Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Steps Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
21
4.8 out of 5 stars

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 18 reviews(5 star). See all 21 reviews
on 29 June 2014
Wow wow wow i received my copy on thursday afternoon and was finished by thursday evening as the story paralysed my focus to keep turning the pages. My ending feeling after all that emotional disorientation was non other than PROUD. I looked at ur niece as she fitted the child like character and i shed tears of JOY to know she has and loves you and yours. You have shown that miracles do happen i give thanks to you for sharing just as you gave God thanks throughout your ordeal for sparing. xx
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
I have known the author, Malakh Zebulun for about 20 years, both as a colleague and a dear friend, but wasn't aware of the shocking abuse, which I now understand, after reading the book, had to be kept secret until she felt the time was right to go through the journey of self healing and talk about her experiences.

On reading this book I can't even imagine just how painful it must have been for her to recall and relive the sickening abuse that she endured over so many years and which started at such a young age and I have nothing but respect and admiration for the way her life has been portrayed in such a well written and courageous manor.

I found myself both crying and shouting "Oh please God, no" but at the same time unable to put this book down. How brave to share such a harrowing story in order to help others understand that for those people suffering abuse of any nature, there is a light at the end of the tunnel. NO MORE SECRETS is a must read book.

Malakh, you are a survivor, a true inspiration and an extremely talented woman and I am so proud to call you my "sister"
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2014
Firstly let me say what a pleasure it was to meet the author Malakh Zebulun who travelled to Birmingham to address an audience at the 'Songs Of Freedom' event, she bravely stood there telling her story who I can only say I am glad she didn't go too deep into detail as what she exposed verbally to the audience was enough to make me choke back emotions, any more detail & I know I would have been in tears!
Her account was of course enough for me to want my copy of the book. The journey from the start of the books account had you gripped, she left no stone unturned with detail which left me as the reader, cursing her abuser through gritted teeth. Her story is told as clearly as her memory serves her, the attention to detail indeed needed the 'WARNING' on page 3 in particular as it's so graphic & traumatic. Her survival of coping alone throughout, then the eventual realisation of her worth growing stronger makes you want to shout 'AMEN' at last, I am so glad she has found her calling and uses her journey to help others. Well done Malakh, you have Greatness within YOU! X
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A truly honest account of a woman re-discovering her true value and magnificence. The author had one heck of an awful childhood, which then leads to a troubled adulthood. Bit by bit though Malakh pealed back the lays of all the drama of her early life, and took back her power. She is now an example to all that you do not have to be a victim to the horrible circumstances of your past.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2016
It's a big WOW!!!!!
It's the first time I have read a book in couple of days! Malakh gave an insight to the graphic details of what she experienced as a child into adulthood. It show how much the black community need to wake up to this serious crime that is being pushed under the carpet. Favouritism, black sheep of the family, ignoring the signs, family get togethers...

I cried, I laughed and related a lot of what MZ described. It's sad to have to hear still of many childhood survivors remain quiet for many reasons, but hope if they read this book. Support, advice and information is available.

Thank you MZ for such a thought provoking and keeping it real.

Highly recommend
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
NO MORE SECRETS
A heartbreakingly honest read, which in the light of all the recent revelations regarding child abuse is poignant timely and needed. It is the kind of book that you have to recommend to someone because it is ultimately about healing and not sufferance.
I had to read it all in one day, I was gripped from the first paragraph and in fact cried at some points, distressed at the cruelty suffered by the author. No punches are pulled here, some of the writing is very graphic and hard to read, but so needed and the brutal honestly is refreshing. I hope others gain as much from this book as I have, I hope this book carries far and wide and touches those who live in darkness and encourage them to bring their stories out from the shadows and into the light. Child abuse is a serious crime with life long consequences, the author allows us to step into her world, suffer but also learn and heal with her. A highly recommended read, the kind of book that stays with you long after you have finished reading the last page.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
I have just finished reading NO more secrets,
I must congratulate Malakh on a truly inspiring book, No more secrets opened old wounds for me and closed them without drawn out self torture and pain. Your story mirrors the Young Black women’s experiences growing up in the70’s and 80’s. I hope that readers experiencing any of the issues in your book will draw solace in the reliance of Black women.
I am so pleased to see that your story has made you ready for the next stage of your life Congratulations on your nuptials.
Thank you for sharing your story , I realise now I did not call these worthless men into my life purposely , I am proud of who I am and the decisions I made to make myself safe . Your book helped me see this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
Wow......
This book arrived yesterday and I had read it before bed... A marathon four hour read.
What a journey you've had and what strength you have....
I am glad you were able to face all that came your way overcome it and turn it into positive....
You are a better woman than I , I felt so angry and hurt on your behalf and still do.....
The people that should've protected you at every turn failed you...
To think those b*****ds are walking around....
I knew You then it takes my breath away their are no words....
You've gained compassion and a desire to help others that you had to endure what you did.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
I was not looking forward to reading this book due to knowing the author... I know it would be a harrowing read for me knowing some of its content and the affection I have for the author who has had to live through it.
But, in saying that seeing the person the author is today it is quite unimaginable that she has been through these awful things and yet is thee nicest person you could EVER hope to meet! After enduring these things you might expect quite a jaded, bitter individual. Nothing could be more further from the reality!!
The book has lots of factual hard hitting information and is uplifting, showing that you really can come through the fire and be okay xxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2014
Malakh's experiences at young age made me feel shocked and be lost for words during reading the book. Without her story in details, it might not deeply understand why abusive behaviors must be immediately stopped and eliminated. I've learnt that a new path would be widely opened forward once anyone decided to face up to the past and overcome the difficulties.
She is independant, loved by everyone and dedicated to help those who was in abusive situation. That's why I strongly recommend the paperback for all adults.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)