Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
30
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 28 January 2014
This is the second in a trio of books which are, I feel, an essential part of any publishers toolkit. Like the Positive Trait Thesaurus the first few chapters cover the negative traits which will help the writer to develop a realistic character. It discusses how, characters, no matter how good or evil they are, need to display opposite traits which make the seem believable. There is an overview of the types of characters which are so deplorable that no one can identify with them and how these can be changed by the way ins which they are portrayed.

Following helpful and useful introductory chapters, the book becomes even more useful when the Thesaurus is used. This is more than your average Thesaurus, providing an in depth exploration of a word and its use in writing fiction. It provides a definition of the word, similar flaws, possible causes, associated behaviours and attitudes, associated thoughts, associated emotions, positive aspects, negative aspects, examples from film, overcoming this trait as a major flaw, and traits in supporting characters that cause conflict.

As a tool for writers this book cannot be faulted, and is in fact outstanding. This is a not to be missed book for all writers, whether new or established. Buy it now you will not regret it.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2014
A great guide that helps you steer away from using the same tired old phrases over and over again.
It lists all the negative traits with an explanation of internal and external reactions, the types of people that may exhibit these reactions, the downfalls of these traits and gives examples of films in which those types of characters have been portrayed successfully.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
Highly recommend this book. Insightful. Gives you gritty options to create realistic characters. Like the other two in the series, the opening chapters delve into the numerous negative aspects of human nature and potential causes. Great food for thought giving the writer interesting choices.
It is well worth reading the website, Writers helping Writers, the book muse. A great aid for all writers.
Can't thank the Authors enough.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
I have already used this book in my writing and find it very useful. Yes I know I could just use a dictionary or thesaurus but it had words that I hadn't thought of for some situations listed at the front and saved a lot of time flicking through pages of a wordier book . I liked it so much I bought the other two in the set.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2014
This book is more important than the `positive traits thesaurus`. If your antagonist is evil, this will help you A) make them more evil and B) understand why. Brilliant and necessary for character arc, or not, if your character is a sociopath. Wouldn`t be without it now. Buy all 3 of these thesaurus`s together for complete guide to character development.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
If you write for pleasure or for a living, you need this in your tool kit. Just like the other two of these essential reference books, it will help your writing no end.

Finding Esta: #1 The Supes Series (Urban Fantasy Paranormal & Mystery) by Shah Wharton
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2015
These books by Angela Ackerman are a first class aid for writers. I now have all of the series and love dipping into them for ideas. The website Writers helping Writers is also excellent to use along with these books.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
i chose this rating because it is awesome and i shall explain why too. The book covers a whole range of negative traits and it helps you understand your characters in a depth of why they have developed a trait because of certain things that have happened to them. This is fantastic because the book explains the reasons as to why the character could be a nagger - or cynical - it will show assosiated thoughts and behaviours - and the best part is it will show the positive and negative traits of every single trait.
I didnt think of this before i picked up this book in this way. For example, an abrasive character - isnt very much liked and mostly people think when they are around him or her that they dont care if they hurt please or offend and people struggle to like them... so how can you find anything positive about this trait? But with an abrasive character you can form a kind of respect for them like you dont have to fluster yourself and seccond guess them, you know what they think or feel because they are telling you and showing you, and when you need someone to honnestly reveal a difficult truth - these are the characters to do it.
It will show you their assisiated thoughts that they will think like... i'd say just get the book. It is a book to sink your teeth into and you can get to explore around every character you ever choose to write - just get it - i cant express how much this book has helped me give my characters layers and how they respond to each other...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 7 March 2015
Excellent fiction writer's tool. Helps you bring characters to life. I can't believe I have only just discovered this book. It helps you develop perfectly flawed characters to make them seem as real and believable as possible and provides tips on showing these flaws in your writing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
It's a very helpful book, you can find everything you need on negative traits, their possitive sides, similarities with othr traits, examples from book or movie characters.
Everything you need is there.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse