Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 March 2014
Being a bit of a tinkerer, I find the RaspberryPi very exciting. Being a bit of a nerd I find programming intriguing. These two things combined make this book an excellent choice as a starting point, and for people with a bit of prior knowledge alike.

It is written in such a way that it introduces the most important concepts without getting bogged down in the details like some of its counterparts. I can imagine that some people who already know a bit about Python would find it frustrating because it does gloss over those details, but as a training professional I am really impressed that it keeps its eye on the prize and delivers the pertinent knowledge in exactly the right amounts, and at the right pace. The details are tackled as and when needed, so you will end up being a confident programmer, and RPi hacker.

I have been tinkering with Python for a year or two, and I learned new things within the first four chapters, so even people with a bit of experience, you will find it a useful refresher.

There are a few typos and errors, but the supporting website is excellent and it is so well written, I still rate it at 5 stars. The future is bright, our future hardware hackers and mad inventors have never had it so good.
11 Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2016
A good basic introduction to programming with python. As has already been mentioned here, good coverage of graphics but very little on hardware interfacing, which you would think would be the whole point of learning python on the Pi.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
This book is using PySide to programming, but it no longer available for python3. It means you can't use the codes they use in the book :/ I have just bought it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2017
Really simple to follow, even for someone with no coding knowledge what ever. Found it quite easy to work through the chapters as they flow really well. Even just after the first 3 chapters I knew the basics and the terminology to use for certain tasks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2017
Good book. Easy to follow
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
An excellent guide, well presented and easy to follow. I found Simon Monk's "Programming the Raspberry Pi" a good starter but much prefer Alex Bradbury's book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
Epic beginner book. I also had the Raspberry Pi for Dummies, but this book is much more in-depth and seems to move at a much quicker pace. I would highly recommend the book to anyone getting started with programming.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
If you're looking for a book on gardening, this is rubbish. If, however, you want to learn Python, on the Raspberry Pi, there's no better place to start. It doesn't go into the minutiae of the Python programming language, but if that's what you want, you probably won't be programming on a Raspberry Pi in the first place.
The Raspberry Pi is first and foremost a learning tool, a cheap, accessible piece of hardware to break open the mysterious black box and enable people to peek into the internals and find out how computers actually work. Learning Python With Raspberry Pi takes this a step further, by introducing the reader to a simple, accessible programming language.
So many of these kinds of books sell themselves on the promise of making XYZ subject accessible, but it's very hard to do this; for an expert to take a step back from his or her field and present the intelligent layman with a feasible way into a subject is quite a leap of the imagination, but this is exactly what Everard and Bradbury have achieved here.
More experienced programmers should look elsewhere, but if you're a beginner, or a dabbler wishing to cement your knowledge, go for it.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
A nice introduction to Python, starts rather basic and explains what the examples are about.

Since programming isn't my background, I found it very useful.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2015
For quite some time Python has been seen as a language that's easy to get to grasps with and just start building, without getting too bogged down with the lower level technical details that effect other languages. This makes it an ideal pairing with the Raspberry Pi and a gateway to exploring and making software and having fun along the way. The authors do a great job of presenting the material and ideas to who the Raspberry Pi is aimed at, older children, hobbyists, tinkerers and really old children like me :). The book starts with setting up and the basics of Python and then spends each chapter creating a project step by step giving you an idea of what the plucky little device is capable of and gives you the skills, ideas and confidence to go off and make your own projects. This is a great starting book and something I wish had been around when I was a young.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)