Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 18 October 2017
This is the most comprehensive book about bread making that I've come across. It is clearly written and covers all aspects of the process of making breads and doughs - both the mechanics and reasons for doing things and the chemistry behind them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2017
I recently began a new job as a Artisan Baker apprentice and this book was recommended to me by the Master Baker, my teacher. It's beautifully written, packed FULL of practical and contextual advice. It's one of those books that last you a lifetime. Very happy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2017
Brilliant book! Full of very useful information, it will be a great reference when I start my business.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2017
Hamelman clearly knows his stuff as a baker and the book has some very good information and recipes. However some of the things he confidently asserts (e.g. that sourdough yeast can't reproduce without oxygen and therefore can't grow while dough is proving) are manifest nonsense. His style's a bit preachy... one doesn't mind being told of the nobility of doing things by hand rather then using an automatic dough-portioning machine, but after the 3rd or 4th repetition of this it begins to grate on one's nerves.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
This is a great reference book for bread bakers. Written and published in the US it concentrates on US (Imperial) commercial baking quantities, but also has metric and home baker alternatives. It also gives baker percentages and so it is pretty easy to work out what ingredient quantities to use for any of the recipes.

This was a snip on special offer, but not to be dismissed if you want a good reference book with a wide variety of bread recipes using al in one mixers, through overnight sponges and sourdoughs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
This is my go-to bread baking cookbook! It never fails me. And the measurements are in both U.S. (cups, tablespoons, etc.) as well as weight measures. It even has a column for large scale dough production. I have purchased this book for myself, a chef friend in the U.K., and other friends who like to dabble in flour and yeast. Every one of them loves it. I highly recommend adding this one to your kitchen shelf.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
A very interesting book with lots of scientific details. The only thing to mention that is not quite ideal is that it is written for a US readership and therefore does not give temperatures in Celsius and only gives metric weights for large-scale batches of bread. The smaller-scale versions of the recipes use pounds and ounces. This is not a big problem as metric weights are easy to scale. Overall, a fascinating book that answers a lot of questions about bread. Very nicely written too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
Very good bread book. Recipes look a bit complicated at first if you are a beginner baker. It's important to read about different techniques and ingredients and their properties (all is explained in the book) before going to recipes.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
In my review of the first edition of this book I wrote
_____________________

"Having watched some videos of this master baker working on YouTube I had to buy this book cos this chap has a real knack for making really good bread.

"A comment on one of his videos said "He makes it seem so easy. With a few simple folds he shapes that mound of dough into almost a pillow."

"This book tells you exactly how to do as he does and to produce the most wonderful bread with a minimum of effort. Watch his videos, read the book and you too will produce magnificent bread both full of flavour, with a good crumb and which keeps.

"I have learned so much from this book that I simply have to recommend it to anyone who is serious about bread making - for those with a bread maker it's totally useless because you simply can't make really tasty bread in a bread maker. You need to use sourdough or - as I do - a pre-ferment which allows the full flavour to develop.

Why the question mark in the title? Well - there is a new edition which I have just ordered. I expect/hope that will be even better."
_________________________

This is undoubtedly better than the first edition.and so the question mark in the title is removed - this is the best book ever.

What's changed ? Clearer layout, better tables, more on folding (including an easier way), a section on hand kneading (including a no knead technique - which is the one I have been using for years), an enhanced section on pre-ferments which shows you how to bring out the flavour of the bread, but most importantly lots of new recipes - mostly using Brioche dough - almost a cake section but much better. A great book just got better and I am greatly looking forward to making the recipe used in the Swiss Alps where they had no yeast - just waiting to be rich enough to buy all those raisins!

In summary : no serious home or commercial baker should be without this book

Later Edit: The Brioche recipe is to die for (actually, with the butter in it you probably will!) Well worth trying to follow this exactly. I tend to to do all bakes using a whole 1.5 Kg bag (I hate weighing flour as I make such a mess!) and here is the recipe scaled for this:

1500 gms Strong White Flour
145 gms Water
750 gms eggs
35 gms salt
75 gms fresh yeast (37 gms dried)
750 gms unsalted butter
180 gms sugar

For eggs you will need 13 (appropriately a bakers dozen!) : if it is not exact consider the water and the eggs together so make up to 895 gms using water and whisk. At this stage I departed from the book and made a sponge (a pre-ferment) using half the flour, all the beaten eggs and water, and all of the yeast before adding the rest of the ingredients after about 4 hours of fermentation - the butter was very soft and I squidged it in with my fingers. Then used the no knead technique described in the book to complete it - with a couple of 'Hamelman' folds along the way.

On removing the dough from the fridge the next day (stored in a rectangular 6 litre plastic click on lid box) I had great fun making plaited rolls and other plaits - all following the very clear instructions in the book - a real wow when they came out of the oven in overall appearance, colour, texture and taste and all thanks to this book. And No! I didn't eat it all in one go. Most of it went in the freezer and it just needs a quick refresh in the oven to return it new.

This edition has a very good section on home baking with tips you just don't see in other books. For example: why use unsalted butter when you are already adding salt? Answer - unsalted butter doesn't keep so well and therefore has to be fresh, whereas salted butter may disguise a rancid taste which will flow through to the bread.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)