Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
85
4.1 out of 5 stars
Three Men on the Bummel
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.09+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 8 August 2013
A sequel/companion to 3 men in a Boat, this is just as funny. I love the observational humour and the decidedly un-PC comments throughout. It's one of those books you want to read again and again. You will laugh out loud in places. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
After reading Three Men in a Boat, I wanted to try the sequel. It isn't as witty as the first book, but it is a good, funny read. J and Harris both have wives and once you get your head around this, the book is far more enjoyable. Would recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
Cycling across 19th century Germany provides as much amusement and opportunities for the three of them to get themselves into scrapes as pulling along the Thames.

If you liked Three Men in a Boat then you will love this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 5 April 2001
Three Men in a Boat is one of my all time favourite books. When I read it I was banned from the living room for laughing too much. It made me laugh until the tears ran down my face. This is much the same. It took me a long time to read the sequel in the fear that it wouldn't be as good, but it was just as funny and I just wish there were more.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2015
Loved 3 men in a boat but this sequel has not stood the test of time. comments about Germany would now be seen as politically incorrect and narrow minded. There were some very funny sections but it was hard to finish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2015
After 3 Men in a boat that was always going to be a tough ask to follow. Centred largely around poking fun at the Germans rather than their haphazard chaotic approach to life I am for the large part disappointed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
If you liked Three Men in a Boat, you'll like this sequel. It's not quite as good as Boat (hence 4 stars) but still a thoroughly enjoyable read with more of the gentle humour and slapstick of Jerome K Jerome
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
A good chuckle, and better written than "Three men in a boat". Seems quite modern, despite being a century old. Jerome's jobs observations on the German nation are rendered poignant by history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2015
People are right to say that it hasn't quite the charm of Three Men in a Boat, but it's still JKJ giving us his kind of fun and interest. An insight into the Germany of those far-off days.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
This book is unknown to many readers and although it not as novel as the better known Three Men in a Boat it is in the same vain and a good companion and makes me smile on a long journey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here