Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 29 May 2017
I looked at this a few months ago and then didn't buy for some reason. With just over a week to go to an Open University End of Module exam, I buy it and now regret not getting this earlier. The first chapter alone was worth the cost as I now understand why ratios are used so much and how to manipulate them as well as using units and getting them correct first time. The book also has a great online facility with all the examples and questions in the book fully work out as well as great video tutorials. It doesn't go into all aspects of astronomy of course, but what it does cover is very well explained... Oh, how I wish I had got this months ago!!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 December 2017
Overall, a very pleasing and helpful text. There is an indication therein that it is possible to find related resources etc via an associated website. However, frustratingly, I cannot seem to access the latter and this has duly diminished my enthusiasm to award the full "5 stars"!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 June 2017
My grand-daughter's interest. I have a first in mathematics, but she understands more than I do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 April 2017
very well written. good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2017
OK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2018
Nice book but bought for my son so have no idea if he is finding it useful at University.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2018
Excellent: clear content and useful website to accompany the book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 August 2017
Lots of interesting mathematical methods used for astronomical phenomena. Goes well with Universe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 August 2013
Superb overview of the basic algebra, trig, geometry and arithmetic required to acquire a deeper, non-trivial understanding of astronomy/astrophysics short of extensive use of calculus and other more advanced mathematics.
Tomos
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2015
This is a superb book which contains clear, straightforward details of the mathematics associated with astronomy. The first chapter explains in plain language a number of fundamental methods and techniques which are used in the following chapters about the mathematics associated with topics such as gravity, light, stars and black holes. The book is an invaluable resource for anyone interested in astronomy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)