Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 23 June 2014
I have always enjoyed watching Mark Halsey refereeing matches on television, the enjoyment and the comardery he had with the players and so I decided to read his autobiography and I was not disappointed. What brave people, both Mark and his wife were, to both have to fight a terrible illness and also have to look after their little girl. Mark not only had to fight his illness, he also had to fight his "bosses", people who have also refereed for years and should have helped him and his colleagues more. Mark Halsey should have refereed an F A Cup Final and also should have been made head of the referees, an honour all his true friends know he deserved. Mark, you are an inspiration to young and old people alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 June 2015
I have always liked Mark Halsey as a ref and felt that he and my club Everton had a mutual respect that isn't apparent with other officials. How he has been treated by his governing body is appalling, although Mark's obvious bitterness does tend to dominate the latter stages. I enjoyed discovering where Mark came from and how he developed. His tremendous fight against illness is inspirational. It's always gratifying to find the characters you dislike are also shown to be flawed by others so my opinion of Mike Riley seems vindicated although we'lol have to agree to disagree on Mark Clattenburg!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 December 2013
I am a referee, albeit at a very different level from Mr. Halsey. This book is a must-read for any men in black out there, but more than that, for any football fan. Mark Halsey was a great referee. This book tells you what he had to go through to achieve the success he did, and how a variety of things, chiefly the people who were supposed to have a duty of care to him, prevented him from achieving further honours. In life, cancer has been his biggest battle, but in refereeing, his biggest battles were with the powers that be. In most industries, they wouldn't get away with it, and thanks to Mr. Halsey's bravery in writing this book, they haven't, not completely.

Mr. Halsey retains his dignity while naming and shaming, and tells many a tale, the majority of which are happy stories, stories of friendships made and people showing the positive side of humanity. It has challenged many of my pre-conceived ideas about people - Ferguson, Rooney, Mourinho to name but three. I have also read Ferguson's book recently, and enjoyed it... but this was better. Heartily recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2014
i am a football fan and go to games/watch them on TV, but has not previously considered to role of the referee - except in a youve git to be joking ref context.

This book changed that. It is very well written, with funny anecdotes. You genuinely get a sense of his love of football.

Added Time offers more than the footballing insights though. Chronicling one mans battle with a disease which according to stats will effect many of us. In reading it you really get the sense the challenge Mark faced and the bravery in wanting to come back from the brink to do the job he was so eminently qualified to do.

Mark shares strong views on his former bosses particularity in their attempts prevent his return. All I can say is thank goodness Mark fought on - not only for football but also for others facing the road back from cancer.

I have bought this book for footballing friends and would recommend it to anyone who has a love of the beautiful game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2013
I have,read Graham, 'I love myself 'poll, also Jeff winters book but this is my favourite. Mark worked his balls off but got stopped from doing the big games because of politics and 'the red wine club which Mr poll, durkin the diver and Mike Dean were members. Loved his style of reffing like Phil dowd and being a level 4 ref myself I appreciate the the laws of the game and stories etc. Great read and fully recommend it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 August 2017
Enjoyed it,nice to see someone telling the truth about the petty politics of todays referees
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 April 2015
Mark Halsey shows true grit and determination to fight ill health along with what appears to be psychologically bullying from his bosses. As in many occupations now this is rife, a little power can be a dangerous weapon in the hands of some to whom is is given. It cost Mark Halsey financially to stick to his principals but retired with a clear conscience. A whistle blower of the highest order.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 November 2013
Co writer Ian Ridley went to a great amount of trouble in order to get the book published, his efforts were completely worthwhile. This excellent piece of work allows you into an area of football where little is generally known. Mark Halsey has had an incredible life, to have responded to his severely threatening illness and to have officiated again has shown incredible human quality. His story is inspiring to all, and an inspiration to cancer sufferers. His honestly with his own refereeing errors is something to be admired. There are to many same old, same old, football books on the market currently, with tired repetition.
This offers a refreshing alternative, the subject opened up fully, and the co writer captured it perfectly. Quite simply a must read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 April 2017
A warts and all account of Mark's experiences as a referee and his health issues. An amazing insight into the issues he faced from both his illness and his employers. A real eye opener.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2014
Being local to Mark Halsey, I read this mainly out of interest knowing all about his cancer battle and having dined many times at his restaurant. However, I very soon became engrossed in what really goes on behind the scenes in the world of refereeing. Having read the book I feel very angry about the way Mark Halsey was treated following his return to work following his fight with cancer. Not because he should be treated differently but the fact that he had worked so hard to get back to fitness only to be denied equal opportunities given to his peers. Thank you Mr Halsey for opening my eyes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)