Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 May 2017
‘The Social Media Bible” Third edition seems at first glance to be a book that might well be useful as a way of approaching social media today. However, in order to bulk itself up and thereby command a higher price, it is unashamedly repetitive and could have been sensibly condensed into a tome of half the size.

‘Your man’, as the Irish say, makes much of the respect that webmasters should show their public. It is, therefore, with some surprise that this reader finds attempts to access files that throw light on the subject matter by going to the writer’s site and entering the ISBN no. of his book are thwarted by dint of the fact that there is nowhere to enter such details in. In fact his site, with its outdated design and visual clutter, seems at complete odds to the message contained within the ‘bible’.

On arrival at the guru’s site, one is now required to register details and then waits – in my instance more than a week (at this time of writing I am still yet to receive a reply) – for some sort of acknowledgement or access to some of those promised links that might provide more pertinent information than does the book.
Many of the links provided in the book itself do not function and there has been no attempt to update them.

You have to question, in view of the nearly total discrepancy between the author’s apparent message and his application of it in this book, why or how the publishers were ever convinced to publish this ‘work’.

The chapter ‘Virtual Worlds – Real Impact’, provides us with a clue that begins to explain why it is that we have the rest of this tome inflicted upon us, at least for those of us who mistakenly thought that this might be an educationally enlightening read. It is here that we find the author onanistically massaging his ego in a fashion that is really so crusty and repulsive that we are left wishing that he had indulged himself in such a way at the beginning of his book. That way none of us would have wasted time perusing the rest of it.

I feel genuinely sorry for the author of this book. He gives the impression of a man who has strived to do much but who has actually achieved a great deal less – he manages to give us the impression that he is, in real life, a sort of fly-by-night salesman who steals the credit for other people’s achievements and then subsequently capitalizes on them himself. He bashes the drum of his own ego to a degree that inadvertently convinces us that he is no more than a very small man in a tiny man’s clothing.

By now, someone must have written a less egocentric and more relevant book that deals really comprehensively with the subject of social media as well as covering it in a more succinct and better referenced way. If so, read it (and recommend it to me as I would appreciate reading it too). Otherwise, put some time by, my friends, and write it yourselves!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2009
The sub-title claims this book is about "Tactics, Tools & Strategies for Business Success". I expected a book focused on how you could use social media to build your business.

If that information is in there, it is buried in over 800 rambling pages. They do probably cover everything there is to know about social media but not ina way that is very useful. Large parts of it are simply lengthy blogs, which have been republished in book form.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2010
I bought the 2nd edition of this book and I found it really boring and not helpful at all.
Far to many pages (800) of bla bla bla on the subject in a way that made me sleep while reading the book.
I would not recommend this book at all.
The only reason I give 2 stars if for the amazon service.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2011
As fellow reviewers mentioned 800 pages of useless ramblings.
The language is far from academic. And the information is inferior and common knowledge.

Quote: "Social media is the media we use to be social.That's it"

The author fails to define social media in the 800 pages of the book. And from the content of the book clearly fails to comprehend the meaning of it. The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) has set up some guide lines to what is considered social media and what not and the author is way off.

Do not buy this book for academic purposes or if you have a basic knowledge of what the Internet is.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2009
Wow - this is a hefty tome and really does look at everyting to do with Social media markeringt - not only does it cover off the main ones such as Facebook, Twitter and Blogging - but delve into the pages and be fascinated with setting up a virtual business on Second Life, social media marketing with games and looking at a million other websites. Great book to help with EVERYTHING, but be careful not to lose focus... Livecasting here I come. I think I will back it up with something more specific on the main social networking websites.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
I am very clued up with social media and I was looking for a good book that was discussing mostly social media strategy. From this point of view the book is OK, but not great. However, the author explains that he tried to fulfil several aims, and strategy was only one of them. If you are totally new to social media this book is truly great as it goes through the main ones, how to use them, why, how and everything you need to know as a beginner. I like the use of the QR and the links to a comprehensive website. The book does not cover some of the new entries like Pinterest and Instagram in detail, but this world is evolving so quickly that it is nearly impossible to stay on top of it in between editions.

Overall a great book if you are a newbie, a very good book if you are already knowledgeable in this field and a good book if you are very knowledgeable and want more ideas on strategy. Overall, well worth the price. The author's website offers bonus content.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2011
I've been keeping up with social media for a few years now and this is the first book I've found that comprehensively brings most of the aspects together. It is a hefty book and it needs to be - the changes in online marketing over the last few years have been numerous, technically, strategically and tactically. This book attempts to, mostly successfully, cover it all.
I especially like the time taken to help the reader understand the roots and current implementation of technology e.g. podcasting, the rise of iTunes etc. Marketers today need to have a deeper understanding of the various tools they have to use in their roles and it helps to have some background in order to make better decisions when selecting tools for certain campaigns.
Also useful are the interviews, available to download, of marketers using social media successfully in various market sectors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 August 2009
Do you tweet or troll? Lurk or plurk? Do you have Facebook friends or a LinkedIn list? Are you a virtual world resident with a beguiling or scary avatar? What is your favorite aggregator or rich site summary (RSS) service? Are you happy with your Yelp rating? Do you have a Meebo login? You know Google, but do you know Redlasso or IceRocket? What is your favorite wiki beyond Wikipedia? Like it or not, it is increasingly difficult to function in today's technology-obsessed world without becoming an Internet geek. You need to know how to get the most out of the Web. For that, turn to Lon Safko and David K. Brake. Their comprehensive guide to the perplexing online world explains the Internet-based social media, including how to use its networks and tools to build a marketing campaign. getAbstract recommends this smart, thorough, useful book to any businessperson who sees a single unfamiliar word in this paragraph.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2013
I was looking for a guise to help me develop our social media strategy - this does exactly that, and very well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2015
Although it contains some good ideas, its overall a very basic explanation of social media. I found it far more beneficial simply reading the action guide set out at the end of each chapter and some of the case studies.
In order to fully appreciate this book you need to have absolutely no understanding of social media at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)