Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
29
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 September 2012
This is a very basic book about renting out properties in the UK. I was expecting something more specific. There are no clear laws/bills mentioned, no clear terms and timeframes on what to do, no real values in the "tricks" just a lot of stories and it looks more like a gossip book than a real book. I wouldn't buy it again. Only value are the links to where to find the information you need...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 January 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
At a whopping 378 pages and 25 chapters, this book covers virtually every aspect that you are likely to need to know when renting your property. It provides information to help you decide whether you want to be a landlord and, if so, whether you want to deal with the renting yourself or employ an agent.

If you decide to deal with the property letting yourself, the step by step advice is written in a very easy to understand way, unlike many legal works and is an extremely useful reference aide. There is advice on how to deal with problem tenants, including eviction and the court action required, financial management and safety and insurance.

There are sections dealing with money and taxes, however as the rules relating to these seem to change constantly, I wouldn't rely on a book anyway but would seek professional up to date advice.

Lots of good advice and tips - definitely a book to buy if you are considering becoming a landlord.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
I was fed up with the incompetence of my local estate agents AND the devious ways they tried to take 25% of the monthly rent of my mother's old house, so I got this super yellow book. Now the house is making money just for me! If you're motivated to try being a landlord for the first time, this is just the thing to give you all the encouragement you'll need,
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Whilst I did find this book useful it's certainly not the end all on the subject - it's a useful book to give you the initial brainstorm towards renting out but it's certainly not the definitive answer. In the end a quick word with a solicitor/estate agent/CAB saved me a lot of time and anguish. In short - the first step towards renting out but certainly not the last.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
I knew I wanted to let and had to I had to move and let my property or in a couple of months be in debt with mounting costs of moving
for a new job. I sat in my apartment with belongings untouched thinking about letting and knowing its impending and yet not doing anything about it. The easiest way is to start packing empty the apartment, clean and ready the place and hand the work to an agent, you might just do this but it doesn't escape the fact you will be the landlord and have responsibilities. I worked a few things out for myself , read on the internet and then spoke to people on gum-tree and the customer services e.g. electric and council tax who actually gave good advice. When the book came I read through the first few chapters and it sets you for letting and gives the information you need and the tips and what needs to be covered. Half the book if mastered read a couple of times, will give you the knowledge and tools to let properly to back this with the deliverables there are template letters and forms and by the end of this you will have enough knowledge to do your first letting or decide to go with the agent as it maybe. By this stage you will have confidence in the elements of the property you would like to protect making sure you have the inventory and even the knowledge to avoid bogus agents. The rest of the books gives you much more information about once you become a landlord and consolidating your experience.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
A good beginners book covering the basics particularly if you decide to manage the property yourself rather than using a managing agent. I chose to go with a fully manged letting service in the end having read how much time and effort was involved in self management. The book help me to decide on the type of property, location and type of tenant I wanted. It also helped me have the type of productive business meetings with estate agents and letting agents that are essential if you want to be successful.
In short
As a beginner, do your research, do your figures and be clear about your goals before you approach your purchase and you will be taken seriously.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 February 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
With legal complications, maintenance nightmares and difficult tenants, being a landlord can often be a difficult challenge at the best of times. With margins currently tight, this guide takes you through in true dummies style everything you need to know to skip the property manager and rent out you home problem-free. From selecting a tenant and creating a contract to marketing you property and tackling rent - the book has it all.

If you've seen a "For Dummies" book before, then you'll understand what you're getting yourself into when you approach this one. It gives great advice, tips and tricks for each step of the process. Particularly useful in this one are the Appendices which give key contacts in the first instance and templates for letters, contracts and other paperwork to copy. The book also deals well with the legal side of things laying down the law in an easy to interpret format which ensures you know what you can and cannot do as a landlord. In the final few sections tax help is provided to ensure you maximise the property income alongside tips for dealing with niche markets such as student tenants or alternatively housing associations.

There's little doubt that all the information found in this book could also be found elsewhere, but having it collected into a single easy to read package would be valuable to any landlord. This UK-centric 3rd edition covers everything you ever needed to know - if you are or are considering renting out your property, be sure to read this first.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 April 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I have read a number of books about buying and renting property including those by Ken McElroy. Those books were excellent in their content, but had the potential to be confusing and overwhelming in the amount of information they held and the way that information was delivered. (Additionally they were about America which doesn't help much when dealing with English legalities.)

This book I found to be particularly clear because it deals with matters in chronological order and is simple to read and understand. It has helped unscramble some of the information I have in my head and switch on a few lightbulbs.

It also has, what seems to me, to be a new feature of 'true stories' which relate short anecdotes about other people's experiences. I like this feature as it makes things more real as well as providing a little light relief at key points.

This book does not just deal with the rental side, but starts off with how to get a property in the first place either through default or deliberation. It is very well rounded.

I would recommend that this book be read first before any other in order to set a good base of information to which you can add with other books.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2013
Book is laid out in a user friendly format, as for most books in this series, and is easy to read and understand. Provides very useful pointers and tips and the Pros and Cons are clearly highlighted and explained.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 June 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is another in the 'Dummies' series and as far as size, layout and style goes - it follows all the usual criteria.

The book is split into 8 parts that are then split into further chapters. These parts are: 1. So You Want to be a Landlord?, 2. Renting Your Property, 3. The Brass Tacks of Managing Rentals, 4. Techniques and Tools for Managing, 5. Money, Money, Money!, 6. Only for the Daring, 7. The Part of Tens and finally 8. Appendices. There is also an introduction and fairly comprehensive index.

At a little shy of 400 pages, this is a fairly comprehensive book. There is plenty of text but it's all written in a style that makes it easy to read and never overwhelming. I also liked the style of the writing. It was fairly jargon free and upbeat while still maintaining an honesty that makes you sure you'll go into renting with your eyes open.

At first I tried reading this book from start to finish but quickly found that it was perhaps better to dip in and out of chapters as and when they were required. For example, the chapter about getting and keeping tenants comes before the one on your responsibilities (regarding safety, insurance etc) and both come before the one about raising the finances to purchase your property for rent. Regardless, everything seems to naturally sit well in each part/chapter so it's fine that you need to move around to get the best advice dependent on where you are in the rental process.

My long term goal is to buy property to rent out and this book really opened my eyes to things that I hadn't even considered (such as taxes, HMOs etc). It laid out everything that I would need to consider in a way which I can always refer back to when the time comes. I also really liked the inclusion of forms at the end of the book and these can also be downloaded which is a bonus.

If you're thinking about or planning to rent out your property then I would recommend this book to you. It has everything you need to know in one place and in a format that makes it as simple as it can be. 4 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)