Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



VINE VOICETOP 50 REVIEWERon 25 July 2015
.

(This review is for the Watchmen, International Edition – this is a nicely bound soft cover version the title)

If anything, Watchman is an examination of the history of the genre and purpose of the superhero: how readers connect to it, and what it means rationally. Moore stretches from fond parody to outright sedition, wrapping the once-simple genre in layers of meaning. This is a tale where he also constantly pushes its boundaries. Watchmen is unrepentant and unwavering in it delivery.

There are no real heroes here - for most Superhero narratives, up until the publication of this title, these Superhero comics were all usually built around wholly compassionate, venerable characters. They represent what people wish they were, and they do the things normal people wish they could do. It doesn't deliver on every level, it isn't perfect, but it contains so much that succeeds, and comes so close to fulfilling its promises that it would be almost crass to mention any failings.

Alan Moore is a great writer. He is not a great writer for comics; he is a great writer period, who happens to have made the graphic novel his medium. Watchmen is at times legendary, funny, scholarly, sad, exciting and intriguing. It is written for intelligent readers. The plot, at times, does sprawl - it is convoluted, and it spans generations with a large ensemble cast. What kept it together are the deeply personal narratives on various scales. This is a fun read. It is exciting. The artwork is truly sumptuous and coveys so much of the unwritten tale.

Read it. If someone sneers at you for reading, a comic book just ignore them.

.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2013
When people hear the term "graphic novel", most people will think of Watchmen as the most definitive superhero graphic novel. Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons built the Watchmen universe from pastiches of classic Charleton Comics characters, and produced a superhero story like no other.

The comic is set in an alternative universe where ordinary people have taken up superhero identities since the 1940s. The plot follows a handful of extraordinary people who once went on adventures as real-life superhero team "the Crime-Busters" until the re-elected Richard Nixon allowed a law banning vigilantism. In 1985, the insane anti-hero Rorschach investigates the murder of one of the Crime-Busters and uncovers a conspiracy that will unite them all. Meanwhile, the immortal, godlike superbeing Dr. Manhattan abandons Earth at the height of nuclear war with the USSR and romance blossoms between Nite Owl and Silk Spectre.

What makes the comic unique from regular publications is that Watchmen places the heroes in a more realistic, dark world. The heroes of the Watchmen universe are real people. They don't have super strength and flying powers, and they look ridiculous in their costumes because that's how they would look in real life. They're all psychologically troubled and empathetic. Underneath the capes and masks, they're just insecure people hopelessly trying to make the world a better place in a world ticking closer and closer to Armageddon.

Alan Moore's spectacular writing captures the realism of our would-be heroes and Dave Gibbons' art mimics the wonderful classic adventure fiction from 1950s comic periodicals. The comic truly earns its place as one of the most influential and extraordinary comics of all time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 March 2009
Watchmen takes a completely different turn from normal hero comics. Set in a time when the Cold War was on everyone's mind and people feared nuclear war, Watchmen shows how foolish the war was, as both Russia and America both build their armies and weaponry trying to build a more powerful bomb because if they didn't then the other side would.

Not only does Watchmen remind us of the fearful times during the Cold war, it also gives us a dark insight to the criminal world, which is mostly described by one of the masked vigilantes. Though this is usually a side of the world that people don't like to think about Alan Moore displays it with all the horrors that people try to hide from. You can't help but think that maybe the law is failing and that the police need to do more to help people, but it also shows that when people do make a stand to try to help that the people turn their backs on them, which I can't help but think would happen.

The Comedian is one of the stangest characters in the entire thing, at first you think him nothing more than a bigoted monster but the more you think about it the more you realise that he is a horrifying account of humanity at our worst moments. The book is well worth reading because there are so many different messages within it.

After reading both V for Vendetta and From Hell, I was looking forward to reading another of Alan Moore's works and Watchmen didn't disappoint. Great read and enjoyable plot.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 January 2013
i watched the film, and i loved it
it was brutal
it was thought provoking
its one i can watch time and time again

subseqently i had to get the graphic novel, to see where it had coem from
the novel and film, are very similar
with the novel having some more detail and minor difference in story

for those of you thinking why get this, when ive got the film
STOP THINKING THAT
ive read through a couple of times and this is well worth buying
the characters go through such development
i felt a connection to each and every one
i felt for their plight
it mad me think about the world, question morality
and see the difficulties the superheros would face

this is a classic, buy it
you wont regret it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2015
Far more detailed and layered than most external viewers (and those who saw the film) would give it credit for. Worth a read and then almost immediately thereafter, another read to tease out the details. Again, plenty of others will be more eloquent on the subject than I (although fanboyism can come across like overkill), but read it for the story, and don't worry unduly about the "superhero" aspects, and you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 December 2017
Superheroes, alternate reality, Richard Nixon. This graphic novel has them all. Well worth a try if you're new to graphic novels as the story is mature and very well written and is really elevated by the artwork.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 September 2014
I was thrilled to see that I could get this on my iPad as I am visually impaired and I can't read graphic novels. The kindle app has limited magnification of the panels leaving the ipad to do the rest of the magnifying which is not really a satisfactory solution. There is nothing wrong with the novel though and other family members can see it fine so I can 't really mark the novel down as I know it's a classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2017
The glue that connects the pages to the spine can crack easily but the pages will never come of the spine because it’s seen binded. The spines still quite bad though since it’s glued but other that, this is probably the best way to get into watchmen. An unparalleled amount of depth that went into only 12 issues and a mystery that’ll keep you at the edge of your seat the hole time makes for an AMAZING experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 July 2013
This comic is a believable version of superheroes (without any powers) who fought crime until the emergence of the worlds one and only super powered being.
This book takes place in an alternate timeline from around the second world war to 1985.
Although the film was pretty well done (understandable they had to cut out a lot of the secondary storylines and slightly rewrite the main one or it would have ended up 6+ hours long) this book is better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2018
A masterpiece. Plain and simple. P.S. This edition includes interesting excerpts that are an informative accompaniment to the main story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)