Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
15
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 November 2012
As a sufferer of bipolar and a practicing consultant psychiatrist I have probably read most, if not all, of the books available for the general public on this disorder. I can say without doubt that Dummies is easily the best there is anywhere. It is completely comprehensive as well as easy to read, without being 'dumbed down'. For the most part, if its not in here you don't need to know it. Its written by an expert in the field, so its reliable and authoritative (many bipolar self-help books are not written by experts but rather journalists). However the second author is a writer with the disorder and other patients were consulted in writing it. Lastly it has been technically reviewed by senior psychiatrists with an interest in bipolar so its content can be completely trusted. And finally at this price its great value for money. I recommend it as the best choice to all my patients and they are all very grateful for my guiding them to it.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
This book is valuable reading for those newly diagnosed with bipolar, or those who have been ill for some time but are struggling to manage their condition.

I would have given it 5 stars, but it is written by two US based authors, and the contents reflect the American context eg questions about health insurance and the cost of treatment purchased privately.

Other than that, it was very good. A UK edition would be brilliant if the publishers could arrange that!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2014
Excellent book. Straight forwardly written with good information I should know as I've had Bipolar for 40yrs. I would recommend for helping relatives to understand the illness. There is no cure but relatives & friends can give them support. 5 stars.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
This book was an absolute dream of a help to understand the disorder. The examples given by people who have the disorder were very helpful in explaining that symptoms are not necessarily yours alone, and that there are other people out there who understand and can give good advice on how to deal with life with Bipolar. Definitely recommended for people who are directly or indirectly affected. Worth every penny.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
this book has so.much information about bipolar. I even bought the hard back copy of it too...

I have been diagnosed with bipolar 2 for over three years and have just read this and am now understanding a lot more about this mental health illness.

is has so much helpful information that it doesn't matter whether you have bipolar or not this helps tremendously.

well done and will and ha e recommended it to many a person.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 September 2013
Bipolar is a Physical illness and can be life threatening. I have learned loads. and feel I know what to expect. I use it to refer too. to explain to freinds and families what to expect and I make them read what they need to know.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
Very informative and not just for the person with bi polar but also stuff for their loved ones to read and help understand ! Worth every penny I think...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2015
brought for friend who is using with nurse to help them to understand their illness, they are finding book very helpfull
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
Perfect for sufferers but as always not geared towards helping family or those who have to deal with the bi polar person
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2015
Only just started reading it but looks really good. Breaks everything down into simple language.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)