Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



VINE VOICEon 3 September 2017
For a freelancer or small businessman, this book is worth reading, but, unlike some other reviewers, I'd be very wary of treating it like a bible.

The evidence it presents is anecdotal; there's no real depth of research behind it. So sure, the author cites many businesses that have thrived from niche specialisations, but what about those that have failed using the same approach? Or those who have thrived from making their wider skills a virtue?

One of the main issues I have with it is from my own experience, both as a manager and a householder: over-specialisation is often a severe problem. (Do you know the old Flanders & Swann song, "The Gasman Cometh"? Check it out on youtube.There's still a lot of this about! )

I worked for an American company for several years, in which American management despaired over British over-specialisation. To give a concrete example: UK software developers who knew everything about their speciality, e.g. Java or Oracle, but were clueless about the world beyond, and could not understand how "their" technology interfaced with others, or roll their sleeves up and do software testing, training or work directly with end users when required.

One very successful local business I know differentiates themselves from the numerous plumber, carpenters and central heating engineers by their versatility - you have a problem with your shower or toilet, they fix it, even if it requires a mix of carpentry, plumbing an plastering expertise. (Wonder if their owner has read this book? Would be interesting.) And there are others I regularly use whose "niche" is just being very good, reliable and trustworthy - all the marketing in the world is no substitute for these.

Having said that, it's worth a read but please keep your critical faculties switched on while doing so!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 April 2014
I found this book a really excellent step by step guide for professionals seeking to develop expert status. While it contains very good advice for strategic planning, it also provides very specific useful tactical tips on exactly how to go about things like networking and blogging in a very targeted way. (I mention these specifically as I find that they can often be ineffective time wasters if done without clearly focused objectives.)

I found the sections on publishing and speaking particularly interesting as the authors have obviously done it successfully and they share their practical experience openly and generously.

This book provides a blueprint for practice and personal development for professionals. The trick (as always) is likely to be in the implementation of the very many good ideas contained in it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 February 2015
An excellent and comprehensive guide to becoming the go-to expert in your field. This book covers a massive amount of ground and is packed full of invaluable ideas, along with resources and a complete strategy for implementing the various topics. Any professional adviser who wants to become the go-to expert in his or her profession should buy a copy of this book, read it, re-read it and make extensive notes. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 November 2014
I haven't been this engaged in a book for a long time. Not only is it really readable and useful but you can download a really helpful workbook to write all your learning and plans into so you can really make great changes in your strategy. And the workbook is entirely free!
Then, if I wasn't already chuffed to bits, the author gives you her email address through which you can ask direct questions and get even more fuel for your plans. Bloomin marvellous!
I like it, can you tell?
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2015
I read a lot of business books and this is up there among the best of them. It's highly practical, with step by step instructions of what to do to put your learning into practice. This is not a shortcut to success book but I'm sure with disciplined action this book will help you to build your profile and achieve the kind of results you want.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 October 2016
Seemed like regurgitation from other similar books written by the same author. Nothing I felt here was particular new or really useful.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 March 2014
One of the best business books I have read - practical, thorough, logical. It has loads of to do lists, ideas for further reading and resources as well as web-based activities to support you. You are not left to wonder how to put it into action.

I found it neither arrogant nor patronising, based on solid evidence and experience (great for the sceptical lawyer in me). I will keep coming back to it to build my own brand.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 May 2016
Having a personal branding and standing out against your competitors are critical for success in business. This book will guide you to being the ‘go-to’ person in your niche. It will also show you how to use the power of your brand and reputation to amplify your business networking success.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2015
A great and practical book that all consultants should read!

Full of down to earth advice, simple to understand and easy to apply a true roadmap to success

Peter Roper co author of best selling book And Death Came Third - The definitive guide to networking and speaking in public
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 May 2016
I thought this book was very helpful in the way it helped me focus on excellent tips and techniques to upgrade my consultancy work. The authors are real experts and walk their own talk, which is important for me
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)