Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
15
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 February 2012
This is a thoughtful, generous, thought-provoking book that takes on the biggest subject possible and makes it comprehensible. Miraculously it doesn't feel like an abridged version of a longer work. There's space to breathe, and think. The simple illustrations are indicative of of the atmosphere of a book that is a gentle meditation on truth and reality guided by a man with convictions he's unafraid to share. Reading through the book once has given me the appetite to read through it again and to meditate on its wisdom. It's the sort of book I could buy for friends because it's both brief and gentle, with precise but uncomplicated language. Like this review, I hope.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
I had not read any Ellis Potter before, but had heard of the man by reputation. I was not, therefore, very sure of what I was going to find when I opened the pages of "3 Theories of Everything".

My first impression was one of delight: I love the way this man communicates. There is a rhythm and originality to his writing which invites you into the subject, pulls up a comfy chair and makes you very welcome indeed to the discussion. I accept that this is only part of the value of a book like this, but I have read enough books by churlish, hectoring authors which do not shrink from giving the impression that they regard you as beneath them if you happen to disagree with their views, to value someone who writes graciously, carefully and generously - even when describing views that he himself has seen through, and moved beyond.

The second experience was that of surprise. Surprise that as one attempts to understand the multiplicity of worldviews that bombard us, they do essentially fall into three main categories - Monism, Dualism and Trinitarianism. Potter accepts that in his trifold distinction between worldviews he is presenting a simplified ("grossly reductionistic") model, but in practice it works. For instance, later in the book he shows how modern atheism slots neatly into the category of 'Monism', and with it therefore carries the core theme of an absence of absolute meaning. Indeed, as he correctly deduces, within an atheistic universe, meaning is essentially an illusion.

This is a very useful book. The clarity and simplicity of language is echoed in the very clean, spartan design and type-setting. It is a book that draws you in and on - and at only 111 pages, it is not such a daunting prospect that people might feel put off from reading it. It fits into the category of a 'Making Sense of Stuff' book, and should form a springboard into other studies. I am very grateful to my friends, Huw & Alison, for recommending Mr Potter's book so warmly.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2012
If you are wondering why there are three theories of everything, well, read this book. If you are wondering why this matters to everyone, read this book. If you are a skeptic about various religions and world views, read this book. It is only 111 pages! You won't be wasting your time.
Ellis writes well, compassionately and with great wisdom. It is an extremely pithy book. Get your teeth into this one and you won't be disappointed, you will come away with questions, which is an excellent place to begin.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2012
Ellis Potter's new book is a must read. After being a Zen Buddhist for many years, and then becoming a Christian at Swiss L'Abri, Ellis has a sharp grasp on the significance of worldviews. His insights are thought provoking and challenging, while his style is clear and accessible. Ellis deals with three central questions for humanity: What is reality? Why do we suffer? What is the meaning of life? These are big questions and Ellis takes them on with flair and grace. The relevance of the answers he offers gently turns your world upside down. 3 Theories of Everything can be read in a day, but valued for a lifetime.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
This book is a great quick read, profound without being wordy or highbrow, and simple without being simplistic. There is truth to be found in this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2014
A useful comparison of different world views - this book has a lot of hidden gems tucked away. It's simple overview of alternative beliefs, the discussion of absolutes and it's genuine approach to tussling with quite abstract concepts really made me think. An easy to read book about hard to grasp ideas.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2012
I havent read the book yet, but have attended lectures by the author, which were excellent. He author was trained in both Zen-Buddhism and Christianity, thus knowing both intimately, allowing unique insights into the two ways of looking at the world: monism and (trinitarian) theism. To these he adds the common modern position of atheism (which usually involves the belief that there is no reality beyond or behind physics: physicalism). He describes the overlaps and contrasts between the 3 views in a fresh way that is more satisfying way than the vague spirituality offered by some. He treats all views with respect, but does not pretend all are identical, and does reveal his own preference along the way.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2014
Illuminates the central issues and their ramifications - you can choose your worldview, but you can't choose its consequences! - without getting lost in fluff and details. Highly recommended for people who want to understand the way your personal philosophy has direct consequences for personal life but also society. Good style, very readable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2017
Ellis Potter's 3 Theories of Everything is an evangelical text. He asserts that Buddhists regard relationships as 'evil' which is just weird. He has an interesting take on Monism and Dualism from a Christian perspective - just don't expect a balanced view as there is an evangelical Christian agenda here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2017
This book is helpfully short and clear. It helps Buddhists and Christians to understand each other and have fruitful dialogue. Gets over how a Trinitarian outlook is fundamentally relational, whereas the Buddhist view that all is one isn't relational at root.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)