Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
38
4.8 out of 5 stars
Marching With Caesar-Antony and Cleopatra: Part I-Antony: Volume 4
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.83+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 6 June 2017
I have enjoyed the previous books in this series, but this one become far to confusing as to who is fighting who, counter tactics after counter tactics in every battle, who is fighting for who on a day to day basis, continuous power struggle in Rome. It is a wonder that the Empire lasted so long or how it managed to become an Empire.
Don't know if I will manage to finish this book or purchase the next, Give me Fronto (Marius Mules) or Cato (Simon Scarrow) everytime.
Really thought Pullus was going to join these favourites of mine.
DJ
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2015
great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
The story of Titus Pullus, the Primus Pilus of the Tenth Legion embarks on Marcus Antonius doomed invasion of Parthia. The largest Roman Army at the time to march into hostile lands, where the enemy cannot always be identified as friend or foe. This all takes place in the early days of Marcus Antonius famous lust affair with Cleopatra.
Again, Ron Peakes writing style makes the story a page turner, with excellent attention to detail, narrative and captures the attitudes of soldiers going through every hardship encountered on campaign. And some more.
You can easily imagine yourself marching and fighting with the Legions and the despair they must have felt at the huge loss to life of friends and comrades.
This book and the whole Marching with Caesar series can be highly recommended to any reader of Roman History or history in general.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
can not fault this terrific read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
Yet again, another amazing book by Mr Peake. With every book he brings his characters to life with stunning ability. You can feel the pain, the happiness, the anger, the fear, everything that the characters in the book. The ability to do this makes me come back to these books again and again.
The author has also done a LOT of research into the book, giving you facts about roman history, where as other authors just make it up as they go.
I could not recommend reading these books enough. You'll learn a lot about Roman history, but you'll also nearly feel like you're right there in the ranks with them.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
This series of books, are simply the best stories that I have ever read, concerning the life of a common soldier in the roman army. A well crafted story, that moves along at a steady pace, that kept me enthralled from start to finish. The characters are so realistic and the descriptions of life in the legions, gives the reader a real taste of what it would have been like to live in those turbulent times.
Being an ex infantryman, I could identify with RWs vivid descriptions of life in camp and also on campaign. He has really got inside the soldiers mind and managed to bring it to life for the reader to savour as if we were indeed present in those far off times! Well done RW!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
I didn't know much about Mark Antony's invasion of Parthia so this book proved a superb informer of the trials and tribulations of Mark Antony's campaign R.W. Peake has done a great job with these books I consider that they are in the same class as Coleen McCulloughs Master of Rome series and that is very high praise indeed... This series of books concentrate on the life of a Centurion and the lives of the legionaires he commands the soldiers at the sharp end If you like it's a near as dammit true to life rendition of roman history these books are - supreme!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2016
I discovered Mr Peake very recently and since then I have been totally absorbed by the stories of Titus Pullus. I cannot wait to squire the fourth book in the series!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
The next chapter in this series picks up where it left off, which I for one enjoy the continuity. It is interesting to see more of what happened after Caesars assassination, as at times writers of history tend to gloss over the length of time taken to get from one event to the next. This book fills in those gaps, as well as Anthony's steady decline and fall from grace.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
This book picked up the pace again (if you haven't then read the first book!) and it is a thouroughly enthralling read. Well researched and continues the adventures of our first person hero. Mr Peake has a wonderful ability to make you smell and hear the echos of the past. Looking forward to the next one. Hope we don't have to wait too long!
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse