder and Kyle Higgins under "story" and Higgins under "dialogue" so I don't know whether Higgins wrote the script and Snyder wrote the outline with Higgins but it seems like an odd distinction. Anyway, Snyder is quickly becoming one of the best Batman writers working today and for anyone who hasn't read "The Black Mirror" I highly recommend it.

"The Gates of Gotham" is a fine Batman story with plenty of action and mystery, as well as continuing to build the new Batman world strongly, subtly and in new inventive ways.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2016
A decent enough concept that Snyder would go on to refine and regurgitate in 2011 with the superior Batman: Court of Owls storyline. For my money I'd recommend that over this less polished tale; though neither is without flaw
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2012
Someone in Gotham is blowing up the bridges of the city and enacting some strange vengeance against the descendants of the families who built Gotham - the Elliotts, the Kanes, the Cobblepots, and the Waynes. But who, and why?

The adventure collects the three Robins - Dick Grayson as Batman, Tim Drake as Red Robin, and Damian Wayne as Robin - along with the Cassandra Cain, the Batgirl currently stationed by Bruce Wayne in Hong Kong, to stop this terrorist before more of Gotham's historic buildings are destroyed.

The story jumps from the 19th century when Gotham was being built to the present day to explain the actions and it was great to see a young Gotham and see how the city came into its gothic look. The new villain in this book, "the Architect", has a steampunk look, something a lot of comics are doing these days, and looks very cool. I'm enjoying these stories of the young heroes of Gotham more and more and think that Bruce Wayne can safely retire with these guys taking care of things. That said, the book shows the difference between Wayne's Batman and Grayson's in the lack of knowledge Grayson currently has about the city he's supposed to be protecting. Its touches like that that makes for a more engrossing read.

Also included is a story about the Night Runner of Paris and how he comes across Bruce Wayne/Batman and is recruited into Batman Inc., to become the Batman of Paris. The story contained political elements that I thought DC could've avoided as they showed a contemporary France with its racial and cultural issues in full view, but they included it and I thought that was a very ballsy move. The Batman of Paris is very cool too and Batman Inc is shaping up to be a tremendous concept.

One side-note though - the book lists Scott Snyder and Kyle Higgins under "story" and Higgins under "dialogue" so I don't know whether Higgins wrote the script and Snyder wrote the outline with Higgins but it seems like an odd distinction. Anyway, Snyder is quickly becoming one of the best Batman writers working today and for anyone who hasn't read "The Black Mirror" I highly recommend it.

"The Gates of Gotham" is a fine Batman story with plenty of action and mystery, as well as continuing to build the new Batman world strongly, subtly and in new inventive ways.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2015
I read a library copy of the paperback
The decision to choose the cover for this collection that they did was a big mistake, almost any other issue or variant cover was better – I wonder if readers are put off by the dull cover – if so it’s a great shame.
This is a classy collection.
Using the history of Gotham as a plot device, this shows the depth of involvement the writers give to Gotham itself as a character of its own.
This shows signs of where Court of Owls etc will grow from in the intricacies of story and characterisation that has made Batman books of late so successful.
The artwork here is wonderful, detailed and dynamic but some of the faces are strangely reminiscent of Disney’s 101 Dalmatians or Aristocats and the like, which I could not quite make fit the atmosphere.
The flashback scenes are well crafted but some of the people are just wrong. Tim Drake especially looks too young and too thin – I can allow some artistic license but it just doesn’t work well enough here although the depiction of the Gothic skyline and buildings of Gotham is gorgeous.
The Bat-team presented here is a good one.
Is it unique to see this combination of Batman (Dick Grayson ex-Nightwing), Red Robin (Tim Drake ex-Robin), Black Bat (Cassandra Cain ex-Batgirl) and Robin (Damian Wayne ex-assassin) teamed together?
They make an effective team and I would be quite happy to see more – especially once Dick accepts himself behind the cowl.
Gotham is like a member of the team itself here and seeing its early days is a joy.
There is an additional tale of the Nightrunner, billed as a Batman of Paris, France which whilst being fine enough, is not particularly unique or gripping and belongs better in a Batman Incorporated collection than here, the Gates of Gotham story should stand alone, proud and powerful.
Not quite reaching 5 stars I would still recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2012
Scott Snydner has got to be one of the best Batman writers around and Gates of Gotham just shows how great he is.

The story goes from 19th Centrury Gotham and present day Gotham to build a compelling Batman Detective Story.

Like Another reviewer said This and Court of Owls (currently reading the comics waiting for issue 7 to come out) also written by Scott Snyder are just out of this world and I urge any Batman fans to buy this
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2014
Purchased because I'm a huge fan of Snyder's work. It's a great parallel story between batman and the olden days of Gotham.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
Scott Snyder shows why he is becoming a current day comics legend. Great story and great art to back it up/
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2012
Gates of Gotham is an exciting new concept that paints a fitting picture of the history of Gotham. The idea in itself instantly attracted me and the fact Snyder's name was on the cover made this a definite purchase.

However, the story isn't really what you'd expect from Snyder- it isn't dark enough, gritty enough and the characters just don't really have enough depth. I realised that this book was co- written and it seems Snyder didn't have a great deal of input with the dialogue in this book. Perhaps maybe just an idea for the story. That's not to say it's a bad read, as I say the story is fairly good and is a must Batman fans as it populates another period on the Gotham timline. I think the main problem is, I read this book around the same time as The Black Mirror- which represents everything about Scott Snyder and Batman I instantly fell in love with in with that novel

The new villain it introduces, is again an interesting concept- just doesn't seem to have a great deal of reason to be acting how he's acting. Seems like more of an over the top tantrum he is acting upon through out, as pose to a deep rooted psychological problem or traumatising past. I understand the whole premise of Gotham dragging people down and bringing out the worst in them, but this character seemed too naive and friendly in the first place to ever realistically transform into the 'Architect'. I'll say no more as this may spoil the story a little.

The story reads well, it just doesn't excite as much you would expect. The artwork is fairly great for the most part- though some characters (Penguin) look a tiny bit like something that Jim Benson created. I'd still advise Batman fans to buy it none the less, even if just to fill in gaps from Gothams past.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
Great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)