Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
17
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
4
3 star
4
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 May 2017
Great biography written by his mother
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2012
Most excellent to see a reprinting of the original book by Alan Turing's mother Sara Turing. Well worth a read by anyone interested in knowing a little more about this enigmantic Scientist.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2016
As previous reviewers have said it gives a mother's perspective on her son and by way of contrast his brothers contradictory chapter at the end.
It is interesting to note that when her son was talking to her about his theories she liken it to being in a fog! Snap.
That aside anything about this great man is worth reading as he was one of the greats responsible for our computers etc.
Having read this book I am now finding I want to know more about him and his death.
In 2014 someone gained access to his post-mortem report, it said he died from cyanide poisoning, but the note adds: "Death appears to be due to violence."
Now that leaves a lot of unanswered questions?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
Superb! An insight written largely by his mother. Hence it contained a 'Mother's love and tenderness'. A more personal insight than the 'clinical tomes' in scientifically based writings. This book also casts doubt upon whether his death by cyanide poisoning was really suicide - maybe a terrible accident by someone who could be a bit careless at time!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
the book has a reasonable price, it arrived in an excellent condition and in time; the book was sold at the London Science Museum when there was the Alan Turing exhibition in 2013 and I didn't buy it then because I was in a hurry, it is good in itself but also a fine souvenir from that excellent exhibition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2015
A fascinating read and insight into someone who was immensely influential in the development of computer computation. It is a useful primer for Andrew Hodges biography Alan Turing: An Enigma.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2016
Superb, How would England and the rest of the world been had this man lived. Totally different I believe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2015
A very succinct biography, albeit by his mother, who is factual, without being judgemental.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2015
What an incredible man with such an incredible original mind . What a waste!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2012
It is good to have Sara Turing's biography of her son made available in his centenary year, even if it perhaps tells the reader as much about her as about him. His brother's attitude to Alan's homosexuality is a frightening reminder of attitudes in what I assume were the 1950s, though there seems to be no indication of when the memoir as published here was written. [Reference is made (page xiv) to an earlier version of the document, but only one brief extract is provided.]

Though beautifully produced, I was disappointed to find a book from a distinguished academic press lacking an index. I was also surprised to see two different expansions of the abbreviation OBE (pages viii and 76) - neither of them correct.

Overall, this is something all Turing collectors will want for their libraries.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse