Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 August 2017
Excellent book. Clearly explained from beginning to advanced.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2017
Bought it for my boyfriend he finds it very useful. He is self studying this stuff and can build up his knowledge very nicely from this book. Thanks. :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
I have only recently purchased this book, but right from the beginning it explains really well the different aspects of Javascript. As a PHP developer I wanted to know more about Javascript and so far this book is perfect, far better than other books that I have read.

It is ideal for someone with experience in programming including Javascript, as it does go into more advanced Technics later in the book, but also great for someone to gain a better understanding of Javascript.

This is not a book for someone who has no prior knowledge of Javascript or other programming languages, especially if you have only a basic knowledge in CSS and HTML

I highly recommend this book.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2012
This is a thorough and helpful guide to JavaScript language. Although its target audience is mainly web developers, all people with a basic understanding of programming may benefit from it since JavaScript is such a forgiving and loose-typed language.

Organizing a vast arsenal of objects, methods, properties and differences in major browsers' implementation (e.g. IE, FF) is not the easiest task to tackle. However, in my humble opinion, the author makes a sincere and successful effort. To that end there are many helpful tables and figures which either consolidate the relevant pieces of information or provide a graphical analysis of a complex subject, like for example the 'Prototype Pattern'. Also, common pitfalls and helpful hints are provided in abundance and pointed out in conspicuous bordered frames throughout the book.

The most helpful element though, are the succinct and to-the-point examples of code that follow each and every discreet section on a specific subject. Wherever there are possible ambiguities or peculiarities of the language, the author provides more than one example to utterly dissolve them. In most cases one can follow only the given snippets and understand completely the subject at hand, since they are almost self-explanatory.

Finally, this book provides an analytical table of contents at the beginning and a powerful index at the end, which allows for granular keyword-based searches. Finding what you want is almost as easy as hitting the Ctrl-F button to open a typical search field!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2015
This is the best thorough book on the JavaScript I've ever read. Keep in mind, it will not teach you Patterns, namely, how to glue pieces together. This book is to learn what pieces are - it will cover all of them - but it will not teach you architecture of building from pieces. For that you'll need to read dedicated books on the subject such as JavaScript Patterns JavaScript Patterns and reference some code (I discovered very first release of famous libraries is an awesome way to learn, for example check out first version (0.3?) of reveal.js on GitHub).

Now onto the practical side. This book contains thousand pages and is three-finger thick. My dad helped to carefully cut it into 10 pieces, two-three chapters each and enforced the spines with transparent tape. I carry the piece I'm currently reading in a Snugpak A5 Snugpak Grab A5 Document Holder - Black - One Size. If you keep it real (I do), you need to carve considerable time to read all the thousand pages. Firstly, read while commuting. I read mine on the tube and carry the current piece rolled in my shell jacket's pocket. Secondly, read before sleep. Third, read during the lunch break at work. If you count totals, for example, morning: 0.5h train + 0.5h tube + 0.5h lunch + evening 0.5h train (tube's are busy in the evening so that's zero evening tube reading time), that's two hours. If you read for one hour before sleep, that's three hours reading and learning time EVERY DAY. If you live not alone, go to library on the weekend.

Coding advice. Some people recommend trying things on the command line while reading. That's OK if you have time to spare. I chose to delve straight into coding small npm libraries, referencing bevacqua and sindresorhus. Keep it real, code some tiny one page web apps that you need today. That can be anything. Keep in mind, your code will probably suck because you will not be using the patterns. Be prepared to recode. But don't worry - just make it work first, then read on architecture and refactor. It's encouraging because you see the result (no matter how anti-pattern). Another tip - use Atom editor, it has live linting plugin which alerts about any errors while you code (I tap JSHint through it). Some sources recommended WebStorm but I find it unwieldy, it's slow to set up. Also, get a MacBook Pro or, if short on money, a used MacBook Air. You'll need to learn the command line: use Git and run Grunt tasks on it. Windows DOS won't do.

Happy coding!
review image
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
This book contains more information than you could shake a stick at !

It is written based on actual experience working with Javascript in the real world . The information is presented in what I would call a 'Transfer of Information ' style, kind of like a brain dump rather than any thing else. The example code is kept short and what's more each and every snippet is explained thoroughly in detail.

I've read the 'Definitive Guide' which is touted as being the JavaScript Developers 'Bible' but I found 'Pro JavaScript' to be just as comprehensive and useful. It's actually better since it describes things more thoroughly and explains /why/ you need to know things. It goes far beyond the actual Syntax and describes how the language is used in real life, eg. Inheritance and OOP.

In essence this book provides much more of a tutorial than a reference , which is where its real value lies. It covers the topics in exquisite detail and the author has been meticulous even to the point of obsessive in his coverage. Whilst reading it, you will feel like you are in the presence of a JavaScript guru with a genuine intent to teach what he knows

There is also a lot of fascinating information about browsers 'quirks', how browsers and the WWW evolved, and things you need to be aware of in general.
I don't think I found one typo in the whole book.. that's quite unusual !

So in summary this is a very good value, well rounded JavaScript book that I would recomend to any one who is commited to getting up to speed Developing the Web.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2006
Excellent book! This is still the best and most in depth Javascript book I have come across. A great companion if you want to take things just that little bit further is Sitepoints DHTML Utopia: Modern Web Design Using Javascript & DOM by Stuart Langridge.

Tip top don't pass this one over!!! WHY HAVEN'T YOU BOUGHT IT YET!!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2006
Being a software developer with limited knowledge of JavaScript (I have mostly developed in Java), I was looking for a book on JavaScript, that could teach me the do's and don'ts of JavaScript.

This is the book!

Instead of being a complete reference guide (like most recent JavaScript books are), this book takes a broader approach to the subject, explaining _why_ JavaScript/ECMAscript works like it does, how to work with eg. Objects and interitance, and last but not least it explains how to make your JavaScript work consistently in most browsers, despite the obvious differences in implementation of JS.

I highly recommend this book, if you have some programming skills, possibly basic knowledge of JavaScript and want to explore the full potential of clientside JavaScript - in a "professional" context (no tips on text-scrolling and the like).
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2015
I have read very many programming books over the years. This must be up there with one of the best. I like the no-nonsense approach to delivering the information in a very clear way, it is thorough yet easy to read. What makes this so great is the initial explanation of a concept followed by a clear code snippet showing how the technique would work in practice followed by further analysis of details in the snippet which in my experience helped solidify the ideas. I had not really known too much javascript becore reading this book, this was definitely more my cup of tea getting straight into the details with ni gimmicks or easing you in gently like the 'Head first' style does. If you have some coding experience from any other language then just go straight for this if you want to learn JS.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2005
Not a book for beginners, though it does cover Javascript basics enough for most programmers in other languages. Modern, thorough, well thought through and dealing with practical problems - not those of image rollovers and noddy stuff, but deeper things, such as dealing with cross browser differences in event handling, etc.. Goes into depth on the DOM and XML, coding styles and the 'inheritance' model of Javascript. In short, the kinds of things professionals trying to build 'Googlesque' user interfaces will need. It's not a reference manual, and it's not really a 'cook book', it's something in between, and it is the best technical read I've come across for a while! I've learnt a lot - not least that Javascript is a lot more now than it was...
11 Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)