Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Morrissey Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 21 August 2015
Wonderful memories from the gorgeous Robin Ellis, the original Ross Poldark. This is a must for all Poldark fans of the 1976 version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2015
Had the original, love Poldark! Robin Ellis is a great guy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2012
I loved reading all the stuff about how Robin got the part, where the cast rehearsed, how Dennis the Horse tended to steal the show during filming, and what the cast thought of each other and their respective parts. All the old photos, too.

And now I finally understand what happened after that second season and why they didn't continue with the series.

The second part, about Robin's interest in healthy cooking. made me look up his website where I found a bunch more photos.

I've seen the color version of the book. Not all the photos are in color, but there's an excellent series of color photos apparently from Robin's own collection, and another from Winston Graham. The same photos are in this version, but in black/white.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2012
The first version of Making Poldark was written when Robin was 35 years old--immediately after POLDARK became a hit on British TV. This newly revised and expanded version came out in 2012, when Robin was 70! It is 9000 words LONGER and contains many new photographs from Robin's personal collection and from the private albums of the late Poldark author, Winston Graham.

Of special interest to Poldark fans will be his description of the failure of the third TV series of Poldark. The new edition also picks up the story of Robin's life post Poldark--from West End acting to voice-overs. It covers his move to France and new career as a cookbook author. He discusses his diagnosis with Type 2 diabetes and the effect that has had on his life and his cooking. Just as Winston Graham kept expanding the Poldark saga, so Robin's memoir continues to grow too!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
Very enjoyable book with great behind the scenes info about the filming of 'Poldark', with some great laugh out loud moments. This isn't a book by someone who is making himself look good, it's an honest portrayal of a working actor who almost accidentally found himself in the limelight. It left me with the impression that Robin Ellis would be nice to meet in person and I'm glad I bought the book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2012
This book was written with feeling & was personnal. Loved the poldark series and this book brought it all back to life. A must for all robin Ellis and Poldark fans.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2013
Cornwall is my home. I loved the original books on which the series was based. Although down the road, never got to see any filming; this book, written with great good humour is a pleasure to have.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
I used to own the original edition, so I was really pleased to find this. The catch-up to date, was well worth it too
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
It deserves a brilliant rating. It's a great keepsake for all Poldarks millions of fans worldwide.Beautifully written by its author and star Robin Ellis.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
thank you robin ellis for a informed book about the poldark masterpiece loved the progams made us move to cornwal to live
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)