Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 February 2014
This is great...me being a silver surfer finds computer jargon and new programs difficult so changing to Windows 8.1 was horrendous for me. This book and video has made life so much easier as the wording is easy to understand. I don't hesitate recommending this to everyone old or young...go for it!
0Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2014
This is a great book for those who are new to Windows 8.1. I bought a new laptop (Inspiron) because there was no instruction manual with it. The book and DVD are a big help. Everything is explained and in sections. There are 7 parts in total, all broken down to 23 Chapters, including how to work with Program's, Apps and files, Getting Things don't on the t'internet, customising and upgrading, movies, photos and videos, etc. I bought this new for about £12.75, but to buy elsewhere was £17.00, so you are saving a few quid.
The only thing minor complaint is that it took 9 days for delivery, but the order was from U.K.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2017
Bought new laptop with Windows 10. Afraid not too happy with 8?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
Very informative, now superseded by Window's 10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
No problems,arrived as stated
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
Helpful guide to Windows 8.1.
delivered promptly. DVD is useful.
It is helpful to be able to go to particular chapters to highlight areas of issue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
NOT USED YET
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
This edition of Windows, and being a pensioner, is so different to any other OS that this book is a lifeline.
Every aspect is explained in a one to one manner that I have had very few problems and I am working my way through and enjoying every moment.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
Just bought a new laptop which came with Windows 8. After all the bad press I was rather worried about it, and all at sea after many years of using XP. This book has helped me to get to grips with the operating system and I now think it is not as bad as many reviewers make out. Very helpful guide.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you are new to Windows 8 or 8.1, the book will answer most of your questions and give you LOTS of helpful advice. The author is open and fair in his criticisms of Windows 8/8.1 and tells you how to get round most of its shortcomings and design errors. Without this book, Windows 8 could easily drive you NUTS, as your years of Windows skills and experience don't seem to work any more. Andy Rathbone shows that this impression is not the whole truth.

First, I quickly learned how to avoid the tiled Start screen nearly all the time, and that's vital to know if you are using a desktop PC and mouse rather than a touchscreen device, and want to work from the Windows desktop. Then I learned where things are -- so many important parts of Windows 8 are hidden. They are not hard to do, just hard to find.

This is one of the best Dummies books, avoiding the lame humour (humor) and long-windedness that spoils many of the titles. Got a new computer with Windows 8? Then I think it's worth spending a few more pounds on this book. Of course, this is meant for intelligent computer users, not techies or IT support staff.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse