Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
8
4.5 out of 5 stars


on 8 July 2017
The spoiler is in the title. The book makes much of something that is disclosed before you have read a single page.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2000
I have recently finished reading Whipping Star by Frank Herbert and like ninety percent of his works it was amazing! The depth of characters ( McKie, Bildoon, Cheo and Mliss Abnethe) can only be compared with the amazing quality with which Mr Herbert crafted Dune and its sequels. The story itself is set around the mysterious Calebans, a race which little is known about. When one of there spacecraft/homes crash lands, Busab's ( Bureau of Sabotage) finest agent is dispatched to the scene, what he finds out could end almost all sentient life. I wish that there were more writers of Mr Herberts quality, Intellect and imagination - His works are a piece of art , he is dearly missed. Not only do i recommend this Frank Herbert novel but all Frank Herbert novels.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
Whipping Star takes some seemingly outrageous concepts and turns them into a believable and enjoyable story. The main characters are very likable and the dialogue and humor will have you smiling while reading it. Somehow the fate of the universe is almost treated in a comic way, due to Mckie, the main character and his bumbling conversations with Fanny Mae. In this sense there are almost shades of hitchhikers guide to the galaxy. It suits this book well. And I would say it is best to go in to this looking for a fun and humorous book, rather than expecting too many serious and in-depth psychological reflections. There is a serious back drop to the story that makes it believable, but it is the humour along the way that makes this particular story so good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2016
Read this decades ago and still have the paperback. Was almost hoping I could get it on my kindle as I didn't want to read a 40 year old book. Sometimes the images you had at the time of reading come back to you and you want to dive back into the worlds that Sci-fi writers give you.
Acceptance is the only requisite apart from a smattering of cosmic and scientific knowledge as today in 2016 we are using stuff that would have been considered mind boggling when this book came out.
Secondly, the Green Brain would make a great movie as we can use CGI so well it is hard to tell the difference nowadays.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2010
Frank Herbert never disappoints (OK - The Green Brain is a bit zzZZZZ) - this is a great introduction to the even better Dosadi Experiment The Dosadi Experiment. I must confess that I read Dosadi before read this - and I think that was a wise move.

This is a short book that sets up and interesting premise -- Stars can be inhabited by living creatures. What the book does really well, is get you to buy into such a leap of imagination.

If these two books had been combined into one, longer story I feel that the result would have been a more satisfactory outcome.

By both and relive the hay day of early SciFi

Glen Gilchrist
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
Enjoyed the book but took some getting my head round the theories/storylines discussed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2016
Strange (in a good sense) bit of Fiction by the auther of DUNE
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2015
A terrific story which should be on Kindle
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse