Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
97
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 11 December 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a superb book.

Having not read any of the other publications of `books for dummies' I was expecting a very basic guide, with limited content, how wrong I was. The authors have more than 70 years bee keeping experience between them, and their passion for their bees and their management is evident on every page.

The 300 pages form a very comprehensive overview of all aspects of bee keeping with a focus on beginners starting up. The information is well organised with a summary of contents and detailed contents, there are B&W photos, sections marked with tips, warnings and buzz words. Topics include the global importance of bees as pollinators, bee anatomy, what type, numbers and size of hive(s) to have and where to site it/them. How to procure bees and load the hive, hive maintenance, bee problems/diseases, pollen rich plants to grow in the garden, and equipment you may need to extract the honey.

The authors put into perspective the time and commitment that is required. It is stated that in their experience the bee keeper is the only person, likely to be stung, and not their family or neighbours, and that the risks of being stung are reduced by choosing a peaceful natured variety of bee, which are handled respectfully, and by wearing appropriate protective clothing when examining the hive.

The book is really hands on practical- for example if you do get stung scrape the stinger from the skin to reduce the amount of venom that gets into the system, and smoke the area to mask the pheromone aroma that may alert other bees to sting. There is a lot of information concerning how to get your bees to multiply, and raising your own queen bee. The authors mention getting in touch with your local beekeeping association and I think it would be very useful to see an expert under take the activities described in the book before trying them yourself.

After explaining all the work the bees under take in producing the honey it seems I little mean to take it from them and I smiled at the story of a bee keeper who collected the parts from the hive containing the honey, put them in their house for later extraction, and then took the family out for the afternoon leaving a window open. When they returned they found the bees had been in and taken all the honey back !

Even if you don't plan to keep bees there is lots of interesting information in the book for example- queens and worker bees start the same from a fertilised egg, but at day 3 in their development to become a queen the larvae must be fed only royal jelly. Larvae which become workers are fed pollen and honey. Queens and workers are female, drones are male and the latter develop from unfertilized eggs. I suggest you purchase the book to find out the details of the virgin queens mating flights!

Over all highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
A good starter tome from which to move on to more detailed reference works. I read it from cover to cover, so I now have a better overall understanding of the art of beekeeping.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
My teenage daughter wants to keep bees. As we live in a rented house, I gave her this to read so that she can prepare herself for when the day comes that we have our own place and can seriously think about having a bee hive. She has had her head stuck in this for a fortnight now and is absolutely enthralled. She tells me that it is very user friendly, that it explains everything in detail, but that it is understandable detail and the layout means that it is easy to use as a manual as well as a book to read and inwardly digest. She is thoroughly enjoying reading it and keeps popping her head up to regale us with bee facts, and is discussing it with us in a way that makes me think the information is actually going in. She hasn't been put off keeping bees, and is infinitely better informed than she was before, so I would definitely recommend this as the perfect book for a beginner.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2012
A useful book which breaks down the various sections into manageable parts.

Easy to read & the sort of book that can be 'dipped into', to find the required subject without having to read the whole book cover to cover, although I'll admit that I have!!!

Well worth the money for novices, such as myself, or others just wishing to brush up on odd sections.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
Everything you need to know in easy to understand language. Fascinating bees!
We should all appreciate bees more and make our gardens bee friendly.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 June 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Beekeeping for Dummies has a feast of information amongst its pages. It takes you step by step through the world of beekeeping, with clear, concise illustrations and text. The authors attempt to squeeze in as much information to cover almost any conceivable situation!

The contents are laid out in easily navigatable chapters, with important points in bold face. The book spans your initial investigation into beekeeping, setting up, troubleshooting and necessary tasks throughout the year. They have also included a few recipes, some projects to try, and empty pages at the back to make notes. The glossary is especially helpful. The text can be overwhelming at times due to being so comprehensive, so may require a bit of time to absorb it all.

Great book. This is the next best thing to having an experienced beekeeper at hand.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 November 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Fantastic book full of everything you would need to know about bees and their care. I want to keep bees in the near future so this book has helped me one step nearer to my goal. Beekeeping for dummies takes you through from life inside the honey bee itself, to getting your first golden harvest, about the equiptment you need and how to locate you hive.This super book even gives you recipes to make with you golden crop. I have several of these books for Dummies, and they are a wealth of good information, packed full of the stuff you want to know, not filled with things you don't need to know. If you want to know how to feed bees or recognise Varroa mite then this is a book you can't do without, I have learnt so much from this book, it has become a really useful companion,I feel one step nearer to getting my own hive.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
Good Initial book for the beginner, even children could get to grips with this one - you will undoubted need a comprehensive text but it does give you the essentials that you must consider and is a nice lightweight read into the subject
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 14 December 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Whilst that particular chapter has been curiously omitted this book excellently covers everything else extremely helpfully for beginners/intermediates.
The contents are as follows:

Introduction

Part 1 - Getting Hooked on Honey Bees

Chapter 1 - To Bee or not to Bee?
A good chapter dealing with the benefits of beekeeping, costs and equipment, stings, responsibility and consideration etc

Chapter 2 - Life inside the Honey Bee Hive
Biology, life cycle, language etc of bees

Part 2 - Starting your adventure

Chapter 3 - Locating your Hive

Chapter 4 - Stocking up on Basic Bee Equipment

Chapter 5 - Obtaining and Hiving your Bees

Part 3 - Looking Inside Your Hive

Chapter 6 - Opening Your Hive

Chapter 7 - What to Look for when You're Inspecting

Chapter 8 - Your Work throughout the Seasons
Covers Summer, Autumn, Winter and Spring with 'to-do' lists for each season.

Part 4 - Common Problems and Simple Solutions

Chapter 9 - Heading off Potential Problems
Swarming (yes!) missing Queen, 'robbing frenzies'!

Chapter 10 - Treating Diseases and Considering Colony Collapse Disorder

Chapter 11 - Buzz Off! Dealing with Honey Bee Pests
Various mites, moths and ants etc

Chapter 12 - Raising your own Queens

Part 5 - Sweet Rewards

Chapter 13 - Getting Ready for the Golden Harvest

Chapter 14 - Honey, I'm Home: Harvest Time

Part 6 - The Part of Tens

Chapter 15 - Ten Fun Things to Do with Bees
Nce chapter. Wildlife gardening, brewing mead, making candles from beeswax etc.

Chapter 16 - Ten Frequently Asked Questions about Bee Behaviour

Chapter 17 - Ten Delicious Honey Recipes

Appendix: A Helpful Resource
Includes Honey Bee websites, Bee organisations, equipment supply places etc.

It's a really brilliant guide for anyone considering taking the plunge. It will have the affect of putting some people off as there is an awful lot to it but that is still a valuable lesson to learn. Can't fault it at all, really nicely written and compiled.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
Excellent reference book which is also easy to read and understand. At least as good as the standard books and easier to find particular bits of info than one of the straight narrative books.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)