Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
17
4.4 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 August 2015
Great product and delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a long-established classic, now updated for the recent release of CS6. Very literally the 'bible' in its very nearly complete coverage of all the features of Photoshop, it explores and explains the tools, settings and options of the program, probably far more extensively than any single user will ever need.

Photoshop is one of those programs where the experts may use 10-20% of its many features, the experienced users about 10% and the less experienced much less. Which features are used rather depends upon its various users; photographers will mostly use one group of features, designers another and those working with web sites yet another and they will still not cover everything between them.

This is a valuable resource for all Photoshop users, whatever field or fields they may work within. There may be other books that better or more completely cover a specific use of the software, photography would be one example, but this is far more comprehensive than they will be. If, for some reason, you needed to use it in some other way a more limited book may be of little use; this probably will provide the answer.

The best all-rounder on Photoshop that I know.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
Well, it certainly is a Bible! It also includes the video editing section, which most tutorials don't. It's a little vague as to which part of the video editing section relates to the standard version or the extended version. However, it's still a very good purchase.

Only negative I can point out, is that the examples are not in colour. You have to download the pictures from the Website or look at the examples on-line. This can be a little inconvenient if you are not logged in to their Website when reading the book. Best thing is to download all the examples and then you'll have everything to hand.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2012
I started "Shopping" as an hobby seven or eight years ago with Elements 6 and have slowly progressed through the series to my latest version - CS6 Extended. My main tutorial source has always been "The Missing Manual" title, usually backed up with a cheaper supplementary volume. These extras were looked at once or twice and then forgotten. This time, after reading all the reviews, I opted for the "Bible" to be my second source. To date, I have not opened my "Photoshop CS 6" manual as the "Bible" is so well and clearly written. However, based on my past knowledge and experience of Lesa Snider's work I feel that a fair critical comparison would be 50.5/49.5% in favour of the "Bible"; both are invaluable works!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2012
I have many Photoshop books from CS3 up to CS5 in many forms some simple some not so simple, but this one tops them all it's not a 'look and learn' type reference, the text has to be read along with the worked examples but it is very thorough. Of course there are zillions of tutorials on video web sites but you don't get thumping music tracks distracting you with this book? fantastic value. I spent 3 years at UNI using Photoshop as part of an Architectural Design Course, it came know where near what is inside this book in terms of information and teaching, even my final year! If you are serious about Photoshop in any form, then this book is a must have. One thing I would add is that the tutorials are not in colour and there is no CD as with other books but you can down load the tutorials from the Authors website, there is also a 12 page colour reference section within the book for comparison. Thank you once again Amazon for superb delivery and service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
This book deserves the 5 star rating and nothing less. In its easy to follow format everything is in easy to follow steps. If you want to master Photoshop this is the book for you
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
the book has some good attributes and has a link up with a website, but it needs to be read quite thoroughly, but its lack of diagrams and does let it down
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
Comprehensive desktop backup for when using photoshop, clear and well laid out instructions but overall let down by only B&W illustrations
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
Where I really find the value in this book is extensive introduction to not only Photoshop, but also the underlying principles of editing.

Very thourough, I still didnt read all, and it will take a lot of time before I do, but whatever I found was extremely useful and clear.

Recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2016
A fabulous, well presented and packed source of information and makes an excellent reference to those using Photoshop CS6; all at a very affordable price too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)