Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 April 2014
Barnaby Adair and Inspector Stokes are back with another case, while their wives Penelope and Griselda stay at home unable to travel. With a murder at a country house party and mystery of a diamond necklace to solve. With advice from their wives, all is revealed and the guilty person caught.

A good read and it is a stand alone novel, although some characters appear in other stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
Thanks it is good will order from you again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
I enjoyed it, especially Penelope being pregnant and her way to deal with it. The mystery was a bit flat, being a novella it was doomed to be

Not sure if I like these novellas, I think I prefer the usual book size but nice as a small appetiser for a larger novel.

But, £2.50 is quite a lot for it, especially as it only comes as an e-book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
Stephanie Laurens has created a believable family and thier connections that is always a pleasure to pick up one of her books and see how they are fairingm The stories are always as intriguing as they are passionate. The backdrop of the Regency is as ever beautifully portrayed but without shying away from the darker side of the era
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
It was a pleasant read. The plot did not stretch you. Comparing it to a Georgette Heyer novel was misleading. The detail was not there and at times the book seemed more like a television costume drama. No pretence was made to use the language of the period. An easy read, but felt like it had been written to a formula.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
I enjoyed reading it and I am awaiting publication of the forth coming Barnaby cases. Ms Laurens is one of my favourite writers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
Another great book from Stephanie Laurens... Kept you gripped to find out who had done it right until the end
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2014
This is the first of a series of detective cum mystery romances.
Judging by her persistent tendency to a rather "gushing narrative, this tale is a considerable improvement.
There is much anachronistic dialogue but otherwise this is a page turner
Ms Laurens must have experienced either, very exciting sexual experiences, or wishes she had.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
I love this author and have read all her books. I enjoyed this one but found it rather dry although I liked Barnaby. The period was as usual described to perfection down to the last detail but I did not feel any involvement with the characters, probably just me as it is certainly well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse