Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
862
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 July 2017
this age old book is still very relevant, the lessons in there though related to wars, can be highly and directly related to any competitive environment, be it school, politics, soccer and what have you. helps you to manage any opposition rightly without losing grounds, and prepares you greatly for any feat ahead. its a great read, and I recommend to any one looking to take on new territories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2016
This is a great book which explores the depths of military tactics whist taking into mind philosophical and psychological factors. For years the art of war has been used to help people when making a strategy in a military situation; this book is still even used today to aid and help in the same way.

The way that the book is wrote makes it extremely easy to read. I would suggest that everybody reads this book to see if it could, perhaps, make a positive impact in your life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2016
Very good book. It is short and straight to the point, nothing else needed. Sun Tze's view apply for many parts in our live: work and social live. To me, it also applies on my own skill in fighting. As a martial artist, these things are very important to know and they help become better. It definitely is a good book I can recommend to all, who would like to feel some enlightenment. :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Fantastic classic. Well worth a read, even in our modern age, there is much that can be applied to everyday life.

It's as though we are living in a war, but not realising it for what it is...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2016
Great edited version. Easy for my 12 year old to read and comprehend, he had been wanting to read The Art of War for a while, after it was mentioned in several other books he had read. This is only a small book and will not take long, but gives an understanding of the original text and is translated well. We will buy a more extended version in future to consolidate the information he has gained from it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2017
This was a gift for someone it's more like a booklet or brochure than an actual book and has staples holding bit together if you are after the book this is not for you it's a short itemised list.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2015
An interesting treatise written thousands of years ago in an age of anarchy and chaos in China (The warring states period), Sun Tzu goes to showcase how war - in his view - is inevitable and therefore preparations, tactics and strategies have to be made in order to attain total victory.

A particular point he makes that strikes resonance: All war is based on deception. How true is this in the modern age...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2014
Reading this book, i found it very compelling and an instant page-turner. Ιt is an accumulation of all the wisdom the Eastern philosophy can provide on military matters. Althought it was written centuries go it can provide valuable insight not only on military decisions but also on personal matters and everyday life. I highly recommend it not only to military enthusiasts but also to people who want to understand the logic of decision making.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
There is so much you can learn from this. Although primarily referenced to war, the way in which it's written is on philosophical terms rather than direct mechanisms, which make it applicable to many things in life.
In terms of the book itself by the author, apart from the introduction, it only comments on small things which may be confusing to the modern reader. The blue and down shown on the cover is only really a strap, which if you take off makes it just a black book with barely noticeable title. However this is what I love about this particular book. Everything is just so simple, and when searching for the right book to buy, my ideal choice was one where I could read through and attempt to understand with my own thoughts rather than have so many commentaries and notes covering each page, so this fits the bill for me.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
People will always disagree, but getting through the disagreement without the massive collateral damage that goes with conflict is a much undervalued approach. Sun Tzu offers insightful advice to help master those anxieties, manage your resources towards peace of mind and to end disagreement in the most decisive and holistic manner possible so that life can return to it's normal routine of tea and cake. He may be cunning, shrewd, devious and even ruthless, but without his no-compromise approach to obtaining peace, well.. you may well find out why one should never fight a land war in asia!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)