Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 May 2017
This is an amazing book. The photos are amazing, and the text very informative. The one thing I have not (yet) found is a thorough treatise on artificial vs natural flavourings (vanillin / vanilla, truffle oil / truffles etc.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2017
It's a bit much for me. Not sure about this direction of cooking any more. Ordinary people are losing the ability to cook.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2016
After just i few usages the binding fo the books started to break down. After many emails and delays i finally got the answer that they did not to accept is as manufacturing error and not to follow european consumer law

A book for this kind of money should hold for a single read through

I will start a legal case in Sweden now. To bad
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2012
It will take a while to get through this enormous book. It looks good though and we look forward to try some recipes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2011
When I first recieved this huge box from Amazon I was suprised by the sheer size and weight of this "Cookery Bible".
It has to be the most interesting cookery related book I have ever read, (and I own over 800 cookery books) Michel Bras essential cuisine was my all time favourite but hey this has just blown that away. The depth and interesting facts are amazing.
As scientific as it is gastronomic, it is virtually an encyclopedia of cooking, a visual roller coaster through the world of food and cooking tools, as well as a compendium of 1,500 recipes.
Ultimately, it is a manifesto declaring that the new form of laboratory-inspired cooking -- led by Grant Achatz in the United States; Heston Blumenthal in England; and Ferran Adrian & agrave;, the father of this cuisine, in Spain -- is a cultural and artistic movement every bit as definitive as Impressionism in 19th-century France or Bauhaus in early 20th-century Germany. It proclaims a revolution "in techniques, aesthetics and intellectual underpinnings of gastronomy."
This edition is printed in ENGLISH and using METRIC measurements.....Please be aware that the "Black edition" is printed in GERMAN....
As I read further into this publication there are a few mistakes with measurements but this is not the be all end all as after a couple of trials you will see they are very minor. And the Physics can be a little "out of sink" but hey this is a cook book not a book for physics graduate studying for their bachelors degree.
This is not recommended for the home cook (But would look amazing on your coffee table). If it is super reinforced..
This is serious reading cookbook but you will become a very knowledgeable chef after digesting all this mammoth collection of books has to offer!!
Enjoy
66 Comments| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2014
I'm not going to write a detailed review, simply because other users have done it very well so no need to try doing it better..

Here is my bit:

This in not a cookbook, it is the best encyclopedia ever written about food & cuisine. It just happens to have 1500 recipes in it which are there so you put into practice the different techniques described.

Don't get me wrong, you will surely impress people with them but if you're looking for a book that gives you ideas for meals this is not the one. But if you're looking for a book that has the answer to all your questions, if you want to improve your cooking skills, want to master them or are just keen to learn new ones, then unless you're Heston Blumenthal's twin this book is what you're looking for.

It costs a lot, but the knowledge it contains is priceless.
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2016
Great content but unfortunately had to return them under warranty as the largest volume (2) had a manufacturers defect.
Pages are bonded into booklets. There are many booklets and each is bonded at the spine to form a volume.
On Volume 2, these booklets weren't bonded properly. They had started to break away from the spine.
A shame that such a comprehensive collection was spoiled by sub standard workmanship.
Received a full refund.
review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
A facinating book, from a proffessional chefs point of view this changes the ball game completly, the new bible of the cuisine together with Ali Bab, le guide culinaire & Gastronomic.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2011
Not only was this 23.5 kilogram, plexiglass-wrapped cookbook almost impossible to carry, it is also the most extravagant book I have ever laid my hands on. Honestly, I even wash my hands each time I open one of its 5 main volumes.

If you decide to order this book, it is relevant to understand in advance that this book is basically a reference guide on contemporary (call it 'modernist') techniques. Don't expect to learn how to make your traditional sauce Béarnaise but you will learn a whole lot of techniques that make even the great classics better, easier or more consistently than ever before. All techniques are extremely well explained, documented and illustrated by recepies and the photography is outstanding.

To me (I am an amateur chef) this book is both a revelation and a source of inspiration. Some techniques may be difficult at home (like cooking with liquid Nitrogen), but hey ... you only get the impossible done by reaching for the ridiculous.
I won't need to buy any other books on new techniques for a loooong long time. These 2450 pages will keep me busy and excited for a quite a while.
11 Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2013
I bought this set for my boyfriend for christmas. He is a chef and has longed for this for ages. Very expensive but definitely worth it for the proffesional chef!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse