Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
24
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
23
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.16+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 January 2014
Since reading the first book about the unlikely defence of a village against marauding horseman I've been a fan of Sam Barone's hero, Eskkar. The stories just get better as subsequent books develop the idea of one of civilisations first empires! The imagination behind the various tales has been captivating and I would recommend this series to anyone who likes a good, old fashioned "ripping yarn".
This book expands the story of Eskkar's growing empire and how intelligence, clear thinking and a great deal of luck can achieve the impossible.
Keep going Sam, let's have more!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
I have really enjoyed the whole Eskker saga series, my only disappointment is that they are not all on the Kindle I had to read 2 paperbacks
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2013
It ticks the boxes as a decent read, sex voilence and swords. You meet old friend but also see Sargon continoue his journey to becoming the king. Plus reminds readers why those who messed with the step tribes better come ready for a fight. A lesson future generations failed to heed. From here I am not sure where the next will go, but I assum more sargon and his journey to taking his fathers throne and his sons own journey to kingship.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2013
i stumbled on this author vi kindle.if you like sharpe,hornblower this is the book for you.the main characters are a barbarian eskkar and a slave girl given to him called trella.these two become king and queen of the city of akkad. why is it worth reading? well written .you are involved in the battles but also in the planning and thought behind the actions taken. lookup other books available on kindle by this author.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
Just finished two of Sam's latest Crackers - "Battle for Empire" and "Clash of Empires". The latter - IMHO - is his best yet. Both are tremendous books and highly recommended. Best to read the entire series from Book I as they just get better and better.

Sam, please don't kill off Eskkar - or his son Sargon just yet - we want lots more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2015
Another great story, and a page-turner just like the others in the series. Each book stands alone, but there is greater interest if you start at the beginning with "Dawn of Empire" and follow them in order, to see how the city of Akkad grew in power from the earliest days. Probably the best series of novels set in the ancient world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2014
Another very entertaining book in the Eskkar Saga. Eskkar is getting older and but more experienced and wise, with the help of Trella and his other commanders, and can still formulate an intruiging campaign, which he has to in this book. A very enjoyable continuation of the series. Plenty of action and plots.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
Eskkar series is much, much better and more interesting than most other historical/adventure novels going around. Barone can actually write and you are pulled along at top speed.I ejoy books by people by Simon Scarrow etc but this is in a different class. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2014
I have been reading the Eskkar series from the beginning , this latest episode I could not put down. Sam Barone's writing is up there with best of the historical fiction writers out there. I am just about to start ploughing through 7 & 8, happy days.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
Sam Barone's story of Arkaad and its growth through the leadership of Eskaar and Trella in six epic episodes is superb. Against all comers they exhibit the strength and ingenuity necessary to forge their "Empire". Superb.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse