Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 10 February 2012
This second volume is where we really see the series find its feet and we launch fully into the weird and wonderful world of Spider Jerusalem's with a tale about humans wanting to turn into sentient gas clouds, the harrowing story of the cryogenically unfrozen, synthetic reservations where you could choose to live in a past civilisation, and finally a three part story of Spider's ex-wife's revenge.

All of the stories have the verbal acrobatics and freewheeling genius level writing of Warren Ellis in every panel helped along with Darick Robertson's superb artwork. All of the stories have elements of originality, humour, and artfully expressed bile through the increasingly more interesting figure of the most hateful man on the planet, Spider Jerusalem. The book serves to introduce the reader more fully into this world where the grotesque and comical elements of society converge joyfully on the page and shows the reader that in this series anything can happen.

The three part story that closes this book, "Freeze Me with your Kiss", is fantastic and worth buying this book for alone. Spider's ex-wife (a frozen head) manages to organise a hit on him before she froze herself so Spider goes on the run from a squad of assassins who hate the outside world. Throw in a headless child bomb, an allusion to a war against France where the loser lost the ability to speak French, ever, and a castrated police bulldog with brain damage who only lives to murder Spider, and its amazing how much brilliance Ellis and Robertson cram into a short story and turn it into pure reading gold.

If you've never read "Transmetropolitan" go back and read the first book then dive headfirst into this second one. I'm re-reading the series and can tell you every book is worth reading, and "Lust for Life" is Spider Jerusalem at his filthiest best.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2013
This could be Ellis' easiest gig. He simply indulges in his tipple of choice and rants incoherently about anything, and then it gets turned into a comic. Genius! Or it could be Gonzo life writing like Hunter S. Thompson or a stream-of-consciousness epic like James Joyce's Ulysses. Add to that a grimy future composed of all the ideas too weird to fit any mainstream title and voila. You the reader must decide if the Emperor of comics is clothed or au naturel.

There are several single issue stories that do look like soapbox of the week but are nevertheless entertainingly told. Then follows a three-part story with plenty of action and drama. There are some great ideas, world building and character development. You are also beginning to warm to our favourite anti-hero.

The art is great and despite being clear as a bell has lots of anarchic energy. There is clever composition, eye catching angles and several hidden jokes to be found in the background. Action is handled very well and you get a great sense of depth and motion. No matter how bizarre the future becomes it is all depicted in a realistic way.

You can easily see why this gained a cult following and look forward to more adventures with a homicidally cantankerous protagonist. Thumbs Up!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2012
Two-stars because our hero's repellent, or four for the satire (car ad: The Ibuzu Extension - Make it feel BIGGER)? I went with four. Monstrous spawn of DC, Mad Magazine and 'head' comics of my youth, but there's plenty worse out there I don't doubt, and it's miles better than the mindless action comics of yore and compared to almost all TV it makes you (forces you to?) think. See also my assessment over on amazon.com
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2013
This could be Ellis' easiest gig. He simply indulges in his tipple of choice and rants incoherently about anything, and then it gets turned into a comic. Genius! Or it could be Gonzo life writing like Hunter S. Thompson or a stream-of-consciousness epic like James Joyce's Ulysses. Add to that a grimy future composed of all the ideas too weird to fit any mainstream title and voila. You the reader must decide if the Emperor of comics is clothed or au naturel.

There are several single issue stories that do look like soapbox of the week but are nevertheless entertainingly told. Then follows a three-part story with plenty of action and drama. There are some great ideas, world building and character development. You are also beginning to warm to our favourite anti-hero.

The art is great and despite being clear as a bell has lots of anarchic energy. There is clever composition, eye catching angles and several hidden jokes to be found in the background. Action is handled very well and you get a great sense of depth and motion. No matter how bizarre the future becomes it is all depicted in a realistic way.

You can easily see why this gained a cult following and look forward to more adventures with a homicidally cantankerous protagonist. Thumbs Up!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2003
A mixed bag of Transmet stories here, as we build up both Spider as a character & his assistant Channon, and also more fully realise the media-saturated & soulless futuristic world of the City. Here we see:
* Spider Jerusalem take on the President in a public toilet.
* Spider investigating TV and becoming a broken man... ("Coming up next on the Single Male Virgin Channel...")
* Spider visiting a religious convention, with a look at the many bizzare religions of the future. ("My life was nothing before I castrated myself.")
* A look at the Foglets, an incredibly cool and thought-provoking sci-fi concept.
* Spider visiting the Reservations, areas of the city simulating past cultures.
* Spider on the run from the whole city after getting a death threat in the form of a petition signed by 500 and after having his ex-wife's head stolen from cryogenics. ("I have given this considerable thought and have decided I don't give two tugs of a dead dog's c**k what you do with my EX-wife and you can have her.")
* And best of all, the deadly serious and emotional "A Cold Place", telling the story of the Revivals- people from previous eras ressurected in the future. It's not a pretty site, and a vicious attack on our culture's willingness to dump our past in the bin.
You shall buy this...
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
Yep gets better following Vol 1, with a great multi issue story towards the end.
I'm pretty much going to stop reviewing these unless one of them turns out to be crap. Which looks unlikely at the moment
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2016
After getting to know spider in vol 1 this is a great follow up. It feels like we are thrown into his life as a journalist, it's bizzare and bleak but utterly brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2005
'Let me say now that with your history of drug abuse it was conceivable that you could produce a child with no head...'
Having established Jerusalem in volume 1, and shown us the city he exists in and how disturbingly similar to our own it is, Ellis now takes us on a walking tour of all the ways it's different.
All these are just believeable - most likely because of the easy way in which Ellis describes it. Spider tells us what foglets are without turning it into a science lecture, and gives us the horrors of being revived after centuries of cryogenic freezing without making it mawkish.
This is quiet work of genius. Enjoy the peace before the real story kicks in next volume...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2017
Quality service quality product!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2015
great book and well packaged
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse