Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 7 April 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is the first book from the Amazon Encore programme that I have encountered. Set up to reprint books that might have missed their audience the first time round, it is a worthwhile attempt to give authors a second chance at finding new readers.

Daniel Annechino's thriller is not the most challenging read you will encounter. It is a fast-paced story of a psychopath and the detective out to track him down - not particularly original but the writing zips along at a good speed and you are never bored.

There is a lot of violence in the book - described in some disturbing detail. So if that is not your kind of thing - probably best avoid it. However it doesn't feel gratuitous and it does add to the tension of the narrative.

I suspect this would be the sort of title you will pick up to take on holiday - undemanding and diverting enough to fill in an afternoon or two on the beach or by the pool.

Nothing substantially wrong with it - but nothing to really lift it above the many other books in this genre.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
Very good read. I couldn't put this book down - just wanted to know what was going to happen next.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
Read this one first. They are both separate stories but this one sort of leads you into the next.
Really enjoyed both
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
A real make you hold your breath and gasp thriller. Couldn't put it down. Loved it! Bring on the next!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 April 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This first novel by a former book editor is a great disappointment. The plot is predictable, as are the characters, and the plot is not nearly as exciting as it needs to be to provide any interest in this somewhat overcrowded genre. The predictability of the characterisation is incredible; a single mother detective, fighting against sexual predjudice, is given the lead investigators position to hunt down a serial killer in the southern Californian city of San Diego, alongside her equally predictible hispanic, overweight assitant who is in love with her but too shy to tell her. How either of these characters could be so crass as to get themselves in the corners they manage to is asking the reader to set aside any good sense he/she might possess. If she really does suspect the tall, good looking, blue eyed, physiotherapist to be the sought serial killer, would she really have accepted his invitation out to dinner without any sort of back-up. And to ask us to believe that she picked his car out of the hospital parking lot as she drove through it as the perpetrator's car, well really. Sorry Daniel, but this one is just not good enough, back to the day job.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 April 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I really wanted to like this book and the premise of the story promised to make for an exciting read. The story itself is good but the execution is, I am afraid, very poor. When I found myself laughing out loud at some of the dialogue uttered at what should have been the climax of the tensest part of the story, I had to wonder if I could have spent the time invested in this book more wisely.
The author seems to be unaware of how normal people speak. Some of the conversations give the impression of having been filtered through a mind that had only ever processed emotion or conversation through the medium of the comic book . The characters seem to be aware of the fact that they are fictional creations, calling the machinations and surprises that they experience and encounter "twists". Well, yes, they were, but I don't think I have ever heard anyone, real or fictional, refer to such events happening to themselves in this way.
As I say the story itself is good and when situations involving in-animate objects are described, perfectly readable but as soon as someone starts talking, interacting with another human being or thinking, realism makes a swift exit.
Maybe a co-writer would have helped this new author to realise what, as I say, is a good premise for an exciting story (Or an episode of TV's Criminal Minds).
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The serial killer vs female detective niche is pretty congested and any new author who dives feet-first into this genre is taking a big risk. If you're treading in the slaughter-soaked footsteps of Clarice and Hannibal then you need to have some new tricks up your sleeve, or else be able to re-tell the same style of story with grit and verve and great characters.
Sadly, `They Never Die Quietly' has none of these attributes. It features an uninspired protagonist (female cop, battling the inherent sexism of the system, struggling to bring up her child without the support of her feckless ex-husband, can't stomach an autopsy without turning green, takes ludicrous and unnecessary risks which no real cop would ever consider), and a villain who felt like a tenth-generation faded Xerox copy of Norman Bates.
The writing is functional and gets you from page to page without any fuss, but it fails to inspire fear or any feelings of attachment. The plot is laid out for you in the back-cover blurb; once you've read that then you can pretty much fill in the other 250 pages for yourself. And there are a couple of descriptive sections - no doubt intended to impress us with background details of police infrastructure -- which feel like lists lifted straight out of Wikipedia.
It's a real shame: I relish being scared witless by taut serial killer stories which feature compelling, evil-and-attractive morally ambiguous characters. But there's nothing that sophisticated here. Just hammer in the nails and see if that'll shock people. I probably won't bother reading the follow-up book...
4/10
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"They Never Die Quietly," is the debut novel, a police procedural/ crime drama/thriller, of Daniel M. Annechino, a former book editor who spent over two years researching serial killer profiling, biographies, and novels before composing it. He is a native New Yorker who has relocated to the sunnier shores of Southern California where he has set his work, in the lovely navy town of San Diego.

His book tells us about homicide detective Sami Rizzo, a young, single mother who could stand to lose a few pounds, and has a testy relationship with her own mother, on whom she must rely for babysitting. She is ambitious, and is assigned to head a task force investigating the apparent appearance in the city of a serial killer, Simon, who is stalking, kidnapping, and murdering - in a particularly gruesome way - young mothers. Will she get too involved? Does the sun rise in the East and set in the West?

Annechino's plot is very linear, not particularly complex, and occasionally shows the presence of an inexperienced writer at the computer. The violent contents will sometimes make it tough going for the reader. Furthermore to judge by this work, Annechino is a lazy author. His narrative writing is serviceable enough, but he utilizes a lot of television-y plot shortcuts, and even more clichés; his characters are fifth- or sixth-generation photocopies, and he surely didn't lose much sleep crafting the killer's interior monologues with his dead mother. Nor does he render the State of California, or the lovely city of San Diego, with any fire or feeling. I think he'd better work harder on his projected sequel.
44 Comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 May 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
First, ignore the publisher's puff at the beginning of the book that claims "it stretches the limits of the serial killer genre". The only thing this book stretches is the number of cop story clichés it can squeeze into its 281 pages.

Single-parent cop? Check... Scumbag ex-husband sub-plot? Check... Unlikely coincidences? Check... Over-elaborate methods of killing? Check... Gung-ho approach to confronting the killer? Check... And so on.

Having said all that, it would be unfair to say I didn't enjoy the book. Despite the similarities to any number of detective novels, the pace of the story - no doubt aided by its relative brevity - never lets up and towards the end especially the desire to see what happens next is satisfyingly strong.

The characters, while stereotypical, are largely realistic and the emotional reactions of most of those involved in the killings ring true. Simon, the villain of the piece, is a religiously-motivated Norman Bates clone, however, and should really have been given a moustache to twirl while lying in wait for his next victim.

Ultimately, I would categorise this as a holiday book: an easy read that can be dispensed with in one go, or over a number of sessions, without too much concentration needed to avoid losing the plot threads. Should you leave it behind on the beach, though, you'll not shed too many tears.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 June 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I really enjoyed this book. I took it on holiday with me and by the end of the flight i was gripped and couldnt put it down. needless to say it didnt last long but it was a great read. all the characters are very belivable and although a little greusome in places it is well warrented when its used. This was a great summer read for those who like a little gore with their crime novels.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here