Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 April 2017
Very good bread book. Recipes look a bit complicated at first if you are a beginner baker. It's important to read about different techniques and ingredients and their properties (all is explained in the book) before going to recipes.
review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2017
Brilliant book! Full of very useful information, it will be a great reference when I start my business.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2013
I am currently studying HND Pro Cookery and this book was recomended reading for our fermented bread products! In depth fantastic easy read with good easy recipies that actualy work
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2014
I have been baking at home for a number of years.
Like another reviewer here I was impressed by a series of YouTube videos showing Hamelman at work so I had to get his book.
It is no exaggeration to say it has had the greatest influence on my ability to produce consistently good bread.
It is not aimed at the beginner, so previous experience in the recognition and handling of good dough is important, but Hamelman’s explanation of every stage of the baking process influencing all succeeding stages was a revelation to me. His text is clear, you can refer to those YouTube videos if his diagrams don’t do it for you, there are lots of recipes covering a wide variety of breads.
Yes, Hamelman uses quaint imperial measurements, but metric quantities are given. (Sadly, temperatures are only in Fahrenheit.) Even so, I have no hesitation in rating this book five stars.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2017
Hamelman clearly knows his stuff as a baker and the book has some very good information and recipes. However some of the things he confidently asserts (e.g. that sourdough yeast can't reproduce without oxygen and therefore can't grow while dough is proving) are manifest nonsense. His style's a bit preachy... one doesn't mind being told of the nobility of doing things by hand rather then using an automatic dough-portioning machine, but after the 3rd or 4th repetition of this it begins to grate on one's nerves.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
This is a great reference book for bread bakers. Written and published in the US it concentrates on US (Imperial) commercial baking quantities, but also has metric and home baker alternatives. It also gives baker percentages and so it is pretty easy to work out what ingredient quantities to use for any of the recipes.

This was a snip on special offer, but not to be dismissed if you want a good reference book with a wide variety of bread recipes using al in one mixers, through overnight sponges and sourdoughs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
This is my go-to bread baking cookbook! It never fails me. And the measurements are in both U.S. (cups, tablespoons, etc.) as well as weight measures. It even has a column for large scale dough production. I have purchased this book for myself, a chef friend in the U.K., and other friends who like to dabble in flour and yeast. Every one of them loves it. I highly recommend adding this one to your kitchen shelf.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
A very interesting book with lots of scientific details. The only thing to mention that is not quite ideal is that it is written for a US readership and therefore does not give temperatures in Celsius and only gives metric weights for large-scale batches of bread. The smaller-scale versions of the recipes use pounds and ounces. This is not a big problem as metric weights are easy to scale. Overall, a fascinating book that answers a lot of questions about bread. Very nicely written too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2013
Excellent book for every baker! For amateurs and for professionals as well. Maybe a bit difficult to understand when reading for the first time especially if English is not your first language. If you have passion for bread this is the book! You don't just follow a recipe but you also learn why you are doing every step, from mixing to cooling and also how every ingredient affects the final product.
If you are not interested in all these details and you just want a simple book with recipes then buy some other book!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)