Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 March 2017
Good, detailed book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
Great product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
Different book but same material and content, seller is cooperative and good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2017
The product is not the one in the picture. Although it is technically the same book, you will instead get some Wiley India Edition of the book. I've checked and the table of contents is the same, so that's why It doesn't receive 0 stars, but the reason why it is so cheap is also due to the fact that all the color in the book is gone and some text is slightly smeared and the filling in the models are missing ink some places. Also, it was slightly damaged, despite being wrapped.

To sum it up, It's a cheap and poorly done knock-off, but still the same book.
review image review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2008
I am also following Technology and Innovation Course at University of Sussex and i have to admit that this book has proved very helpful to me.
The fact is that this book is very practical tool for students and managers.It provides the reader with a great variety of case studies and ways that companies and organizations failed or achieved in innovating.It has really helped me to understand what innovation is all about and comparing it with other books that deal with the same topic i think its one of the bests.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2015
An excellent textbook for MBA students or for students on Postgraduate courses on Technology and Innovation management. And a source of reference and inspiration for those of us who work in the area of R&D, Technology and Innovation consulting. We have a number of well thumbed copies in the UK office.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 1999
This book review is a summary of a review published in 'Research Policy', Vol. 27, No.2, June 1998, 229-231
The publication by Joe Tidd, John Bessant and Keith Pavitt on "Managing Innovation - Integrating Technological, Market and Organizational Change" is clearly a book which is interdisciplinary, multifunctional and integrative and adds value. The rich knowledge of the three authors is based on own research, consulting and teaching experiences at Imperial College Management School at the University of London, the Centre for Research in Innovation Management at the University of Brighton and the Science Policy Research Unit at the University of Sussex. These own experiences and the broad analysis of the "classical" and latest management research make the book very valuable...
"Managing Innovation" wants to equip readers with the knowledge to understand and skills to manage innovation, both at the operational and strategic level. The book aims to integrate the management of market, technological and organizational change to improve the competitiveness of firms and effectiveness of other organizations. Although a large number of differing theoretical approaches are reviewed and regarded by the authors, the theoretical roots lie very much in economies of innovation and the evolutionary economics (for instance, Dosi, Freeman, Nelson and Winter, Pavitt, Penrose), theories on organizational learning and knowledge creation (e.g. Argyres, Leonard-Barton, Nonaka and Takeuchi, or Schein) and competence-based theories of the firm (e.g. Hamel and Prahalad, or Teece and Pisano). One important value-added of the book is the integration of various theoretical approaches - each of which is subject to lively discussion among management researchers and practitioners - which in the past have stood alone and for themselves...The overall structure of the book is clear, the given boxes and examples very illustrative and the hints on further reading very helpful and, all in all, serves the needs of both the targeted management students and practitioners...The broad use and review of literature in the field of innovation management and the illustrative examples make this book a rewarding read for management practitioners, students and researchers. This book is warmly recommended for all who are interested in innovation management. - Prof. Dr. Guido Reger, University of Applied Sciences, Brandenburg, Germany.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2008
I usually don't review but when I saw Corhonen's bullcrap I had to comment. I am taking Tidd's course and nobody is forced to buy the book. I didn't buy it. Essential readings are available for free at the university anyway. This is absolute nonsense... If you really think someone will fail you (in the UK educational system) cause you don't buy his book, and there is nothing you can do about it but buy the book, you are simply foolish.

The book is good exactly _because_ it explains complex concepts in an uncomplicated, straightforward way and enables the reader to grasp the most important notions quickly and thoroughly. There is a number of key studies that show how the processes explained in the book are applied in the real world.

So yeah, in my opinion, if the reader is looking for a classical academic piece with extremely complex notions that are never used in everyday or business language but sound "smart", quantitative analyses of data just for the sake of analysis with results you can't use, and with examples that can never be applied to the real world, buy something else.

And I apologise to everyone reading this but I must resort to the lowest action of all in written debate - an ad hominem attack, although a well deserved one. Hey Chris, if you really think any crucial managerial insight can be gained by watching a TV programme aimed to entertain the general public, like the Dragon's Den, then it is obvious you didn't read the book. Oh, and that you watch TV way too much.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
Is a really useful book if you are doing creativity and innovation. It provided a lot of useful information for my course and a lot of interesting case studies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
Good book covering innovation topic, not the easiest reading but still good. Supposed to be one of the most relevant book written on the topic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)