Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
23
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 January 2013
This is the fourth book in the Trella & Eskkar saga with the coming of age of their son Saragon and the unification of the people's of the Steppes a lovely my paced book full of the action and adventure you have come to expect from Sam Barone this was essentially two tales in one and leading up to an exciting climax in the next book. looking forward to the conclusion.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
Few historical fiction books are written about other empires or people's other than the Roman, Saxon, Viking, Norman and Mongol empires. Here is a series about the rise of the Mesopotamian civilization, and is both exciting, well written and informative
A great read.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
having read all the books in the series this one is faster paced than the rest and left me wanting more cant wait for the next installment
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
After the disappointment of the prequel novel, which i found a little episodic, Sam Barone returns to form with a novel which equals the best in the series. The plotting is tight throughout, and the battles are intensely realistic. Barone introduces Esskar and Trella's son and successfully takes the series into the next generation. I can't wait for the next episode.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
Every book I have read in the series of 5 books has been brilliant. I couldn't put these books down once I had started to read them.
Sam Barone is a fantastic writer and keeps the characters strong and interesting through out the book with really exciting story lines. These books are about the warring tribes of the Steppes people who just took what they wanted from other tribes. I have sent Mr Barone a couple of E Mails to congratulate him on his work and both time he took the time to reply and thank me for reading his books. A true gentleman.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2014
This is yet another well-written and engaging story in the Eskkar saga. The plot primarily focuses on Eskkar's wayward son, Sargon, and develops the story of the years following Akkad's rise. The storytelling is well paced and yet doesn't feel rushed, and it's an easy and enjoyable read.

My one complaint with the book is that it opens with one storyline which then leads immediately into a retrospective retelling of Sargon's early life, which forms the basis of the entire book. The last chapter / epilogue then returns to the original plot line which opened the book, but without having made any real progress.

I thoroughly enjoyed the book, but was left feeling that it was tangential to the Eskkar/Akkad storyline, as if the author became distracted after the first chapter and ended up writing a totally different book to the one intended, and only remembered in time for the epilogue.

This essentially means that the original storyline is not just undeveloped, but in fact it feels like the whole book is just a lead up to the next book, instead of simply being valued as a standalone story about Sargon. Unfortunately that has left me feeling like the first and last chapters were hastily tacked on to try and justify this book in the continuing series about Eskkar / Akkad, which is a shame as it's a good story on its own.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
Continuing the Eska stories in a way that captivates you the moment you start reading these books is amazing, Sam Barone is an accomplished author who is able to grasp the reader in the first few lines of his writing, as he leads you through the main book interlaced with intrigue, subterfuge , mystery and stunning fights as the story unfolds before your eyes, mixed with romance and history, I love this story and cant wait for the next book in the series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
A fitting climax to a most enjoyable triology. Sam Barone has written a believable and enduring epic of an early civilisation. My wife also enjoyed the stories after I recommended them to her.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2015
Another great story in this excellent series. Sam Barone knows how to bring ancient history to life with believable characters, authentic background and fine action sequences. He matches or surpasses any of the other historical novelists, and deals with a time and place (ancient Mesopotamia) which receives far less attention than ancient Egypt, Greece and Rome. The quality of writing has never dropped - highly recommended for anyone interested in the ancient world. Each book is self-contained, but it's probably best to start with "Dawn of Empire" and work through the books in sequence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
Another enjoyable read. I think every reader who is a parent will recognise a teenager developing individual characteristics, based on their experience. And Sam catches this well with Eskaar's son.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse