Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 February 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Good management is a very difficult skill. At one end of the scale you have the needs of an organisation, it's function, its profitability and viability to consider, while at the other you have the human element - in all it's diversity - to manage.

Endorsed by Sir Ranulph Fiennes, one of our greatest living Englishmen, this small, pocket-sized book is full of handy, useful tips to help you in those difficult situations.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 February 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I enjoyed reading through this as it was noticeable that the authors really wanted to pare down on the goobledygook that pervades self-improvement manuals. Concentrating on concise aims and advice, it raised the generic advice given, by giving it clarity through organisation and presentation. I would recommend highly and even advise suggesting it as a starter reference for anyone going into business.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
John Cross' Little Black book is a must for new and developing managers alike, full as it is of insights and reflections on how to manage in the corporate world. Written in clear, simple language each short section covers a different topic that managers will recognise from their own working lives with a pithy summary to help one remember those Moments of Power that make all the difference.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This isn’t a bad book to dip into. The content is nothing special but it does contain a lot less waffle than most similar book. There isn’t much depth but conversely you could argue it quickly gets to the point.

My verdict: A lot better than the average business book (okay I admit that is damning with faint praise) but maybe not that much better than a quick internet search.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a nice, simple book which you can dip in and out of, and it's also slim and small enough to carry it in your handbag or briefcase so you can refer to it easily. The information is concise and relevant, without being over simplistic or pretentious. I think it's definitely worth a read if you are either a manager or a trainee manager.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 January 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I found this very useful. It is probably a book to dip into rather than read through but it's layout is very good. Short sharp sections help you find what you want quickly. Good way to reflect on how you have done something, or prepare beforehand. Recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 October 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Yet another very useful little black book. Very easily accessible and already proving to be a good source of information on how to become the best manager you can be. It's a handy book to have for future reference too
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
Very good book, it was good to read about certain techniques which I already apply and then tweaks to making them more effective. I liked the small size, it made it easy to take with me whilst I made sure to read it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
John Cross, Rafael Gomez & Kevin Money are giving an clear directive on what makes a good manager. This little book is your guide to become the no-nonsense skill-full manager that every company and employee needs to function as a whole.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
A great idea for a book I think - short sections of advice for managers on specific topics. I have not read many books on this theme previously but I found a lot of it to come across as common sense. Where a book like this is useful though is is to have that common sense reinforced and provide reassurance when taking managerial decisions.

The book gets boring very quick if read cover to cover, but taken a little at a time, it is a useful resource.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)