Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 24 April 2017
I expected an in-depth book with great detail. The book is ok, gives some advise, but not in detail. Little disappointing as I've seen similar notes reading online or youtube.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 October 2012
I am a native English speaker who needs to take the IELTS fo migration purposes. To be honest I thought the IELTS would be easy for me. I got a big shock when I looked at some of the past exams and didn't score very well. I then started to panic as I need a band 8 in all 4 parts!

There are many books out there along with information on the internet and it is hard to choose the right one - if anything there is maybe too much information. This book is different to all the others out there in that it gives you confidence. It teaches you in a friendly, effective and positive way which is great. There is also a very helpful website linked to the book by the same author.

Hopefully, the proof will be in the pudding as they say and I will be able to come back on here soon to report I got the result I need.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 February 2016
'Don't judge a book by its cover' the British idiom advises, but 'Ace the IELTS' (general training, third edition) serves up a metaphorical exception to the rule. In clear, understandable English, there's an abundance of confidence building advice and learning material that will make the student want to practice and practice more - the key to ultimate IELTS success.
'Ace' is written in a style that urges the student to turn to the next page to see what other tips and gems are hidden. There are so many with every page devoted to provide must-know advice for exam success.
Each chapter/sub-section is completely autonomous vs others, this means the student and/ESL teacher (like myself) can elect to focus on a specific area, i.e, speaking, listening, reading or writing, and without compromising.
With strong advice/expertise to heed such as 'time' being the student's real worst exam-day enemy, the author advises the development of time-management skills, and to the minute. From how to identify 'clues', use your own short-cuts like abbreviations in columns, transfer to answer sheet and how to tackle multiple-choice questions are priceless tips. There are also reminders on how to avoid mistakes, completing all the answers, but not necessarily in sequence, and to only use a pencil!
Ace's specific techniques on how to tackle the tricky listening test will help overcome the most extreme of test-day jitters. If ever there was a one-stop shop of a study guide this book fits the bill for students and for their mentors alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 December 2014
This book has been really, really helpful, and I would heartily recommend it to anyone preparing for IELTS. Clearly and simply written, and very well-organised - and not expensive, either!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2016
A very clear concise book. It is well laid out and has a lot of useful tips and practice exercises. I bought it a week ago and have been using it since the first day it arrived. Very useful for preparing students for the IELTS General Training exam.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2014
Useful handbook on how to approach the General IELTS. Very good guidelines on how to approach the writing tasks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 October 2015
This book is helpful
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 October 2014
prompt service. good product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 June 2015
Terrible for those brought up speaking English sitting the exam. Much better resources online for free.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 July 2014
Well worth buying, passed first time and could never have managed it without using this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)