Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
29
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 February 2016
Very Good information indeed.
These books a very well put together with all the relevant questions and answers.
Sets a very good foundation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
Having worked in the event industry in the past but focussing only on sales, and only within the exhibitions space, when deciding on my next career move I desperately needed to read up on all aspects of event management, not only to broaden my knowledge and be able to 'talk the talk', but also to figure out whether event management really is for me! This book has proved invaluable. Not only has it persuaded me to pursue this path, but it has also given me a realistic idea about how much work goes into planning an event and the amount of detail that needs to be considered. No stone is left unturned and every aspect appears to have been thought about and discussed from a practical point of view. The book is easy to read and follow, a must for people either already working in events, looking for develop their career in events, planning a charity event, or even just a party!

I have already lent the book to a friend who has been struggling to get her events business off the ground and some of the tips she has picked up (she hasn't even read it all yet!) have already proved successful for her.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Event Management For Dummies is an insightful guide to DIY event management which has enough depth to cover the ground for teams commissioning large events. It looks at brand and message alongside the more nuts and bolts stuff of bookings, budgets, negotiating, documenting what you're doing and ensuring that everyone is properly kept in the picture.

In my professional background, I've organised events for up to 500 people, and been part of teams organising residential conferences for up to 7,000. My feeling is that you could organise with confidence an event for 250 people simply by following the instructions in this book. If you take its advice further to heart, and see your job as commissioning and hiring a team of people who know what you're doing, then this book will give you enough understanding of the overall programme to be run some very large or very expensive events.

As with much of the Dummies series, this book works at a number of levels. For some things, such as writing the creative brief for your event, it gives an actual template and goes into some depth about how to fill it in. For other things, such as projecting video onto a wall of smoke, it really just introduces you to the concept that such things can be done.

All in all, a useful guide that will professionalise anyone's approach to putting on a high quality event.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2013
Ive worked in direct marketing for 10 years - Direct Mail, DRTV, Telemarketing, Digital etc - but had pretty much no experience of using events to market products or brands and have been considering applying for more senior roles that include responsibility for events.

This book has given me a brilliant grounding in the fundamentals of events management, as well as excellent practical advice with worked examples for every stage of managing the broad range of events involved in marketing.

For me it is the many little details of event management that I found a bit daunting, but from understanding the details of budgeting to venue dressing, security and even designing apps to go with your event, the book has given me everything I need to feel confident talking about how events management works in interviews - and hopefully before long running events too!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2014
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The Dummies series are, for the most part, absolutely great books for academic or at a glance reading, which makes sense given that they are "How To" guides and a working document approach is preferrable.

The series contains great condensed/at a glance contents and then expanded/detailed contents, great indexing, a range of icons (case studies; remember; tips and warnings), chapter headings, summaries and bullet points are used well and the structuring of each chapter is great, using paragraphs, bolding and dialogue boxes to break up the text.

The series now includes "The Part of Tens", which are bullet pointed sections providing lists of ten points on a number of subheadings, in this book its the ten suppliers needed in the address book of any event planner, ten typoes of online resources for event planners and ten tips for a career in event management.

The author has a background in event planning and presentation delivery and it hasnt harmed their writing any, the sytle and pace are good and while they admit that there is a target market or expected readership of marketing or other professionals and students starting out on an event management career but it deserves a wider readership. Anyone interested in planning as a topic or planning a one of event or involved in advising anyone planning an event could find this useful.

There are a lot of good basics covered within the book, planning for exhibits, sporting events, comedy, literary, food events, perhaps the more dull details such as legalities, crowd management, event safety planning and accident management and, importantly, contingency planning, measurement of event success and building on the event.

There's also a lot of other more interesting topics included too, like using 3D holographic video projections, fog screens and pyrotechnics in crafting your message. The sections of marketing include information on flash mobs and unusal tactics. The more basic material includes good information on meetings and conferences too.

I would say that I approached this book as a general reader, I've been to a lot of events which I considered successful and found it very interesting to see what kind of work and preparation probably went into making it so. The scope of the book is good too, it would be of use or applicable from the minor, for instance events organised by clubs and societies in the university scene, to the major, corporate, company or business, events. It would be useful reading for anyone interested in how these things are organised, directly organising them or just participating themselves.

There are good case studies, providing examples of how things went well, how they could have gone better etc. including The Edinburgh Fringe, O2 Priority Moments Launch and the 2010 Love Parade Disaster. When picking up how to books I am always worried that I may be buying something which I would have if I had performed a successful or lucky web search and in this instance this is definitely not the case, real insights, presented well. Recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2013
This book makes for a fantastic read. Whilst it is thorough enough to give real insight and guidance to those who work in event management, it is jargon-free and easy to understand. The book is also invaluable to anyone who works in a business that holds (or should hold!) events. It contains simple summaries, templates for creating your own briefs, checklists and helpful hints to help your event run smoothly.
Well worth buying, whether it is to read now and commit to memory for regular use, or to have to-hand in future when events crop up for quick-reference.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 May 2014
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I have found the Dummies Series superb on a range of different subjects, this is no exception it covers Event Management from a variety of different angles is easy to follow, clear and comprehensive covering the subject in a very logical order. I have been managing events of different types (but not large scale) for over 15 years now and found it useful to see the processes used for small, medium and large events outlined if only to confirm that I had been doing the right thing. I did learn some useful tips as well.

I would buy this book as a useful step-by-step guide to project management whether you are just starting out or have some years of experience and wonder if what you have learned "on the job" is the right way to do things. There are of course a variety of ways to approach something as broad as Event Management and so this book doesn't cover all possible methods but what it does describe would be a good place to start before adapting methods to suit your own style.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
I bought this book mainly because it was recommended for an event management course that I'm studying. I always thought the 'For Dummies' books rather 'dummed down' their subject - the name would suggest it - but actually, apart from several typographical errors, this is a well-written book that I think most students of the subject will find useful. And anyone needing to plan an event of course. Be aware that it does focus exclusively on corporate events, but the same principles apply to other events too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 June 2014
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Having organised events over the past twenty or so years its never too late to learn more ideas and this book has certainly done that and has offered me on a personal level an insight into other areas I could well be looking into. This book or rather manual in many respects is well written with a fantastic range of subject matter that goes step by step and explains the many angles that can be viewed and not just take the subject matter for granted and explains in common sense speak how to organise events that work and judging by the contents everything fits into a logical place and although there are many similar books on the subject – there always will be lets be honest – this in my humble opinion is perhaps as good as it gets. For the price of a copy of this book could save you ten fold assuming you put the ideas into practice as suggested but just use your own style of working as the book cannot teach you that otherwise go buy it!.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
I highly recommend this book for anyone with even a hint of interest in planning their own event. The author's tone is spot-on: friendly and knowledgeable whilst giving enough information to ensure everything is covered and allowing for plenty of your own creativity. Well written, every detail of event management is covered, from social media and knowing your audience (especially useful for me whilst growing my blog) to vital budget planning and health and safety. The 'so obvious you can't believe you forgot it' 'Remember' icons are something I found particularly helpful. Because of the books dip in and out nature, the vast amount of info. covered is kept from being overwhelming. With useful website links and templates for creating your own plans, this is a truly invaluable book for any event planner. Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)