Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 5 October 2017
Excellent and informative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2017
Excellent. Full of info
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2009
First off, if you don't know anything about photography don't think this book will be easy to understand. This is a book for Dummies with some camera skills. That said people who know their way around a DSLR will find very little here of use and the book is definitely written for the middle ground.

It does a reasonably solid job, in good conversational english, of taking the reader through the various parts of digital photography covering what affects a photograph, the hardware and add-ons (such as lenses) and what you can do in photoshop. If you want a good place to start your new digital hobby then I would recommend you at least taking a look.

But for me it falls for a few reasons. First off, it is a big book that really could be covered in half the time; it's a bit too padded out without getting to the core stuff that budding photographers are really after. Once read through you'll find yourself having to go back and search a bit to find the useful stuff. Secondly whilst you have tips like 'this photo would have benefitted from a larger aperture' it is all too generic. Thanks David, but what I really need is more useful detail like what aperture should I use with what shutter speed and white noise and exposure adjustments etc. With a mass of things to think about in a modern DSLR I would have liked something a bit more concrete. So if I want to do landscapes or potraits or close ups or night shots or whatever how about giving me the settings I need and then suggestions of how to tweak this for various different results so that I can see what effect this will have and pick up some good tips along the way. Unfortunately there is little to none of this so it ends up being a good read but in terms of understanding, well, there is little in this book which is not in the manual, albeit more words and pretty colour pictures, though, of course, the camera's own manual doesn't have sections on Adobe Photshop.

Here's an example. With a slow shutter speed and two kids walking quickly into the picture, pausing then walking quickly out I managed to get a photograph of two ghostly images which was quite fun and the kids loved trying this out. That was off the top of my head but this is the sort of thing you brought a digital SLR for - its versatility - and really, ideas like this should have been suggested by the author to kick start your photography career. The book lacks these suggestions.

In short, this book doesn't take the enthusiastic amateur and get them started with real examples that they can shoot themselves with tasks they can follow and improve upon. At the other extreme those who do know a bit about camera settings and the effects these have on pictures will find little to excite them in this book. An average book with promise that just falls short.
11 Comment| 67 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2009
The writing style is conversational and long winded. If you want to delight in the author's whimsical witticisms then fine. I didn't; I wanted information and advice, and I couldn't find much of it in this book. It could have been written in about a quarter of the number of pages.

Some basics are completely omitted - eg nowhere does the author bother to explain to you what 'WB' ar 'AWB' are. The general map of your camera is unhelpful and will not actually help you to navigate your camera any better.

Get the Collins Complete Photography Course, which is a genuine dummies' guide and which contains practical lessons and projects for you to undertake in order to use and understand the information given. It takes you quite a way beyond the dummies level too. And it lacks the patronising condescension of this book.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2007
Excellent book. Covers all the basics and also goes more in depth. The chapters explore the technical side of digital SLRs in a easy going well paced text. The illustrations and photos serve to enhance the understanding, rather than the author showing how totally amazing they are at taking photos and leaving you wondering. The last few chapters move from the technical side of photography, into the artistic side of composition and editing.

This book would suit someone completely new to photography, through to the person making the move from film to digital.
11 Comment| 142 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2013
have only started to read the book but so far it is very easy to read and understand what is written
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2013
This handy book for beginners gives useful information to help you get to know your camera in an easy to read format.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2016
A really helpful book for the novice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 July 2012
The big attraction of this series of "for Dummies" books is that we who buy these products have little respect for our own knowledge and plenty of respect for those who do and are able to write books like this.

I am currently converting from film photography to digital photography and some aspects are quite daunting. I have, therefore, purchased several books and tutorial DVDs on the subject and am working my way through them all. The title of this product suggests it is the right place to start and, on reflection, is exactly where I should have started. For those of you, who like me, are converting to digital for the first time, grab your camera and a copy of this book and work your way through from cover to cover until you are conversant with the new technology. It really will give you a good grounding.

That, however, will only work very well if you are already conversant with photography. If you are new to photography altogether and a digital SLR camera is your very first camera, you may have to learn a few basic lessons of, for example, the correlation between film speeds, shutter speeds and aperture settings - which really do need to be understood, before you study this book.

David Busch clearly knows what he is talking about and is able to put that knowledge into an easy-to-follow format for us Dummies to read and, as I say, I wish I had read this book before getting into some of the more technical tomes I also purchased.

NM
33 Comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
This is a great book to use as a reference library, keep coming back to it for more info as you develop your photgraphy skills.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)