Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
138
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 August 2010
Watching this was a pure nostalgia trip for me as I can only remember watching it on tv when I was about 6 years old one Christmas time. I could only vaguely recollect one or two scenes of the film but it is a joy to own on dvd some 30 odd years later. Jack Lemmon, physically unrecognisable in this film because of the great job done by the make-up dept, plays the Dick Dastardly role with Peter Falk his sidekick, played in the cartoon series by a dog called Mutley! Natalie Wood is gorgeous in the film which probably inspired the cartoon Penelope Pitstop. Tony Curtis plays his part of Lemmon's nemesis very well but for me, Lemmon, as he often has done in his career, steals the show with brilliant over-the-top humour.

It has great picture and sound quality, so if you want a film that is Silly with a capital "S", a great cast of acting, a huge food fight, a real polar bear and fun all the way from start to finish, this could be for you. Play it at Christmas time; the kids and the kid in you will love it.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2004
THE GREAT RACE may not be a masterpiece--but it is a perfect choice for a cold and rainy night: stylish, frothy, and often flatly hilarious, it makes for "comfort viewing" at its best.
One of the movie's several charms is that it draws heavily from Victorian cliches that still linger in the public mind, gives them a gentle comic spin, and then drops them into the tale of an early 1900s auto race from New York to Paris by way of Siberia. Add to this a heap of favorite character actors, a big budget, flamboyant period costumes, and the biggest pie fight ever filmed, and you have a movie where there is always something to enjoy on the screen.
The great thing about THE GREAT RACE are the performances, which are very broad but endowed with a sly humor. The comedy accolades here go to Jack Lemmon and Peter Falk as the notorious Dr. Fate and his bumbling sidekick Max--wonderful bits of acting that will have you hooting with laughter in every scene--and Dorothy Provine scores memorably in a cameo as Lily Olay, the bombshell singer who presides over the most rootin'-tootin' saloon this side of the Pecos.
But every one, from Tony Curtis and the lovely Natalie Wood down to such cameo performers as Vivian Vance, get in plenty of comic chops as the film drifts from one outrageous episode to another: suffergettes crowding a newspaper, the biggest western brawl imaginable, polar bears, explosions, daredevil antics, and a subplot lifted from THE PRISONER OF ZENDA agreeably crowd in upon each other. True, the film does seem over-long and may drag a bit in spots, but it never drags for very long, and it's all in good fun--and the production values and memorable score easily tide over the bare spots.
The DVD bonuses aren't anything to write home about, and the film has not been restored per se--the color seems a bit faded here and there--but the print is remarkably clean and the widescreen format is an essential. This would be an excellent selection for a family movie night--or for any evening when you're alone and feeling a bit blue. Break out the popcorn, curl up on you sofa, and... as Dr. Fate would say... "Push the button, Max!"
GFT, Amazon Reviewer
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2015
Region Free import from USA has a wonderfully sharp and detailed image on Blu Ray framed in cinemascope 21:9 with DTS Master 5.1 sound to match. Blake Edward's tour de force comedy starring Tony Curtis and long-time screen partner, Jack Lemon ably assisted by Natalie Wood as a fiesty reporter will leave a smile on your face long after the closing credits. And Blake gives you a spin on "The Prisoner of Zenda" story as an added bonus. Recommended - and this is the version to buy!
33 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2005
What needs to be said about this film? It is a classic. Jack Lemmon and Peter Falk make superb comic villians and must have given rise to the idea of Dastardly and Muttley. The custard pie fight is the biggest you're ever likely to see. In all, an excellent fun filled family film that can be watched time and again. Now the interesting stuff .....
I bought a Region 1 DVD copy from bestpricecds via Amazon. Yes it is NTSC but it plays quite happily on both my Region-Free DVD player and my Region 2 player. Ummmm! Maybe this is a Region 0 DVD as other Region 1 DVDs will not play on my Region 2 player!
22 comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2003
This has to be one of the funniest films ever made. I never fail to laugh at something that I have perhaps not noticed before or have merely forgotten; but whenever I watch the film I get real pleasure. Jack Lemmon, Tony Curtis & Natalie Wood are the stars along with all the cars/stunts/songs - this is a real "feel good" film. They don't make 'em like this now!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2003
I saw the movie at the age of 15, almost daily singing along to Natalie Wood on guitar! :)
I had been looking for a copy of the movie for 4-5 years when I finally found it at Amazon. It's a classic with capital C, funny and unforgetable. Tony and Natalie look amazing and Jack proves that he is one of the best comedians ever!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
Bluray video and audio quality is superb and its region free. it comes under the excellent WB archive collection which never ceases to amaze with the qaulity. The Film itself is star studded, but a little dull. The 3 stars are for the film, The print would be 5 stars. Would still recommend it though
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
Excellent film very funny and good star casting. Very funny and one of the best 'Slapstick' movies to be made, apparently, this film cost the most at the time to make and contains the most elaborate cakes and cream cakes to be made just for a memorable 'Pie fight with Jack Lemmon,Tony Curtis,Natalie Wood all getting well covered and very funny. Excellent film to watch and for any collection a must have.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2011
A classic comedy platform for Hollywood 'A' lister's; Tony Curtis, Natalie Wood, Jack Lemmon & Peter Falk. The story may not be the most original, but the script and performances stand the test of time well. Many memorable scenes, including 'the great pie fight' - when Curtis manages to remain unmarked, whilst all around is pie flying mayhem, when Curtis, Wood, Lemmon & Falk, are stranded on an ever reducing iceberg, but which somehow seems to keep both vehicles out of the sea untill they meet dry land, and an Errol Flynn'esque type sword fight in a castle, in which Curtis is able to demonstrate his athletic prowess, and skills with a blade. Great entertainment for a few hours, on a rainy afternoon!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2016
I waited years to find a copy of this and within a week I found three copies. The UK/USA versions for some reasons are very difficult to find and, as a result, are very high priced. So this German copy (with English language option) was a necessary compromise. Only the title and cover notes are in German, so it's a small price to pay. Tony Curtis, Natalie Wood and Tony Curtis star in this wacky comedy about a road race across Europe. It spurned the children's animations "Whacky Races" and "Dick Dastardly" and is just as entertaining. My children just loved it, even the soppy bits of romance. It's a fast, snappy and zany comedy at its best and definitely one I watch every now and then on a rainy day. Well worth the money and of 4 star entertainment value in my opinion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse