Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
16
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£41.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 October 2014
Excellent book that covers practically all the essentials.

Here are my positives (+) and areas for improvement (-)

+ The author explains all the nomenclature clearly
+ The copy is written in a way that it is very accessible and digestible
+ Very nice graphics that make memorising much easier
+ Very good introduction and summaries in each chapter
+ All important key terms are highlighted
+ Very good explanations on the connection between biology and psychology throughout the entire book
+ Representations of studies that support and oppose theories/hypotheses

- Maps that outline the brain, nervous system, etc. These maps are in Jim Barnes' book but I find Jim Barnes' book way less comprehensive and accessible. Also, Jim Barns doesn't explain the nomenclature.

Mr Kalat, thank you for such a wonderful resource of learning!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
This is a great companion to my undergraduate Biological Psychology module. It is easy to read and most importantly interesting. It conveys new information (I have not studied biology before) without being confusing nor simplistic.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2013
I had to get this book for my first psychology class and I am thrilled how brilliant it is. Everything is explained really clearly and the writer seems to be humorous with his comments in the text like "don't think too much or your brain cells will explode". This books is a really good start for anyone taking the path of psychology.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2015
I'm very happy with this purchase and it will cut down the cost of my fortnightly massages.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2015
great for first year psychology
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2013
Textbooks from universities and colleges can sometimes be so boring and difficult to understand expassilly if your not into biology that much like me but this book opens it all up it is so well explained and write in a coherent way, well it helped me a great deal. unlike the university books i got where much seems to be written in double dutch acadamic boring language this makes the whole subject interesting and easier to understand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
Would highly recommend this book if you're new to the subject area or working your way up. Nicely worded, yo the point - how it should be!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2016
Easy to comprehend and read - good purchase and had everything needed to cover for exam Bsc Hon Psychology 1st year
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2015
Took a while to arrive but the quality is good and it came undamaged.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2016
Needed book specifically for Uni
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)