Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 30 July 2012
As an audiophile and musician, I was already fairly familiar with the RUMOURS story, from previous magazine interviews and also the classic Rock series "making of..." DVD. Nonetheless, when i found out about this book, i was still going for the "aah..there's more here than meets the eye" angle, so purchased a copy.

Ken makes a great, if polite raconteur, and therein lies the rub. Maybe i was expecting a little more on the human side of the story, as the technical bits are very well written, and enough so that even a non-audiophile can pick up on them. But the slight niggle for me, is that everyone seems to have been airbrushed a tad, in the sense that Ken has held back it seems, on a lot more about each of the band members and their escapades, therein.

Its a great read, no doubt, but i feel theres a wodge of material somewhere, left on the editing table with a "ooh, i cant put that in...can I?" which is understandable, as Ken was and very much still is, a true professional in the business, so there's no need to come across as a dissaffected "gossip", for want of a better phrase. My gut feeling, is that there may also be another book based on TUSK, which is what he worked on with the band next, which apparently cost a million dollars at the time, to make. Now THAT, would be a fascinating read in itself, as its when the wheels of the band started to spin VERY fast, and they became a huge juggernaut in terms of touring, sales and recording.

I recommend this, as its a good read. Polite, cheeky, interesting and engaging. As long as youre not expecting anything eye-popping, etc, then its a fun trawl through this period of fleetwood mac.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
Great read. Couldnt put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
Makes a change to read a book by somebody who was actually there, i.e. the author Ken Caillat!! Fascinating insight into the way a band and a studio works. And a good sub-plot -will Ken get off with the young studio manager Nina?? You gotta read it!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2014
My husband is not a great reader but loves Fleetwood Mac. He can't put this down, brilliant read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2015
Interesting context about the band at a difficult and exciting time of their stardom journey if somewhat a self centred trip down memory lane by the author. Some musical engineering geeks may also enjoy the author's too frequent diatribes on the equipment and how it worked! Was a bit disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2014
I love fleetwood macs music and this book made me adore "rumours" even more than I already did. Such good music from such a heartbreaking time for the band, incredible and inspirational
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
Quite technical, so unless you're interested in producing an album. I enjoyed reading about the band, their personalities and the setting. Some good pics
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2015
Good on authors personal life related to Rumours. Good on technology of recording. Not much insight into the band and how they created the album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2014
I bought this purely because I needed to do a presentation on the recording of "Go Your Own Way" and it got to the stage where I was listening to the song and hearing nothing new. Thankfully the book pretty much wrote my entire presentation for me and I don't need to listen to the song again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2015
Couple of pages creased, and book cover a bit grimey. Just acceptable!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)