Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's


on 29 January 2014
A game by game account of Manchester City's historic first league-title win in 1936-7 season. Newspapers and programmes from the time plus players' autobiographies, are used to create match reports and create period atmosphere. The lack of TV and film footage from the time means that this season is not as well known as the 1967-8 championship and so the book fill a gap in the knowledge of most modern fans. Of course, City then became the only club to win the title one year and to be relegated the next - but that's a subject for another day!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
Iv had this book about a week now but not had time to read it or even start it with it being Christmas etc.

Having looked through it for a few minutes though,it is so obvious how much work and research has gone into this book,it must have been a real labour of love.

Id recommend this book to footy fans but obviously blues,thanks Mr Neale.Your book has become my book number 71 of my City collection.I hope you have great success with this book and any other future related city books.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2015
GOOD BOOK
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2015
Brilliant,thanks
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2014
Excellent book, a must for any City fan, like me who is interested in our history. Would suggest it should be read by other clubs followers, like the rags and the red dippers, who go on about City's lack of history, who think that football started with the advent of the Premier league.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2013
Fascinating read. So well put together. Lots of facts and figures, this book must have been so well researched. A great first book from the author. Once started, the true City fan won't put it down until it's read. What I also found incredible was the facts and figures surrounding not just Manchester City but all the other teams in the league. It almost read like a very early version of Football Focus. You read it in real time about all the matches on each and every day of the season. I have a feeling this format and style could well be copied in the future. However, the original will be the best. But then, that's Manchester City
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
What a fab book! It's so well written with lots of facts and figures. An awful lot of research has gone into this - I can't put it down.
I bought several copies - one for myself and several more for other family members as late Christmas presents. My father, a lifelong City fan who is now 92, loves it! His favourite player of that time was Doherty and he was well pleased with him being on the cover. It has been great to hear him reminisce about many of the games he remembers attending during that season. So, a great book for him and also for myself and younger members of the family.
CAS
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
Very informative book,giving the reader an insight into not just Citys season,but the whole league as it was then.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here